The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Saturday Book Share The Imaginary

”Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share”.

Here’s to celebrating books that strike my fancy every week!

The Imaginary by A.F. Harrold, illustrated by Emily Gravett – Fantasy – 4th grade and up – This was a special book to read. It made me think about The Phantom Tollbooth and The Ink Drinker, good creepy adventurous bits and fascinating layers of story. I loved how believable all the characters were, from the invisible friends to the children to the adults. I also loved the horrific villian, really creeped me out and I know students are going to love to hate that character. The illustrations are the perfect fit, in fact, I often visualized the actions and activities based on the pictures. I also loved that there was color mixed in some of the illustrations, really stood out/caught my attention. When I was showing friends, colored illustrations surprised them as well.  I look forward to sharing this book with many students in the future. Finally, check out that cover. Everything is so perfectly summed up simply on the cover, top, bottom, look at it and imagine!

Book Talk:
Who has an invisible friend? Amanda does! Now, only Amanda can see him until scary Mr. Bunting shows up. Be prepared to be pulled into the imaginary world…. And don’t expect it to all be happy and fun!

Goodreads Summary: “Rudger is Amanda’s best friend. He doesn’t exist, but nobody’s perfect. Only Amanda can see her imaginary friend – until the sinister Mr Bunting arrives at Amanda’s door. Mr Bunting hunts imaginaries. Rumour says that he eats them. And he’s sniffed out Rudger. Soon Rudger is alone, and running for his imaginary life. But can a boy who isn’t there survive without a friend to dream him up?”

About Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share: I’ve had many books I review that I just want to feature. Simple and easy, celebrate a new book encounter. So that’s what Saturday Book Share is about for me, celebrating books! Perhaps some days I’ll share the book with a short reading of a portion. Or perhaps other days I’ll just share a glimpse of the book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader! Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

Bloglovin – Follow me here!

Follow on Bloglovin

Goodreads

