The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Special Blog Tour for Dear Hank Williams

Dear Hank Williams by Kimberly Willis Holt
DearHankWilliams TourBanner

I feel quite honored to be part of this blog tour celebrating the wonderful Kimberly Willis Holt’s new book Dear Hank Williams.

Sitting down to read this book I was prepared to read a beautiful historical fiction book but I didn’t expect such a powerful novel packed with twists and turns by form of letters from the beautiful character Tate P. Ellerbee. I really loved getting to know Tate, one of my favorite characters I’ve read in a book in a long time. I loved how she reveals bits of information and truths about herself through this novel. I appreciated seeing how the aftermath of WWII still impacted communities, attitudes, and sparked debate and ethical questions among neighbors. I appreciated a heartwrenching portion of the book that had me sobbing as Tate revealed something that she barely even admitted to herself…. I enjoyed reading this book. Highly recommended.

*Reminded me of Love, Ruby Lavender by Deborah Wiles.

Quotes from the book that I really appreciated:
“I like to think of the deceased before they became that way. I reckon they’d like me to remember them that way too.”

“A dog pours a pitcher of love into the lonesome spots of your life.”

Dear Hank WilliamsBook Talk: When you write a letter, do you expect a response? How many of you actually write letters? Would you write letters to a hero? A favorite musician? Tate P. Ellerbee is told by her teacher to choose someone to write to and she selects a newly popular musician, Hank Williams, hoping to receive a response. Wait til you read what happens!

Book Summary from Goodreads: “It’s 1948 in Rippling Creek, Louisiana, and Tate P. Ellerbee’s new teacher has just given her class an assignment–learning the art of letter-writing. Luckily, Tate has the perfect pen pal in mind: Hank Williams, a country music singer whose star has just begun to rise. Tate and her great-aunt and -uncle listen to him on the radio every Saturday night, and Tate just knows that she and Hank are kindred spirits.”

Kimberly 2014About Kimberly Willis Holt from publisher:
Kimberly Willis Holt is the author of the many award-winning novels for young adults and children, including The Water Seeker, My Louisiana Sky, and When Zachary Beaver Came to Town, winner of a National Book Award for Young People’s Literature. She is also the author of the bestselling Piper Reed series of chapter books and several picture books. Holt was born in Pensacola, Florida, and has lived all over the U.S. and the world—from Paris to Norfolk to Guam to New Orleans. She now lives in Texas with her family. Find out more at:
kimberlywillisholt.com.

DearHankWilliams TourBanner

Here is the full schedule of blogs hosting the tour of Dear Hank Williams over at Mac Kids books (http://mackidsbooks.com/dear-hank-williams-by-kimberly-willis-holt-goes-on-tour/)

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

2 comments on “Styling Librarian Special Blog Tour for Dear Hank Williams

  1. Stacey H. (@libraryjo92)
    April 13, 2015

    I can’t wait to read this book! I love books that include letter writing, because in my opinion, it is becoming a lost art. Thanks for sharing!

    • The Styling Librarian
      April 13, 2015

      It is just wonderful. I agree, letter writing is becoming a lost art. I try to write at least one letter a month to different people for this reason… 🙂 Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

