The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Saturday Book Share Fish in a Tree

”Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share”.

Here’s to celebrating books that strike my fancy every week!

Fish in a Tree by Lynda Mullaly Hunt – 4th grade and up – perfect read aloud – Realistic Fiction – release date: February 5th 2015 by Nancy Paulsen Books – I LOVED THIS BOOK. LOVED. LOVED. LOVED. I love how Lynda Mullaly Hunt writes, she’s brilliant. She creates approachable characters. She creates a realistic setting that you immediately are pulled into… Here’s why I loved this book:

1. You see struggle, but solutions.
2. Wonderful teacher model balanced with others who try hard but haven’t found solutions to challenges.
3. The voice is genuine.
4. The bullies are real. Ignorant, self indulgent, self involved, lacking empathy… but have some beautiful flaws as well.
5. Dyslexia is approached in a matter of fact way, with actual solutions for parents and students to try using.
6. The book made me cry.
7. Ally is wonderfully intelligent, especially in her verbal dialogue, which helps the reader really see how frustrating and limiting her dyslexia is…
8. Mr. Daniels is a learner, book lover, volunteer, and more- wonderful role model teacher.

Book Talk: Ally has fooled many smart people. She moves to new schools and tricks teachers into thinking she can read. What happens when her new teacher, Mr. Daniels, isn’t tricked? Can Ally learn to ask for help and not be ashamed of her dyslexia?

Wonderful book trailer:

Goodreads Summary: ““Everybody is smart in different ways. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its life believing it is stupid.”
Ally has been smart enough to fool a lot of smart people. Every time she lands in a new school, she is able to hide her inability to read by creating clever yet disruptive distractions.  She is afraid to ask for help; after all, how can you cure dumb? However, her newest teacher Mr. Daniels sees the bright, creative kid underneath the trouble maker. With his help, Ally learns not to be so hard on herself and that dyslexia is nothing to be ashamed of. As her confidence grows, Ally feels free to be herself and the world starts opening up with possibilities. She discovers that there’s a lot more to her—and to everyone—than a label, and that great minds don’t always think alike.”

Here are the quotes that resonated with me:
“My mind does this all the time- shows me these movies that seem so real that they carry me away inside of them.”
“But asking me to read them would be like asking a lobster to play tennis.”
“Oh no. I’d rather eat grass.”
“I’d rather eat a bag of hair.”
“I like Mr. Daniels, but he’s got a thing for reading. Always talking about books and how great they are. Personally, I’d rather have the flu.”
“Homework is only one step above death.”
“Everyone is smart in different ways. But if you judge a fish on its ability to climb a tree, it will spend its whole life thinking that it’s stupid.”
“And I think of words. The power they have. How they can be waved around like a wand- sometimes for good, like how Mr. Daniels uses them. How he makes kids like me and Oliver feel better about ourselves. And how words can also be used for bad. To hurt.”
“But I remind myself that just because someone says it doesn’t make it true…”
“Still, I can’t speak. Usually when I find myself unable to speak, it’s because I’m humiliated. I like this feeling a lot more.”

About Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share: I’ve had many books I review that I just want to feature. Simple and easy, celebrate a new book encounter. So that’s what Saturday Book Share is about for me, celebrating books! Perhaps some days I’ll share the book with a short reading of a portion. Or perhaps other days I’ll just share a glimpse of the book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

 

2 comments on “Styling Librarian Saturday Book Share Fish in a Tree

  1. Lynda Mullaly Hunt
    February 6, 2015

    Wow. Thank you so very much for this wonderful review of FISH IN A TREE. It makes me smile big! You are too kind–but I appreciate it 🙂

    • The Styling Librarian
      February 7, 2015

      My pleasure. Thank you for this book treasure. As a person who grew up with dyslexia and being a bit discounted, I rose above and blossomed… in college. Just loved this novel and appreciated every moment of it…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

