The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Saturday Book Share Lowriders in Space

”Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share”.

Here’s to celebrating books that strike my fancy every week!

Lowriders in Space by Cathy Camper, illustrated by Raul the Third – Graphic Novel – 3/4th grade and up – How do you mix cultural history, art, car repair, humor, science, and team work in one book? The answer is this wild and crazy book about three friends who dream to build their own car repair shop. They decide to enter a contest to fix up a car to win over all other cars in a contest. I just loved how Spanish words were naturally integrated into the text with explanations on the meaning of the words is consistently at the bottom of the page. Also appreciate how the illustrations are all pen and ink and sharpie. This is such a fascinating book creation! I love that this is written by a public librarian I’ve known about for years. And the sequel is coming out soon enough! Hooray! There’s a wonderful friendship portrayed in this book alongside subtle learning experiences. Highly recommended.

Goodreads Summary: “Lupe Impala, El Chavo Flapjack, and Elirio Malaria love working with cars. You name it, they can fix it. But the team’s favorite cars of all are lowriders—cars that hip and hop, dip and drop, go low and slow, bajito y suavecito. The stars align when a contest for the best car around offers a prize of a trunkful of cash—just what the team needs to open their own shop! ¡Ay chihuahua! What will it take to transform a junker into the best car in the universe? Striking, unparalleled art from debut illustrator Raul the Third recalls ballpoint-pen-and-Sharpie desk-drawn doodles, while the story is sketched with Spanish, inked with science facts, and colored with true friendship. With a glossary at the back to provide definitions for Spanish and science terms, this delightful book will educate and entertain in equal measure.”

About Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share: I’ve had many books I review that I just want to feature. Simple and easy, celebrate a new book encounter. So that’s what Saturday Book Share is about for me, celebrating books! Perhaps some days I’ll share the book with a short reading of a portion. Or perhaps other days I’ll just share a glimpse of the book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader! Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

One comment on “Styling Librarian Saturday Book Share Lowriders in Space

  1. Pingback: Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading? | The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,876 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

