The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Saturday Book Share Won Ton and Chopstick

”Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share”.

Here’s to celebrating books that strike my fancy every week!

Won Ton and Chopstick- A Cat and Dog Tale Told in Haiku by Lee Wardlaw, illustrated by Eugene Yelchin – Oh how much I love this new book. Absolutely special. Fantastically beautiful. Love that the whole book is told in senryu poems that are a form of haiku. Also appreciate the nod to Basho, the Japanese haiku master. I’ve found that the other book: Won Ton: A Cat Tale Told in Haiku is one of the most inviting stories that introduce poetry to children. They love reading from the cat’s perspective. I still wonder over Eugene Yelchin’s talent as a fantastic illustrator and additionally an incredible author. Highly recommended: get both books. Share both books. Enjoy both books. They’re splendiforous!

I’ve blogged about Won Ton before and also another story told in Haiku here:


http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/05/23/styling-librarian-won-ton-poetry-appreciation/

Goodreads Summary: “Won Ton has a happy life with his Boy, until…Ears perk. Fur prickles.
Belly low, I creep…peek…FREEZE!
My eyes full of Doom.
A new puppy arrives, and nothing will be the same.Told entirely in haiku and with plenty of catitude, the story of how Won Ton faces down the enemy is a fresh and funny twist on a familiar rivalry.”

Sharing a favorite video of Lee Wardlaw sharing a selection of poems from Won Ton.

About Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share: I’ve had many books I review that I just want to feature. Simple and easy, celebrate a new book encounter. So that’s what Saturday Book Share is about for me, celebrating books! Perhaps some days I’ll share the book with a short reading of a portion. Or perhaps other days I’ll just share a glimpse of the book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader! Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

