The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! Enjoying books week by week… I decided to spread out what I’m reading recently over a few weeks… so this isn’t everything but I’ve enjoyed them all!

Pluto by R.J. Palacio– Realistic Fiction – 3rd grade and up – I read this again, this time I read it aloud to my son. I love this story. It is so touching, thoughtful and insightful. I see it as a great class read aloud. Love how the story takes place in a day’s time and how much can happen in a day (plus reflections of life with Auggie Pullman)… I loved Wonder, but I’m really appreciating how these short stories are fleshing out the characters and have such touching portions. I felt lucky to read this to my son… discuss how to be a friend, even when it is hard, and what it means to be a friend. Loved. Recommended. Goodreads Summary: “Christopher was Auggie’s best friend from the time they were babies until his family moved away; he was there through all of Auggie’s surgeries and heartbreaks, through bad times and good—like Star Wars marathons and dreams of traveling to Pluto together.  Alternating between childhood flashbacks and the present day, an especially bad day for Christopher,Pluto is the story of two boys grown apart learning that good friendships are worth a little extra effort.”

Picasso – I the King, Yo el rey by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand, illustrated by David Diaz – Middle School and up – This book is new to me even though it was published in 2012. It is much more for older students as there are references throughout to Picasso’s affairs and relationships with different women. BUT it can be shared at primary school as well, you just have to pick the poems you want to share. It is perfect for an exploration of Picasso’s life, what influenced him, and how he made his mark on the world. I love this author’s book creations. The poetry that moves you through a life is just fascinating and is a celebration of language while simultaneously celebrating the life of the artist. Great book, beautiful illustrations as well.

Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone – release date 6/16/2015 – High School – Realistic Fiction – Will share my thoughts closer to the release date. Interesting book all about a girl who is scared to show her true self. Her coping skills are fascinating to read about. Additionally, I loved how she dealt with friends with questionable intentions. The OCD layer of the story was beautiful and fascinating. Touching book. Recommended. Goodreads Summary: “Samantha McAllister looks just like the rest of the popular girls in her junior class. But hidden beneath the straightened hair and expertly applied makeup is a secret that her friends would never understand: Sam has Purely-Obsessional OCD and is consumed by a stream of dark thoughts and worries that she can’t turn off.”

.

The Dancing Pancake by Eileen Spinelli – Novel in verse – Realistic Fiction, 4th grade and up – Appreciated this novel with raw emotions exposed as a girl deals with her parent’s separation and also having to move to a new home and deal with many changes. Enjoyed reading about the challenges to opening a restaurant and also appreciated the realistic situation when someone wants to help another person but it isn’t something the other person asked for or wanted. There are many people taking action and wanting to help others without much in the way of success. Goodreads Summary: “DELICIOUS PANCAKES!!
FREE!!
ALL YOU CAN EAT!!
COME TO OUR
NEW GRAND OPENING!
The grand opening of the Dancing Pancake isn’t the only new thing in Bindi’s life: new friends, a new apartment, maybe even a cute new crush? But there are other changes, like her dad’s move to a new city, that have left Bindi confused and wondering: What will happen to my family? Will this new life ever feel normal? Among the unlikely bunch of regulars who form a makeshift community at the diner, Bindi will try to figure out how to be a new version of herself, one pancake and one silly elephant joke (her uncle’s specialty) at a time.”

Indonesia by Michael and Jane Pelusey – Non-fiction, 2007 – Appreciated reading this children’s non-fiction book- preparing for a trip to Bali. This book was packed with great information. Appreciated a special focus on Bali.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

16 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. I read Pluto recently too. Can’t wait for the next Wonder short story. Hopefully they’ll release all of them in book form soon-and maybe include one or two more.

  2. msyingling
    May 11, 2015

    The short story releases are frustrating because I can’t get a copy for the library. I think the latest replacement copy of Wonder had the other story in the back of the book. E books are not yet something I can circulate.

    • The Styling Librarian
      May 11, 2015

      Oh, I so agree. Very frustrating, students have had many defeated looks. I provided my iPad/Kindle for students to read over lunch, not something to circulate.

    • Cheriee Weichel
      May 11, 2015

      I agree that it is frustrating we don’t have the capacity to circulate digital or audio books. Where we are here it’s because there isn’t funding to update our circulation system. In the mean time, I teach students how to access the public library.

      • The Styling Librarian
        May 31, 2015

        I’m so happy, the three short stories are compressed into one book release in August (woo hoo!)

  3. Cheriee Weichel
    May 11, 2015

    We have a few teachers who have read Wonder so I’ll have to tell them about Pluto. At $1.99 from amazon, they could download it to their own devices and read it.

  4. Ricki Ginsberg
    May 12, 2015

    Ah!! I need to get Pluto. I love everything about Palacio’s work. I bet it is so enjoyable to read them with your son. I can’t wait until my little one is old enough for the older books. I do love the picture books, for now.

  5. I love Wonder, but haven’t read the two companions yet. I really need to. Wonder’s story grabs you in the gut and you feel it. I am sure the companions are the same way.
    I look forward to reading The Dancing Pancake–looks fabulous!

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

  6. Myra GB
    May 12, 2015

    Is Picasso a picturebook or an illustrated biography? This is a new to me title and I would definitely hunt it down if it’s a PBB. I haven’t read Wonder yet, but my girl loved it when she read it a few years back. Every Last Word looks like a fascinating read. 🙂

  7. I haven’t read Wonder yet but have been wanting to. I didn’t realize there were companion books as well. I see you say 3rd grade and up for these. Is that the right age for Wonder as well? I was thinking of sharing it with my son, but might read aloud to my daughter as well.

    • The Styling Librarian
      May 13, 2015

      I read Wonder to my 2nd grader without hesitation… and then reread it to him this past year as well… I have many 3rd/4th graders who love it. Resonated the most with 4th/5th graders though.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

Bloglovin – Follow me here!

Follow on Bloglovin

Goodreads

