The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian HK Update Y3Wk23 Philippines Ed 1 Arrival

Enjoyed trying out this mint/green tea!

Enjoyed trying out this mint/green tea!

So I am beginning my fourth year of blogging on this site. Very happy with what I’ve done over the years and what I’ve forgiven myself and not accomplished as well. I sat and thought about what changes I wanted to make in the next year. I’ll continue my favorite memes. But to my book reviews, specifically novels, I’m going to add in book talks. And I am going to retroactively add in book talks to my old posts and organize all on a Book Talk page. Giving myself through January to begin/organize this.

I like that my reviews are searchable by title and author but I miss having lists.
A few people have mentioned that I share so much food links I should have a review page. Hmm. I like Open Rice for reviews in Hong Kong and many sites in the US but thought I’d add in a page of favorites and missed favorites. This will be shared sometimes with my limited food diet perspective. I’ll have fun creating this page in February/March.
I’ll maintain my other pages as well. I like writing book recommendations lists and technology posts and will share them when I’m inspired.

Ready to go!

Ready to go!

This will be a big year for my family. I am not completely finished or well from my medical issues and treatments that I share about on Life’s Journey Interrupted but we have made the big decision to relocate and move back to Oregon at the beginning of July. We will finish out the school year here. I miss my family. Plus friends, school district, life in Oregon, etc. We love living in Hong Kong and honestly can say that if my medical issues hadn’t rocked our world over the past 1.5 years we’d be moving but we are happy and excited about our decisions.

There was a bit I haven’t shared about before we headed off to the Philippines. We celebrated the kiddo’s birthday with a bowling party…
IMG_4746

IMG_4747

I visited a cool coffee shop called Coffee Academics with two wonderful friends, loved having time to visit with them both- especially away from medical situations- and just have fun together time (and to talk about books)…

Philippines trip, just a snippet:

Taxi time more

Taxi time more

Day one: Traveling day: Hong Kong to Cebu and then a ferry to Donsol.
We were hoping to have more time in Philippines on our first day but we were surprised how long it took to find a taxi, get to the ferry, and then get tickets. We got in a taxi and thought that we had negotiated the price but then he managed to talk us up to more. Beware, don’t be rushed, and stand your ground if you are traveling. We arrived too late even with our taxi driver’s maniac driving, which we paid for.  Even with reservations, we were delayed by 2 hours after we were late and had to take a different ferry. We also noticed that the ferry was over 30 minutes late arriving/ leaving, not terrific.

Interesting menu items!

Interesting menu items!

Resort name is: Linaw Beach Resort and Restaurant: – staying 7 days.
Thank goodness our friends had a table reserved for us when we met up with them at the resort and we were able to get food.
The resort we stayed at takes forever with food. One huge downside since waiting 45 minutes to 1.5 hours for a meal isn’t relaxing at all. But there are ways to plan around it. And there are other places to eat as well. More coming next week on our Philippines Trip.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider following my blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

6 comments on “Styling Librarian HK Update Y3Wk23 Philippines Ed 1 Arrival

  1. Ali Hewett
    January 4, 2015

    The book talk idea sounds fabulous – I am constantly in awe of just how much you do! I am very sorry that I had not picked up on your health probs between blog post scans. All the best for 2015, Alison.

  2. lenorelook
    January 4, 2015

    Happy Birthday Declan!!! Debbie, thanks for sharing these thought and beautiful photos. Glad to hear you’re heading back to Oregon. I will come down to visit you the next time I’m in Seattle! Just came back from spending the holidays there with my mom and extended family. Enjoy your remaining time in HK!!! XXOO

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 4, 2015

      Well, there’s a reason I’ll look forward to returning, getting to see you again! xoxox

  3. Linda Baie
    January 5, 2015

    Exciting post, all the way through–birthday bowling must be special for young boys, your awesome plans to share book talks, and more from the Philippines. When I’ve traveled to the Caribbean and Costa Rica, we’ve found that meals take a while. Sometimes that was okay, and sometimes not. Different from the hurry in US restaurants when they want the table back! Best wishes for the move. To be near family is good, but Hong Kong sounds as if it’s been good in many ways. Thanks for all you share in books, Debbie. I always look forward to your post.

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 5, 2015

      Thanks so much Linda, grateful for all your support… 🙂 Yes, food delivery is quite different in the US, all about filling those seats. There’s something to be said about taking it easy and kicking back… if you’re not starving. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 4, 2015 by in Blog, Book Talks, Food, Hong Kong, Moving, World Awareness and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

Bloglovin – Follow me here!

Follow on Bloglovin

Goodreads

