The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Poetry Focus plus Nick Toczek Energy

The very shy dragon chats with Nick.

The very shy dragon chats with Nick.

Recently, my school had a wonderful visit with the poet Nick Toczek. He’s not just a poet though. He is a master performer. He is a magician. He is a puppeteer. He is …. an incredibly engaging visitor who infused poetry into my students and staff in such fun ways that people are still begging to borrow his books and students are coming up and sharing his poems aloud to me. I love when people have poems memorized. I’ve had a few students come up and tell me that Nick Toczek is their favorite poet and then they shared one of his poems. I walked into a classroom recently and I listened to the students share their poems that were inspired by one of Nick’s poems. What a fantastic visit, highly recommended.
If you want to know more about Nick Toczek, you might find these two links useful:

http://www.authorsabroad.com/authors/profile/nick-toczek

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nick_Toczek

I recently blogged about his books, here’s a little connection to them as well:

Nick Toczek Poetry Galore- All ages

Me and My Poems! by Nick Toczek
Number, Number, Cut a Cucumber by Nick Toczek
Cats ‘N’ Bats ‘N’ Slugs ‘N’ Bugs by Nick Toczek
I enjoyed Me and My Poems! the most because I could sink my teeth into more of the poetry vs. simply enjoying rhymes. I also enjoyed the riddle poems that are shared in Me and My Poems. There are also a few environmental poems mixed within the books which are useful to share with some of my year levels too. Number, Number, Cut a Cucumber is packed with rhyming poems that are hilarious and Cats ‘N’ Bats ‘N’ Slugs ‘N’ Bugs is my students’ favorite one to read… My students enjoyed learning about Nick after filling up two posters with questions for him to answer, here’s a quick picture of one of their question posters:

Nickquestions

Nick shared some poetry writing activities with students and staff, they were quite entertaining. Thought I’d share his poetry writing suggestions here:

1. Child created poems: My teacher Always Says… Select 9 children who have things teachers say, break them into 3’s, then have the whole class say, “My teacher always says…” and 3 kids share, then repeat “My teacher always says…” and do for a third time.
2. Good/Bad poem: Challenge students to come up with a group or individual good/bad poem where there’s something good matched with something bad… Example: I got to ride on a fancy ship! (GOOD!) It was the Titanic. (BAD!)
3. Rhyming Poem: List A to Z down a page. Pick a rhyming word and have students fill in the A-Z with the matching rhymes,  for example- trees agrees bees breeze…
4. 6 words to tell a story: Tell students they have only 6 words to tell a story, can they? Example from Nick: I met a dragon; Firebreathing; Bald
5. 6 word description of yourself: short biography!! Nick‘s example: I’ve never finished anything except cake.

Thought I’d show a few pictures of Nick’s performance.

Nick's poetry books

Nick’s poetry books

Author visit with Nick Toczek- fantastic presence

Author visit with Nick Toczek- fantastic presence

 

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 28, 2015 by in Author Appreciation, Blog, Book Recommendations, Books and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,876 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

