The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! Enjoying books week by week… I decided to spread out what I’m reading recently over a few weeks… so this isn’t everything but I’ve enjoyed them all!

Special Saturday Book Shared:

 

Max’s Wild Night by Meg Dendler

Special Books Enjoyed This Week:

The Day They Came to Arrest the Book by Nat Hentoff – 1982 –  Realistic Fiction – 5th Grade and up – This book is fascinating to read. It is a well written exploring the torturesome experience of a book being challenged at a school to see if it should be removed from both a classroom and library. What is the book in question? Huckleberry Finn. What I appreciated was reading both perspectives and the dialogue that was included during the challenge proceedings. What I was concerned about was whether my students would read this and if it was appropriate for 5th grade or if it needed to be in a secondary school. I found there were some worrisome points that didn’t deter me in the end from having the book in the collection but I thought it also was a good book for some who want to read about conflict resolution. Really interesting exploration of the whole situation of book banning. Goodreads Summary: “Who would have believed that The Adventure of  Huckleberry Finn could cause the worst crisis in the  history of George Mason High School? Certainly not  Barney Roth, editor of the school paper. But when  a small but vocal group of students and parents  decide that the book is racist, sexist, and  immoral–and should be removed from reading lists and the  school library–Barney takes matters into his own  hands.
When the Huck Finn issue  comes up for a hearing, Barney decides to print his  story about previous censorship efforts at school.  He’s sure that investigative reporting and  publicity can help the cause. But is he too late to turn  the tide of censorship?”

Lion vs Rabbit by Alex Latimer – Love this twisted story that touches a little on the rabbit and the hare story. Cute story about a lion who was a bully who frustrated all the other animals so that they asked other animals to try to teach him a lesson. When Rabbit rises to the occasion, you never know might happen. Hilarious and a fantastic read aloud. I enjoyed having quite the lengthy discussions with students about what is fair, when is cheating acceptable, and how you stop a bully…
Goodreads Summary: “Lion is mean to everyone. When the other animals can’t take his bullying anymore, they post an ad asking for help. One animal after another tries and fails to defeat Lion. Can no on stop him? Finally a rabbit arrives. No one thinks it will be brave enough or strong enough to defeat Lion. But perhaps this rabbit is smart enough?”

Before After by Anne-Margot Ramstein & Matthias Aregui – Loved this very thick book that shows cause and effect in many ways. Beautiful all the way through. Wordless. Goodreads Summary: “Which came first? No words are necessary in this beautiful, artfully humorous book, in which every turn of the page offers a surprise.
Everyone knows that a tiny acorn grows into a mighty oak and a caterpillar becomes a butterfly. But in this clever, visually enchanting volume, it’s also true that a cow can result in both a bottle of milk and a painting of a cow, and an ape in a jungle may become an urban King Kong. Just as day turns into night and back again, a many-tiered cake is both created and eaten down to a single piece. With simple, graphic illustrations sure to appeal to even the youngest of children, this beautiful rumination on the passage of time will please the most discerning adult readers, too.”

Lucky Strike by Bobbie Pyron – Realistic Fiction – Touching story, couldn’t stop reading, quite suspenseful. Loved the friendships and also the feeling’s shared from living in a small fishing town. Goodreads Summary: “Nate Harlow has never had a lucky day in his life. He’s never won a prize, he’s never been picked first, he’s never even won a coin toss. His best friend, Genesis Beam (aka Gen), believes in science and logic, and she doesn’t think for one second that there’s such a thing as luck, good or bad. But only an extremely unlucky person could be struck by lightning on his birthday… and that person is Nate Harlow. By some miracle, though, Nate survives, and the strike seems to have changed his luck. Suddenly, Nate’s grandpa is the busiest fisherman in their small, beachside town. And Nate finds himself the center of attention, the most popular kid at school, the one who hits a game-winning home run! This lucky streak can’t last forever, though, and as a hurricane draws close to the shores of Paradise Beach, Nate and Gen may need more than just good luck to save their friendship and their town: They need a miracle.”

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

18 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. Cheriee Weichel
    July 6, 2015

    You’ve got some interesting books here Debbie. I really like this Before After title. I’m going to just go and order it!

  2. msoreadsbookstx
    July 6, 2015

    I think Before and After looks interesting as well! Also going to look for Lucky Strike!

  3. Linda Baie
    July 6, 2015

    Before After sounds so intriguing. Thanks, Debbie. The Nat Hentoff book is an old one, I agree. I haven’t read it or had a student read it in a very long time. I used to use it during the week we studied censorship, but haven’t in a while. The ages who read it were 6th, 7th & 8th grade. As I remember, I enjoyed the debating aspects.

    • The Styling Librarian
      July 6, 2015

      Yes, the debates were fascinating… frustrating… reminded me of when I studied censorship with my 5th graders- just brushed on the topic in comparison with what you probably did… 🙂

  4. Arrest the Book is new to me and sounds like it’d be a good and interesting read. Censorship is something that frustrates and fascinates me. I just don’t get it. (Have you read Americus?)
    Happy reading this week! 🙂

  5. Being Woven
    July 7, 2015

    “The Day They Came to Arrest the Book” sounds great! I love history these days and then to deal with a banned book too! Lots of lessons. “Before…After” also looks to be filled with lessons for the younger ones. Glad I came by from “What are You Reading?”
    @ The Reader and the Book http://the-reader-and-the-book-reviews.weebly.com/blog/

  6. carriegelson
    July 7, 2015

    Lion Vs Rabbit is such a fun book! I had it in a pile to read aloud at the end of the year and didn’t get to it 😦

  7. Ricki Ginsberg
    July 7, 2015

    So many colorful books this week! The Day They Came to Arrest title made me laugh out loud. So very clever! Thanks for sharing these books with us. Several were new to me! Have a great week!

    • The Styling Librarian
      July 8, 2015

      Yes, many amusing points in The Day The Came to Arrest the Book… Happy reading week to you!

  8. Myra GB
    July 7, 2015

    The Day They Came to Arrest the Book sounds like it has a good premise – I will definitely have to check this one out. I haven’t heard of all the others yet! Really glad to know about them. 🙂

  9. The Day… sounds like a good book to read during Banned Books Week. Have you read Americus (graphic novel)? It’s about a banned book too. I liked it although if you looked for it on my blog I only gave it one star because of a different rating and I was kind of harsh perhaps.

    • The Styling Librarian
      July 8, 2015

      You’re #2 person to recommend I read Americus, shall certainly put it on my to-reads… 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

Bloglovin – Follow me here!

Follow on Bloglovin

Goodreads

