The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! Enjoying books week by week… I decided to spread out what I’m reading recently over a few weeks… so this isn’t everything but I’ve enjoyed them all!

Special Saturday Book Share:

The Kids’ Book of Simple Machines-
Cool Projects and Activities that make Science Fun!
by Kelly Doudna 

Other Books Enjoyed:

Babymouse Bad Babysitter by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm – Graphic Novel- Happy day! A new babymouse!!! Just loved Babymouse’s new adventure into the world of babysitting. Hilarious as always…  Goodreads Summary: “Wanted: Expert babysitter. Babymouse will finally have enough money to buy cool stuff! All she has to do is take care of a few kids. No problem! Who’s more responsible than Babymouse? She’s practically Mary Poppins! (Okay, maybe that’s going a little too far.) Will Babymouse be the ultimate sitter? Or will triplets mean triple trouble? Find out in Bad Babysitter—the nineteenth laugh-out-loud installment of the beloved Babymouse graphic novel series. BONUS PAGE: Learn to draw a character!”

Noodle Magic by Roseanne Greenfield Thong, illustrated by Meilo So – Loved how this worked with connections to family, traditions, expectations, and fun with noodles. There are some really fascinating noodle traditions in China and the story that connects with the moon goddess and more has quite the cultural significance. Interesting to see how this book can connect to Strega Nona by Tomie dePaola.  Goodreads Summary: “Everyone has the magic within!  Grandpa Tu is famous for his special noodles, and as the emperor’s birthday approaches, he teaches his granddaughter, Mei, the family trade. Mei struggles to find the magic needed to make noodles. Ultimately, she finds the magic–and the ability to succeed–within. Mei doesn’t just make noodles–her magic noodles in varied shapes and sizes rain down from the sky!
NOODLE MAGIC is written in the style of a Chinese folk story, with engaging cultural and community aspects. The family connection that’s at the heart of the story has universal appeal. The grandfather and granddaughter work together to accomplish what one could not do alone.”

One Red Shoe by Karin Gruss, illustrated by Tobias Krejtschi – Upsetting beautiful book about conflict, impact of conflict on a community, and much more. Told from the perspective of an adult, still poignant and touching.  Goodreads Summary: “You’re about to go to a place where thousands, even millions, of kids live every day. You’re about to enter a war zone.
There’s been an attack. Grabbing his camera, a newspaper photographer rushes to the nearest clinic. What he finds there will change the way he thinks forever. Inspired by real events in the Middle East, this groundbreaking and acclaimed picture book for older readers will take you to a place far from comfort and safety. What could you possibly have in common with the kids who live there? You’re about to find out.”

Cloudy with a chance of Boys – The Sisters Club by Megan McDonald – Realistic Fiction – 4th grade and up – I appreciated the chance to visit with these three sisters again with this third book in the Sisters Club series. I love that the story varies between lists with pictures, play scripts, and normal novel form. I also love the distinct voices of the characters. This book certainly can be stand alone or appreciated as part of the series. It was amusing to read how the middle sister Stevie deals with a boy who is interested in having their friendship extend beyond just friends and she puzzles out how to make him understand that she’s not ready to have a boy friend. Also appreciated how ego played a huge role in Alex’s storyline when she didn’t get the lead role in a play… I’m not sure how much appeal this book will have for boys, honestly more of a girl story.  Goodreads Summary: “As the middle sister in a family with three girls, Stevie Reel doesn’t know much about boys, and that’s always been just fine with her. But lately, things have been changing: kids at school are starting to pair up, and Owen, the new boy in her Earth Science class, seems to have his sights set on Stevie. The trouble is, Stevie doesn’t want a boyfriend- she’s not even sure she’s ready to have a boy friend. And her sisters, who know exactly where they stand on the issue of boys, are no help: drama queen Alex is busy trying to orchestrate a perfect, Romeo-and-Juliet-style first kiss from her heartthrob, Scott Towel (er, Howell), while Joey can’t understand why anyone would like a boy better than a frog anyway. If only figuring out boys were as easy as predicting the weather!”

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

18 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. Gigi McAllister
    June 29, 2015

    Great Books Debbie! One Red Show looks very powerful. I did not realize there was a new Babymouse!! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)
    June 29, 2015

    Bad Babysitter is one of my favorite Babymouse books to-date. I think the only one I might like better is The Musical.

    I need to check out One Red Shoe!

  3. Linda Baie
    June 29, 2015

    I love hearing about cultural folk stories, will look for Noodle Magic, and One Red Shoe is one I’ll find, then share with colleagues. Thanks, Debbie.

  4. I loved the Babymouse book where she is the babysitter. HILARIOUS!

  5. Cheriee Weichel
    June 30, 2015

    Like others, I’m happy that there is a new babymouse book, but I’m going to admit that I purchase them for our readers. I don’t remember ever having read one of them! I’m interested in reading Noodle Magic and One Red Shoe though. Megan Macdonald sells herself. Any of her books just fly off our shelves.

    • The Styling Librarian
      July 1, 2015

      🙂 I read EVERY Babymouse/Squish book… love graphic novels but not for everyone… Happy reading to you!

  6. A new Babymouse?!?! I had no idea! I need to catch up 🙂
    One Red Show looks intense! Makes me curious!

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

    • The Styling Librarian
      July 1, 2015

      🙂 Never ending to keep up with those creative Holms… 2 new GNs coming out in August!

  7. MrsB_Reads
    July 1, 2015

    My daughter just started reading the Babymouse series! I loved reading them and I am so excited that she is starting to explore graphic novels! Must add Bad Babysitter to the list!

  8. Ricki Ginsberg
    July 1, 2015

    You just made my day with The Kids’ Book of Simple Machines. My son would love it, and my husband would, too! I am adding it to his Christmas Wish List.

    Thank you, Debbie!

  9. Myra GB
    July 3, 2015

    Noodle Magic sounds like a book that is perfect for our current reading theme – it’s good that it would also fit our upcoming one – will have to look for this. Meilo So creates such beautiful art. I also pinned One Red Shoe – would be good for my multicultural text-set. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

