The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Saturday Book Share All the Answers

”Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share”.

Here’s to celebrating books that strike my fancy every week!

All the Answers by Kate Messner – Fourth grade and Up- Realistic Fiction/Fantasy- Released in January 2015- This book hit a little too close to home. I loved reading every minute but the main character who is so fixated on worrying that life is passing her by is quite the powerful one to read about. I was quite touched by this story. It was interesting to read the ethical dilemma of a girl who realizes that a pencil is telling her answers to test questions and answering other questions as well. How do you decide when to ask questions? Is there a limit to the questions you ask? What would you ask if you found a magical pencil that had all the answers? I feel like it is a can of worms. Now, Kate Messner could have gone so many ways with this book and made various decisions. I admire where she went, how the book moved, and all the different beautiful twists and turns it made. I do not want to share too much but this book did hit too close to home with one storyline and it leads me to suggest that this should be for fourth grade and up not only for the questions and discussions but also for the content that children will deal with. I highly recommend this book, loved it a tremendous amount.

Book Talk: What would you ask if you found a magical pencil that had all the answers? How would you choose the questions to ask? What wouldn’t you want to know? Ava found a pencil that will answer questions for homework, tests, and life… good luck Ava!

Goodreads Summary: “What if your pencil had all the answers? Would you ace every test? Would you know what your teachers were thinking? When Ava Anderson finds a scratched up pencil she doodles like she would with any other pencil. But when she writes a question in the margin of her math quiz, she hears a clear answer in a voice no one else seems to hear.
With the help of her friend Sophie, Ava figures out that the pencil will answer factual questions only – those with definite right or wrong answers – but won’t predict the future. Ava and Sophie discover all kinds of uses for the pencil, and Ava’s confidence grows with each answer. But it’s getting shorter with every sharpening, and when the pencil reveals a scary truth about Ava’s family, she realizes that sometimes the bravest people are the ones who live without all the answers…”

About Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share: I’ve had many books I review that I just want to feature. Simple and easy, celebrate a new book encounter. So that’s what Saturday Book Share is about for me, celebrating books! Perhaps some days I’ll share the book with a short reading of a portion. Or perhaps other days I’ll just share a glimpse of the book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader! Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Styling Librarian

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

