The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Oregon Occurrences Year 1 Week 2

LOVE this quote. Painted on a wall in a community center.

LOVE this quote. Painted on a wall in a community center.

Another week flew by…
This was one full of activities close to home. Not too much adventuring…

I’ve enjoyed revisiting favorite restaurants. One I love is Best Baguette- a Vietnamese sandwich shop that sells some interesting drinks… Also had fun going to Pizza Schmizza, the place has great character. Visited a new place called The Bowl and Berry, what a delicious treat it was… healthy and yummy smoothies and fruit bowls, plus they include incredibly healthy berries!

Kiddo is confidently riding, happy to be in Oregon where kids are allowed to ride their bikes in parks!

Kiddo is confidently riding, happy to be in Oregon where kids are allowed to ride their bikes in parks!

Our goal when we got home was to give our kiddo the opportunity to practice bicycling. So happy that he’s now confidently bicycling.
Attended a fascinating writers’ panel which had discussions on inspiration, research, writing process, and advice for aspiring writers.
Kiddo and I are enjoying books together every evening. We now are reading Circus Mirandus by Cassie Beasley.

Love this hat/mask from Peru for my kiddo...

Love this hat/mask from Peru for my kiddo…

My husband’s brother and wonderful family recently visited Peru. What an incredible adventure they had… I loved watching more and more photos upload. We received an incredible hat/mask for my kiddo and a beautiful bracelet made in the rainforest… lovely to get a piece of Peru in our home.

 

Seriously, kiddo slept in it overnight!

Seriously, kiddo slept in it overnight!

When we visited Bali a few months ago, my husband and son had a special shopping excursion and bought a hammock. That hammock traveled home to Hong Kong and was used more like a tent… now that we’re home in Oregon, my husband fulfilled our kiddo’s dream of putting it up above the bed. I was quite amused to see my kiddo’s smiling face…

Shopping at Ikea in the US is so different than shopping at an Ikea in Hong Kong. There is SO MUCH MORE ROOM. We didn’t get annoyed wandering thru the place and had a little fun in the kitchen area with their reasonable prices and various needs finally addressed. I’m personally thrilled that I now have a tray for my computer again… Didn’t realize how much I used a little tray for all the work I do.

Danger danger Will Robinson, we went to Ikea!

Danger danger Will Robinson, we went to Ikea!

IMG_8447I have been visiting the local library almost every other day. I just LOVE being able to reserve books and visit and browse. My happy place. I attended a class about fantastic books with a lovely friend the other day. I love this class- Gotta Read This, presented by Library School Corps- Multnomah County Library. Attended it for years and missed it for the last three years. It was so special to be back hearing about great books. I also had the bonus of seeing a wonderful mix of library and teacher friends… so good to be home. I highly recommend looking at their lists, they’re wonderful: Gotta Read This Book List…  It was exciting to learn that one of the librarians is a published book author now. She’s written a few books. I read her book: Lowriders in Space– her name is Cathy Camper and the illustrator is Raul The Third. Had fun reading this graphic novel!

Appreciating time reading, relaxing, and settling into life in Oregon. Happy to have the time before work starts!

If you enjoyed this post, please consider following my blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

2 comments on “Styling Librarian Oregon Occurrences Year 1 Week 2

  1. Andrea Walker
    August 10, 2015

    Love all the pics, especially “Kiddo” in the hammock.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

