The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! Enjoying books week by week… I decided to spread out what I’m reading recently over a few weeks… so this isn’t everything but I’ve enjoyed them all!

 

Rocket Writes a Story by Tad Hills – Adorable. Great for an example of following the writing process… Goodreads Summary: “Rocket loves books and he wants to make his own, but he can’t think of a story. Encouraged by the little yellow bird to look closely at the world around him for inspiration, Rocket sets out on a journey. Along the way he discovers small details that he has never noticed before, a timid baby owl who becomes his friend, and an idea for a story.”

If I had a Dragon by Tom and Amanda Ellery– adorable celebration of imagination and sibling relationships…. Goodreads Summary: “Morton’s brother is too little to be any fun — but if he were a dragon, playtime would be great…wouldn’t it?”

Should I Share My Ice Cream? by Mo Willems – Stop thinking things out so much! Just enjoy instead of worrying! I loved this Elephant and Piggie book, when will I tire of them? Not any time soon apparently… Goodreads Summary: “Gerald is careful. Piggie is not.
Piggie cannot help smiling. Gerald can.
Gerald worries so that Piggie does not have to.
Gerald and Piggie are best friends.
In Should I Share My Ice Cream? Gerald has a big decision to make. But will he make it in time?”

Fly Guy Presents: Space by Tedd Arnold– How wonderful it is to see that Fly Guy series can have a non-fiction spin off series. Great facts, engaging illustrations, and a little humor mixed all the way through, hooray! Goodreads Summary: “During a visit to a space museum, Fly Guy and Buzz learn all about planets, space crafts, space suits, and even dirty snowballs (i.e. comets!)! With straightforward fun facts, humorous illustrations of Fly Guy and Buzz, and vivid photographs throughout, this book is sure to be a hit with budding astronauts everywhere!”

Snow Leopards – National Geographic Kids by Jill Esbaum – Beautiful creatures introduced in this lovely ‘Explore My World’ series from National Geographic. Know it will be read and reread. The snow leopard cub photos are just a treasure. Goodreads Summary: “In Explore My World Snow Leopards, curious kids ages 3 to 7 will be excited to learn about rare and beautiful snow leopards: their habitat, how they’ve adapted for a cold climate, and how they care for and teach their cubs.”

Gone Fishing – A novel in verse by Tamera Will Wissinger, illustrated by Matthew Cordell – 2nd grade and up – Loved this book… made me appreciate fishing, families, and sibling, being open-minded… Goodreads Summary: “Using a wide variety of poetic forms – quatrains, ballads, iambic meter, rhyming lists, concrete poetry, tercets and free verse –this debut author tells the story of a nine-year-old boy’s day of fishing. Sibling rivalry, the bond between father and son, the excitement – and difficulty — of fishing all add up to a day of adventure any child would want to experience.”

Ice Cream Summer by Peter Sis – Hilarious book packed with delicious treats and word puns and illustrations that were astounding… Goodreads Summary: “Dear Grandpa,
Summer is going well.
I am very busy. But don’t worry, I am not forgetting about school! I read every day. I practice my math facts. And I am even studying world history!
Peter Sís’s delicious tongue-in-cheek vision of summer dishes up the whole scoop on everyone’s favorite frozen treat–and proves that ice cream is every bit as enriching for the mind as it is for the taste buds.”

Something Extraordinary by Ben Clanton – beautiful, hopeful, imaginative, curious, wonderful book to share! Goodreads Summary: “Amazing things are happening all around you. You just need to know where to look—and this whimsical picture book is the perfect place to start.
Have you ever wished for something extraordinary? Like the ability to fly? Or to breathe underwater? What if you could talk to animals?
It’s fun to wish for amazing things. But take a look around, and you just might find that the most “ordinary” things…can be extraordinary.”

 

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

16 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. So many great books! I made it through summer without reading Ice Cream Summer, but now I think the time has come. My students will love the Fly Guy books, must keep my eyes open for them …

  2. Linda Baie
    November 9, 2015

    I do love the Elephant & Piggie books, so much to talk about when I read them to my granddaughters. And I thought Gone Fishing was good, a fine introduction to this kind of book for younger kids. Thanks for the National Geographic series, too. They are treasures & so interesting for young students to research.

  3. Ms. O (@senoritao)
    November 9, 2015

    Oh, I like the looks of that Something Extraordinary. And of course Rocket. And P&E. And Nat Geo. And Peter Sis. Now, personally never been in to fishing but that book sounds fun.

  4. Myra GB
    November 9, 2015

    Hi there Debbie – all these titles are unfamiliar to me! Wow. I am especially interested in the new Peter Sis title – will definitely be on the lookout for that one. Someday, I will own all the Elephant & Piggie books – because they are that great. 🙂

  5. Ricki Ginsberg
    November 9, 2015

    The cover of Something Extraordinary just lures me in! Thank you for sharing it–I hadn’t heard of it. I hope you are having a good week!

  6. Cheriee Weichel
    November 9, 2015

    I’ve never met an Elephant and Piggie book I didn’t love. It will be very sad when the last one is published next year. I really want to read Gone Fishing – A novel in verse. (It might be a good book for my angler brother!) Something Extraordinary has arrived at the library, but I haven’t had a chance to get to it.

  7. carriegelson
    November 9, 2015

    Oh so many things here that tempt me or make me want to gush. Something Extraordinary also completely interests me. I must find a copy!

    • The Styling Librarian
      November 21, 2015

      Something Extraordinary is right up your alley- something I’d figure you inspired me to pick up… 🙂

  8. Jane Whittingham
    November 10, 2015

    Lovely books! I brought home an Elephant and Piggie book for my husband to read – he thought I was crazy at first, but by the end of it he was laughing – we could see ourselves and so many people we know reflected in the different characters. Have a great week, and thank you for sharing these!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

