The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Oregon Occurrences Year 1 Week 11 Appreciating Home and Family Time

Second day of school he rode to school on his own. Growing up!!

Second day of school he rode to school on his own. Growing up!!

Well, these posts feel a little too far behind. School started ages ago but this post includes things that occurred right at the beginning of school. But, so be it. I’m sharing and still just celebrating days as they go by.

Have enjoyed so much wonderful family time. We don’t feel like we’re making up for lost time as much as just enjoying the time we love having together.

Loved family time

Loved family time

Had a family dinner at our home. So good to have a home with pictures up, furniture, and comfort… very grateful.
Debbie savvy shopper tips:

Beautiful picture in deserved frame from beautiful friend.

Beautiful picture in deserved frame from beautiful friend.

1. If you have posters and art you want to frame, consider going to Goodwill with your dimensions, they have amazing amounts of frames there and you might find the perfect ones for $3, $5 and $7 that even include good fitting mats! I was thrilled and saved a load of money.
2. If you want pots for plants, check that area of Goodwill out- I picked up a few pots for $1 each, was so happy to begin having plants in our home again. They even had $1 watering cans there!
3. If you want to find vases, check Goodwill out first… they had a wide assortment- perfect when you’ve got gift planning for people too!
4. Watch out for great Groupon deals… I wanted to print pictures on canvas. I was going to go the Costco with a coupon route but then noticed two different Groupon deals that were simply perfect. Saved so much money including shipping with one of the deals and now have four pictures printed on canvas celebrating some of our adventures around Asia up on the wall. I believe things evened out to less than $15 for each framed canvas… and they are large.

To the bike races!

To the bike races!

Our kiddo started out school and is riding to school every day on his own. He loves being independent. I love this for him but at the same time it is bitter sweet as he grows up so darn quick.

Enjoyed meeting Oregon SCBWI people, do miss my Hong Kong SCBWI group though.

Enjoyed meeting Oregon SCBWI people, do miss my Hong Kong SCBWI group though.

I’ve been missing my personal writing time… beyond the blogging layers I have both here and on my private blog about health experiences. I know I haven’t spent enough time lately writing. And I need to find that balance and energy again. Mostly for my own passion and confidence. So I shifted my membership in SCBWI from Hong Kong to Oregon and attended a “newcomers” meeting which was wonderful. Good to meet friendly people and even catch up with a favorite author friend as well. Shall see how the writing balances into life.

 

Nope, don't like lines in Hong Kong, don't like lines here....

Nope, don’t like lines in Hong Kong, don’t like lines here….

We heard about a Beaverton Night Market which we were quite curious about since we loved night markets in Hong Kong. It was a little too crowded with too many long lines for us but I could tell people were having a fantastic time. Hooray for community outreach!

Kiddo was properly muddy, had been thru a quick shower before 2nd picture

Kiddo was properly muddy, had been thru a quick shower before 2nd picture

The kiddo has joined cub scouts… tried out their Mud Run. It was hilarious to see how filthy they all got. I did not join in. I chuckled and observed.

Love the book return area my school library assistant created!

Love the book return area my school library assistant created!

I know soon I must begin blogging and logging everything I’m doing as a collaborative instructor at my new school in my LITT, Library and Information Technology Teacher… Just a matter of planning out how I would like to post. Might shift some of these Sunday posts into LITT posts. Will see.

Wishing everyone a wonderful week!

If you enjoyed this post, please consider following my blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 11, 2015 by in Blog, Oregon and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Styling Librarian

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

