The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian The Summer of Letting Go: Pull up a Chair It’s a Saturday Book Share

”Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share”.

The Summer of Letting Go by Gae Polisner – Realistic Fiction, Middle School/High School – Anticipate!!: Book Released: March 18, 2014 – This is a beautiful book where you face a world of guilt through the eyes of a teenager, Francesca, whose little brother drowned. Her family was devastated a few years after his death and desperately in need of something to help one another heal… Through a little love, humor, caring, coincidence, and some curious situations, Francesca brings you through quite the beautiful life experience as she learns to forgive herself and let go.

Goodreads Summary: “Still reeling from her little brother’s drowning death, a girl finds her herself holding back – from summer trips to the ocean, friendship, budding romance – till she meets another young boy who may be her brother’s reincarnation, which awakens her to new possibilities.”

Thoughts on this beautiful book with a vocabulary book teaser list:
My lovely reader friends who have the future opportunity to read this powerful book, please locate and find the powerful connections to these words within The Summer of Letting Go:
1. Pelican
2. Reincarnation
3. Research
4. Connections
5. Transmigration
6. Nicknames
7. History
8. Gods
9. Christmas Island
10. Sand dollar

sanddollar

I adored how Gae incorporated Frog and Toad by Arnold Lobel into the story, really found it was a special connection. She additionally tugged at my heart touching on topics of alcoholism, neglect, and good intentions.

Books I’d partner with this book: See you at Harry’s by Jo Knowles and Emerald Star by Jacqueline Wilson.

summerlettinggoQuotes that I loved:

“…could I forgive myself, just a little…”

“… it’s hard to be with Frankie because it hurts too much to think about being without him.”

“One single yew tree can give birth to so many new trees that the seed of that first tree may span all of time and history…”

I enjoyed interviewing Gae Polisner last year. 

Finally, a side note:
I blame Gae Polisner and her inquisitive, knowledgeable nature for leading me to a disgusting fact finding mission after reading part of the book, I never wanted to know about crazy killer ants, but boy do I know more now…
http://www.environmentalgraffiti.com/animals/news-crazy-ants-annihilate-crabs-chemical-warfare

backsummerlettinggo

About Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share: I’ve had many books I review that I just want to feature. Simple and easy, celebrate a new book encounter. So that’s what Saturday Book Share is about for me, celebrating books! Perhaps some days I’ll share the book with a short reading of a portion. Or perhaps other days I’ll just share a glimpse of the book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post). I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.
FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,865 other subscribers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons