The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian – Special Book Share – A Handful of Stars

”Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Special Book Share”.

Here’s to celebrating books that strike my fancy every week!

A Handful of Stars by Cynthia Lord – Realistic Fiction – Release date: May 26th, 2015 –
What a beautiful, touching story. I loved reading this new book by Cynthia Lord. You are introduced to a character who is determined to save money to get an operation for her older dog who is blind. She meets a girl who works at the nearby blueberry field as a raker with her family. When the two meet they develop a friendship initially over the love of dogs, then many other things. It was beautiful to watch the character grow up and learn about herself and her friendships as well. Beautiful book. Highly recommended, especially if you want to dream about blueberries… I loved my blueberry dreams as I was reading the book!
Favorite quotes: Opening line: “The only reason I ever spoke to Salma Santiago was because my dog ate her lunch.”
“Sometimes life is like a long road leading from one ‘if’ to another.”
“A whole box full of little blue-black stars.” – referring to blueberries.
“To do brave things, you don’t have to be hugely brave. You only have to be a little bit braver than you are scared.”
“What you look like doesn’t matter to Lucky. He sees you with his heart.”

Book Talk: What gives you focus? Makes you step up and do something? For Lily, it is her dog Lucky, who is blind. Lily is hoping earn money for an operation for her dog. Luckily Lily has met a wonderful new friend, Salma, who might be able to help her earn money through some creative ways!

Goodreads Summary: “This powerful middle-grade novel from the Newbery Honor author of RULES explores a friendship between a small-town girl and the daughter of migrant workers.
When Lily’s blind dog, Lucky, slips his collar and runs away across the wide-open blueberry barrens of eastern Maine, it’s Salma Santiago who manages to catch him. Salma, the daughter of migrant workers, is in the small town with her family for the blueberry-picking season.
After their initial chance meeting, Salma and Lily bond over painting bee boxes for Lily’s grandfather, and Salma’s friendship transforms Lily’s summer. But when Salma decides to run in the upcoming Blueberry Queen pageant, they’ll have to face some tough truths about friendship and belonging. Should an outsider like Salma really participate in the pageant- and possibly win?”

About Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share: I’ve had many books I review that I just want to feature. Simple and easy, celebrate a new book encounter. So that’s what Saturday Book Share is about for me, celebrating books! Perhaps some days I’ll share the book with a short reading of a portion. Or perhaps other days I’ll just share a glimpse of the book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader! Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

3 comments on “Styling Librarian – Special Book Share – A Handful of Stars

  1. msyingling
    May 26, 2015

    I wish this hadn’t had multiple layers of sad in it, because otherwise it was a decent story. Liked the inclusion of migrant worker children and the local festival, but had trouble believing that the dog had not passed away years before from complications! And I love dogs, I really do! Will probably buy.

    • The Styling Librarian
      May 31, 2015

      Yes, multiple layers but also I thought it was uplifting too… Dogs are troopers… 🙂

  2. Pingback: Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading? | The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

