The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #WhateverWednesday Attribution

Today’s focus: Attribution – It is fun to reflect on one thing each week that really catches my attention, entertains me, and is special enough I just have to share it with the world.

Here’s my Whatever Wednesday Randomness:

One time in a week? Catches my attention. Second time? Hmm. Perhaps something to share!

I recently watched a Vlog Brothers video created by John Green about how someone gave him credit for a quote that he didn’t even create. How he assumed he wrote it without actually checking to see. How he sold posters of the quote with the attribution to him… just fascinating. Now, once he found out that he didn’t write/create the quote, he made the video and he acknowledges his ignorant actions and provides the originator of the quote with acknowledgement and plans to provide her with the proceeds of poster sales, etc.
Here’s his video:

Attribution is a tricky thing.

Many people make the assumption that if they see something posted on Facebook it is true, unquestionable, not something to worry about. They repost something without checking the source and then later feel foolish if they were incorrect. I know I’ve shared a few things over the years that when I went to Snopes.com or researched I felt quite foolish.

Now.

I came across something else thanks to my Mom. Recently, the internet gave credit to Meryl Streep for this brilliant quote that she didn’t actually say, instead it was written a while ago by an author, a man… Another situation where you question and investigate attribution. Giving credit to the proper person. Here’s the article that lays out exactly what happened with this quote debacle:
http://seniorplanet.org/how-the-internet-put-a-powerful-quote-in-meryl-streeps-mouth/

I spend quite a bit of time with students discussing how they can create bibliographies on google docs, how they need to acknowledge the youtube creators, photographers, whoever they use in their presentation, whatever resource they find, whoever they interview, etc. This seems to help a bit, especially with advancements with creating bibliographies in a simple manner. I’m so grateful for how things have changed over the years…. but I find attribution to be quite the tricky thing.

Careful what you post my friends. Have that critical eye when you’re reading news articles…

Hope everyone has a wonderful day!

Thank you again to “Eat the Book” for the Whatever Wednesday meme: http://mretome.wordpress.com David Etkin’s words: “Whatever Wednesday — a chance to post something I’ve seen that I’m diggin’. A cool quote or poster, a picture, student work, a video—you know, WhateverEnjoy!… and consider posting your own Whatever.”

If you enjoyed this post, please consider following my blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

4 comments on “Styling Librarian #WhateverWednesday Attribution

  1. David E.
    March 18, 2015

    Having kids cite photos was a bear. And they are so limited in what pictures they can freely use in school projects.

    David Etkin http://Www.mretome.wordpress.com

    >

    • The Styling Librarian
      March 18, 2015

      True, I made my students use easybib add on in Google Docs for citing photos but it was challenging for them.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

