The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Saturday Book Share Counting By 7s

”Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share”.

Here’s to celebrating books that strike my fancy every week!

I’ve shared this book before… but it deserves a revisit!

Reread of:

Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan – I just loved revisiting this brilliant book. I reread it specifically to write battle of the book questions for the Hong Kong Battle of the Books team. I just love how there are alternating chapters with different character’s perspectives and especially how Willow stands out above them all. I thought this time I’d capture lines from the book that I love:

“I decided any behavior, good or bad, could become routine. This was probably why people were able to empty porta potties or regulate the quality of canned cat food in factories with actual taste tests.” P. 63

“Never let someone tell you that you can’t do it.” P. 94

“And endings are always the beginnings of something else.” P. 107

“So that’s kind of comforting- knowing that the worst thing in life is already behind you.” P. 115

“Everyone, I now realize, lives in a world of pain. But I’m certain that mine is greater than hers.” P. 134

“And just being there is ninety-nine percent of what matters when your world falls apart.” P. 175

“They are part of something bigger than themselves. Even if they don’t realize it. I do.” P. 184

“What we expect rarely occurs; what we don’t expect is what happens.” P. 214

“I think that the effort put forward in matters of physical exertion is more important than the outcome.” P. 278

“I can’t risk heading in what feels like the wrong direction.” P. 282

“I didn’t understand until recently that emotions could be so contagious. I now know why comedians are important in culture.” P. 311

“I know from experience that some things will thrive and others will wither. Only time will expose the difference. Balance is critical in the natural world.” P. 341

“When you care about other people, it takes the spotlight off your own drama.” P. 355

“I’m not brave; it’s just that all other choices have been thrown out the window.” P. 360

Reading how Willow listened to audio lessons designed for state department employees to learn how to speak Vietnamese made me look up a link to see what was available, wow! Going to try out their Mandarin resources: http://www.fsi-language-courses.org/Content.php?page=Chinese

Goodreads Summary: “In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.
Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life… until now.
Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.”

About Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share: I’ve had many books I review that I just want to feature. Simple and easy, celebrate a new book encounter. So that’s what Saturday Book Share is about for me, celebrating books! Perhaps some days I’ll share the book with a short reading of a portion. Or perhaps other days I’ll just share a glimpse of the book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,877 other followers

Styling Librarian

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

