The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Saturday Book Share How to Speak Dolphin

”Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share”.

Here’s to celebrating books that strike my fancy every week!

How to Speak Dolphin by Ginny Rorby – Released on May 26th, 2015 – Realistic Fiction – I love Ginny Rorby’s writing style. You’re drawn in immediately to her characters, perspectives, and situations. This book is absolute perfection if you’re looking for a book that speaks up for others in many forms, dolphins and humans alike. You meet a young girl who is dealing with a difficult role and responsibility trying to fill her deceased mother’s shoes caring for her younger autistic brother and dealing with a step-dad who is a little arrogant and stubborn. What you see through the book is hope, friendship, and growth from all characters. You also get a little bit of storyline from the perspective of a dolphin, each time this occurs, it is a treasured moment. This book is one that I won’t forget for a long while. I also would say I’d partner this book with Rules by Cynthia Lord. Quite different storylines but for the reader who enjoys one book, they will also enjoy this one.

Favorite Quotes:
“You take in what you see in a gulp. I sip.”
“I can’t help but wonder how many dolphin lives would be saved if the line of their jaws turned down instead of up. But there’s no way to tell if the smiles are real or artificial.”

Book Talk: What would you do with a little brother who doesn’t communicate well? One who isn’t potty trained and screams when upset? Lily is having a hard time getting her step-father to help her and her little brother Adam because he doesn’t want to admit how tough things are. Perhaps swimming with dolphins can be the answer instead of finding another nanny…

Goodreads Summary: “Schneider Family Book Award-winning author Ginny Rorby has created an irresistible dolphin story about a girl’s struggle to help her autistic brother and herself. Lily loves her half-brother, Adam, but she has always struggled with him, too. He’s definitely on the autism spectrum–though her step-father, Don, can barely bring himself to admit it–and caring for him has forced Lily to become as much mother as sister. All Lily wants is for her step-father to acknowledge that Adam has a real issue, that they need to find some kind of program that can help him. Then maybe she can have a life of her own.
Adam’s always loved dolphins, so when Don, an oncologist, hears about a young dolphin with cancer, he offers to help. He brings Lily and Adam along, and Adam and the dolphin–Nori–bond instantly.
But though Lily sees how much Adam loves Nori, she also sees that the dolphin shouldn’t spend the rest of her life in captivity, away from her family. Can Adam find real help somewhere else? And can Lily help Nori regain her freedom without betraying her family?”

About Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share: I’ve had many books I review that I just want to feature. Simple and easy, celebrate a new book encounter. So that’s what Saturday Book Share is about for me, celebrating books! Perhaps some days I’ll share the book with a short reading of a portion. Or perhaps other days I’ll just share a glimpse of the book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader! Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

5 comments on “Styling Librarian Saturday Book Share How to Speak Dolphin

  1. This had a lot to recommend it, but I wish it hadn’t had SO MANY sad things all at once. We have an autism spectrum unit at our school, so I will probably purchase.

    • The Styling Librarian
      May 31, 2015

      True, another book that hit me with too many sad things at once was Mockingbird but I enjoyed that one as well…

  2. Pingback: Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading? | The Styling Librarian

  3. I love how Ginny is able to take human and animal issues and put them into an intriguing story that pulls at heartstrings yet still leaves you with hope. Very special.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

