The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Saturday Book Share – Turn of the Tide

”Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share”.

Here’s to celebrating books that strike my fancy every week!

Turn of the Tide by Rosanne Parry – Adventure – 4th/5th and up – This book, like all Rosanne Parry books, pulled me in and made me feel like I was experiencing Kai and Jet’s adventures. This story begins with a tsunami which is honestly very poignant and upsetting but beautiful as well. When Kai is sent from Japan to America to be in a safer place for a while after the tsunami, I loved the cultural differences and communication that occurs. Beautiful family situations. Beautiful lessons throughout. What a fun book this was with treasure hunting and geo caching. I haven’t read another book with geo cashing in it and I know so many of my friends will absolutely love this book for that element.

Favorite quotes:
“She and Beck didn’t even have to be best friends. But why couldn’t they be sailing partners?”
“I can be subtle!” Jet hollered.
“Standing on top of her ambitions, that girl was ten feet tall.”

Goodreads Summary:On a beautiful day in June, the ground broke open.
In Japan, you’re always prepared for an earthquake. That’s why Kai knows just what to do when the first rumbles shake the earth. And then he does the exact opposite of what you’re supposed to do: He runs. And then the tsunami hits.
Meanwhile, on the other side of the Pacific, Kai’s cousin Jet sets sail off the coast of Astoria, Oregon. She knows she should have checked the tide—shealways checks the tide. Except this time she didn’t.
When the biggest mistakes of their lives bring them together, Jet and Kai spend the summer regretting that one moment when they made the wrong decision. But there’s something about friendship that heals all wounds and, together, Jet and Kai find the one thing they never thought they’d have again—hope.”

About Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share: I’ve had many books I review that I just want to feature. Simple and easy, celebrate a new book encounter. So that’s what Saturday Book Share is about for me, celebrating books! Perhaps some days I’ll share the book with a short reading of a portion. Or perhaps other days I’ll just share a glimpse of the book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader! Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

