The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! Enjoying books week by week… I decided to spread out what I’m reading recently over a few weeks… so this isn’t everything but I’ve enjoyed them all!
THIS IS MY 1000th BLOG POST!! I’m so excited. Thank you to ALL who have followed my blog dream for the past 3.5 years, I just love this personal outlet for celebrating literature and life. 

Special Books Shared this week:

Interstellar Cinderella by Deborah Underwood, illustrated by Meg Hunt

Under a Pig Tree – A History of the Noble Fruit – A Mixed-Up Book by Margie Palatini,
illustrated by Chuck Groenink

 

In the Unlikely Event by Judy Blume – Adult – Audiobook – Fascinating to read this book… I found myself getting more and more anxious as I read the book because I was so nervous that one character after another might die. Appreciated this story but I took too long listening to it. I had a hard time wrapping my mind around the reality of three airplanes crashing within the same vicinity within a small amount of time… Goodreads Summary: “In 1987, Miri Ammerman returns to her hometown of Elizabeth, New Jersey, to attend a commemoration of the worst year of her life. Thirty-five years earlier, when Miri was fifteen, and in love for the first time, a succession of airplanes fell from the sky, leaving a community reeling. Against this backdrop of actual events that Blume experienced in the early 1950s, when airline travel was new and exciting and everyone dreamed of going somewhere, she paints a vivid portrait of a particular time and place—Nat King Cole singing “Unforgettable,” Elizabeth Taylor haircuts, young (and not-so-young) love, explosive friendships, A-bomb hysteria, rumors of Communist threat. And a young journalist who makes his name reporting tragedy. Through it all, one generation reminds another that life goes on.”

Each Breath a Smile based on the teachings of Thich Nhat Hanh, Story by Sister Susan, illustrated by Nguyen Thi Hop & Nguyen Dong – Mindfulness focus- terrific simple approach to meditation and awareness of breath. Goodreads Summary: “Each Breath a Smile introduces preschool-aged children to mindful breathing. Through beautiful color illustrations, children learn to connect with their breathing to help them experience calmness and enjoy a deeper relationship with their friends and family. Illustrations of trees, frogs, crickets, and birds remind them of the many simple joys available in the world around them.”

Orion and the Dark by Emma Yarlett – Beautiful story about a little boy full of fear until Dark came and became his friend. Very creative and wonderful special pages filled with hugs as well. The illustrations really reminded me of Oliver Jeffers’ work. Goodreads Summary: “Orion is very scared of the dark — until Dark decides to pay him a visit!
Orion is scared of a lot of things, but most of all he’s scared of the dark. So one night the Dark decides to take Orion on an adventure.”

Hoot Owl Master of Disguise by Sean Taylor, illustrated by Jean Jullien – I loved the gorgeous language in this book- similies abound! “I swoop through the bleak blackness like a wolf in the air.” “The shadowy night stretches away forever, as black as burnt toast.” Wonderful read aloud treasure. Appealing illustrations as well… Goodreads Summary: “Hoot Owl is no ordinary owl. He is a master of disguise! In the blackness of night, he’s preparing to swoop on his prey before it can realize his dastardly tricks. Look there—a tasty rabbit for him to eat! Hoot Owl readies his costume, disguising himself as . . . a carrot! Then he waits. The rabbit runs off. Never mind! Surely his next juicy target will cower against such a clever and dangerous creature as he!”

Buck’s Tooth by Diane Kredensor – Early chapter book, humor – Will Buck find a way to be original for the talent show? Will he ever accept his tooth and get over the difference between him and others? Read to find out. Ridiculously cute. Love the book trailer as well! Goodreads Summary: “All beavers have flat tails and furry coats. Most beavers have two front teeth. And then there’s Buck. Unlike the rest of his family, he has one gigantic front tooth—and he hates it! His tooth ruins everything for him, especially the Annual Talent Show.
Whatever Buck tries to do for the contest—whistle, walk on stilts, blow bubbles—his tooth gets in the way. Can Buck learn to embrace his inner tooth?”

Such a Little Mouse by Alice Schertle, illustrated by Stephanie Yue – The gorgeous peaceful words in this book pulled me through this read aloud. Loved how the story felt to read aloud. Felt like I was reading a classic. Goodreads Summary: “”And way down deep in the hole lives a mouse.
Such a little mouse,
with his smart gray coat,
with his ears pink as petals,
with three twitchety whiskers
on each side of his nose.”

Monkey and Duck Quack Up! by Jennifer Hamburg, illustrated by Edwin Fotheringham – Beautiful how introduction to rhyme is mixed with humor and friendship and finding a solution to a problem… wonderful new book, fun read aloud.

Zombelina by Kristyn Crow, illustrated by Molly Idle – Chuckled my way through this book. Loved how the story celebrated individuality and ballet. Fun terms introduced with simultaneous rhyming. Goodreads Summary: “Zombelina loves to dance. She moonwalks with mummies and boogies with bats. She spins like a specter and glides like a ghost and loves to dance for her family the most. When Zombelina enrolls in a ballet class for real girls, her dancing gives everyone the chills! But when her first recital brings on a case of stage fright, her zombie moans and ghoulish groans scare her audience away. Only her devoted family’s cheers, in their special spooky way, help Zombelina dance the ballet debut of her dreams.”

Duncan the Story Dragon by Amanda Driscoll – What a terrible problem Duncan has- he loves his books so much and gets so lost in the story, the burns them up. He begins looking outside of himself to try to finally read a complete story and hear the words “the end”. Great story, love this this book from first time picture book creator… Goodreads Summary: “Duncan the Dragon loves to read. When he reads a story, his imagination catches fire! Unfortunately…so does his book.
Fire breath is great for roasting marshmallows, but it’s not so great for reading. Duncan just wants to get to those two wonderful words, like the last sip of a chocolate milk shake: The End. Will he ever find out how the story ends?”

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

20 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. Adrienne
    September 21, 2015

    Congrats on #1000!

  2. I’ve been wanting to read Orion but the illustration keeps reminding me of someone else’s. Happy 1000th blog post!

  3. Katie @ The Stacks of Life
    September 21, 2015

    Congrats on hitting #1000!! I have added Such a Little Mouse to my book order list sounds like a great read a loud. I also have In the Unlikely Event sitting on my bookshelf at home. I may need to move that one to my TBR pile on my nightstand!

  4. Linda Baie
    September 21, 2015

    Congratulations on 1000 posts. I just celebrated mine earlier this year, hard to believe it’s that many. I’m very glad you started writing, Debbie. Lots of good books here, and I loved Such A Little Mouse, and I will be sure to find Orion & The Dark, one to know!

  5. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)
    September 21, 2015

    Yay 1000!!! Congratulations!!!

    I have Interstellar Cinderella to read as well–I’m very much looking forward to reading it!

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

  6. Lisa Maucione (@DrLMaucione)
    September 21, 2015

    Sounds like some great picture books in your list. I’ve wanted to read Judy Blume’s book, but haven’t gotten to it yet.

  7. Ricki Ginsberg
    September 21, 2015

    HOORAY for 1,000! I am embarrassed to say I didn’t know Judy Blume wrote an adult book. But this is why you bloggers keep me in line. I need to step into the adult world more often. Hmm…maybe another day. 😉

  8. Congratulations on reaching 1000! This is a wonderful accomplishment. Thanks for sharing so many new titles with us. We can’t wait to read Interstellar Cinderella and Hoot Owl

  9. Jane Whittingham
    September 22, 2015

    Oh, I want all of these picture books, I can’t even pick a favourite! I recently read “Buck’s Tooth”, what a fun little book for young readers, all about making the best of who you are and what you have, without being too sappy or preachy. Such a great selection of reading material!

  10. Jennifer | Book Den Kids
    September 22, 2015

    Aw, Zombelina looks great!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,877 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

Top Posts & Pages

Bloglovin – Follow me here!

Follow on Bloglovin

Goodreads

