The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: Special Book Feature George Eastman

Every once in a while a special book comes my way and I want to celebrate it… here’s one I couldn’t resist featuring:EastmanCover

Book Review:
George Eastman: Bringing Photography to the People by Lynda Pflueger

Lynda SCBWI Writers Circle 11 2014Recently I heard from the author Lynda Pflueger about a new biography she wrote about George Eastman. I always just associated photography with George Eastman but didn’t know his personal story, so I was excited to learn more about him. Lynda mailed me her manuscript quickly after our email exchange. When the book arrived I was thrilled to sit down and read about this man. I realized there were many layers to him. Many words that can be used to describe him. Here are a few I immediately think of having read the book: entrepreneur, open-minded, focused, driven, music lover, philosopher, reader, researcher, and humanitarian. I loved reading about his childhood. It was fascinating to see how he looked at problems and found solutions.
It was also really good to read about a person who didn’t have that balance of work and home down at all, which was honestly part of what led him to be successful. It made me think that there were some good opportunities for discussions with children about what makes you a successful person and where that happy medium is as you go about life with your passions and endeavors.

Figure 8 42022v Kodak and two girlsAlso, I appreciated reading the book and seeing how over the years George Eastman became world aware, opened up numerous locations overseas and lived overseas for a time. Lynda Pflueger wrote a thorough, fascinating biography about Eastman. There are new opportunities for learning with non-fiction texts that I adore lately: the back matter of the book. I was thrilled to find an area called “Digging Deeper” which tells you about websites to explore further and videos to watch about Eastman.
My favorite part of the book? Reading about George Eastman as a philanthropist. I just loved this section. Here’s the first lines of that chapter that really made me thrilled to read more: “George Eastman felt if a man were wealthy, he had a choice to make. He could either let his money accumulate and leave it to “others to administer when he is dead” or he could “get it into action and have fun while he was alive.”” What a role model for children today! And what incredible things he did with his money! I love how he picked things he thought were lacking and found ways to help them. For example, dental care for low income children. He began a dental school and made sure it provided low cost dental checkups for all who needed them. Another example was that he loved music and he donated money to public schools for children to have instruments to practice on. He donated in huge ways as well to many organizations and institutions. Just a fascinating, inspiring person.

2015-04-27 13.59.16

Eastman estate photo courtesy of Lynda Pflueger

Lynda Pflueger is generously giving away a copy of this book! Wow!
Please fill out the form below or go to this link: and fill out the form.


Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads:
 http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

