The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! Enjoying books week by week… I decided to spread out what I’m reading through the weeks which makes this not exactly what I read this week but what I’ve enjoyed recently…

I ordered a few books I wanted to share with classes for a few weeks.
Stories to Solve – Folktales from Around the World told by George Shannon, pictures by Peter Sis
More Stories to Solve – Fifteen Folktales from Around the World told by George Shannon, pictures by Peter Sis
Really like both of these books because they are quick, entertaining and good brain teasers.
Goodreads Summary: “How can a thirsty crow drink from an almost-empty pitcher? How does arresting a stone help a judge find a boy’s stolen money? This artfully illustrated book presents fourteen intriguing mysteries from world folklore. Each brain-teasing tale is followed by a simple explanation of the solution, while notes at the back of the book describe the origins of these classic mysteries.”

IMG_5330I dream… by Muskan Devta – This is a simple story about an inspiring girl who decided to write an autobiography because of her successes. Set in New Zealand you read about her medical challenges, writing aspirations, and lovely successes. Know some children will be quite inspired. I personally wanted to edit a few portions of the book but found her story touching. She did share a TEDx talk about courage, lovely message:

My Father’s Arms Are A Boat by Stein Erik Lunde, illustrated by Oyvind Torseter – so glad I had time to read this with my son, touching, gorgeous, beautiful… Loved every minute. I was distracted by the simple beauty of the illustrations and had to go back and reread the book with just the illustrations to make sure I took enough time to appreciate every aspect I could of this book. *Warning, this is a story of loss and love, I was relieved that my son didn’t pick up on the loss as much as he has in the past with other picture books… Goodreads Summary: “It’s quieter than it’s ever been. Unable to sleep, a young boy climbs into his father’s arms. Feeling the warmth and closeness of his father, he begins to ask questions about the birds, the foxes, and whether his mom will ever wake up. They go outside under the starry sky. Loss and love are as present as the white spruces, while the father’s clear answers and assurances calm his worried son. Here we feel the cycles of life and life’s continuity, even in the face of absence and loss, so strongly and clearly that we know at the end that everything will, somehow, be all right.

The Shadow in the Moon – How the Mid-Autumn Festival Began by Christina Matula-Hakli, illustrated by Pearl Law – Great read for a discussion on traditions and stories surrounding the mid-Autumn festival. I thought it was interesting formatting in the book with a storytelling portion taking over the rest of the story suddenly but it was good enough to read aloud and be touched by the folktale.

.

Beneath by Roland Smith – Action/Adventure – Release date – January 27th – This is the perfect partner book with the book series Tunnels by Roderick Gordon. Loved getting lost in the subterfuge and complications within this book. There is a fascinating story here with an older brother who has disappeared and a younger brother watching his parents split up and then he receives a mysterious letter from his brother that includes some mysterious directions… I was nervous for the characters and story as more characters were introduced and I wondered over and over: are they who they seem? What will happen next? Digging a tunnel for over a mile is quite an interesting endeavour and when danger occurs for the older and younger brother, there’s some long term damage. Quite recommended. Roland Smith never disappoints with all the action in his stories and this one is fantastic. Goodreads Summary: “What waits Beneath? Pat O’Toole has always idolized his older brother, Coop. He’s even helped Coop with some of his crazier plans — such as risking his life to help his big brother dig a tunnel underneath their neighborhood in the suburbs of Washington, DC. Coop is . . . different. He doesn’t talk on the phone, doesn’t use email, and doesn’t have friends. He’s never really cared for anything but the thrill of being underground and Pat. So it’s no surprise to anyone — even Pat — that after a huge fight with their parents, Coop runs away. Exactly one year later, Pat receives a package containing a digital voice recorder and a cryptic message from his brother. He follows the clues to New York City, and soon discovers that Coop has joined the Community, a self-sufficient society living beneath the streets. Now it’s up to Pat to find his brother — and bring him home.”

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

 

15 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. ipushbooks
    February 16, 2015

    Thanks! I had no clue Roland Smith had a new book. Where have I been?!?

    • The Styling Librarian
      February 16, 2015

      🙂 Just recently released though…

    • The Styling Librarian
      February 17, 2015

      Too many books coming out! Roland Smith is really good on Facebook about sharing/reminding people about his new releases, feel like I’m kept on my toes with so many…

  2. Linda Baie
    February 16, 2015

    Glad to hear about the Roland Smith book-sounds very good, Debbie.

  3. Michele Knott
    February 16, 2015

    I just got Beneath myself. Thanks for the review, I’m looking forward to that one!

  4. Tara Smith
    February 17, 2015

    Thanks for sharing Beneath – just the book for some of my sixth graders.

  5. Adrienne Gear
    February 17, 2015

    Beneath looks like a great addition to our “Action/Adventure” section in the school library. I also think my son would like it! My Father’s Arms – such an unexpected book – so poignant and beautiful. An important book for helping students deal with grief. Thanks, Debbie!

    • The Styling Librarian
      February 17, 2015

      I think so as well. The Scar is another one that helps students deal with grief…

  6. Cheriee Weichel
    February 17, 2015

    I just love the front cover of My Father’s Arms Are A Boat. I’ve ordered it for our library. It’s the kind of title that we will want and need some day.

  7. Myra GB
    February 19, 2015

    What a diverse set of books you have here, Debbie. I was intrigued by the folktale titles with Peter Sis’ illustrations. Anything done by him, I have to check out. I’ve been meaning to find My Father’s Arms are a Boat – will probably purchase it using my research funds. Thanks again. Hope things are well with you, Debbie!

    • The Styling Librarian
      February 19, 2015

      I’ve been reading a mixed array lately… Things are ok on my end… Thank you…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

