The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Saturday Book Share Christine Fletcher Books

”Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share”.

Here’s to celebrating books that strike my fancy every week!

I had the immense pleasure of meeting and having many conversations with the really talented author Christine Fletcher over a weeks time during a writers workshop this summer in Oregon. I was so grateful to grab and read two fantastic books by this local Oregon author who not only inspires, packs a gorgeous story into each of her novels, but also pops in fascinating facts throughout her books. I just loved every minute of reading these two books and cannot wait to see what is next. Both of these books are young adult novels, so beautiful and highly recommended!

Tallulah Falls by Christine Fletcher – 2006- Realistic Fiction, High School/Young Adult – So glad I was sick and had time to read this gorgeous novel. One of those perfect coming of age novels packed with honesty, heart, and beautiful characters. Loved that a portion of the book was set in a veterinary clinic and there were life risking actions going on as well. Such a special book, loved the main character but also appreciated how another character was presented with bi-polar disorder and how that can impact others. There’s also a powerful message about friendship throughout this book. Highly recommended.

Goodreads Summary: “When Tallulah Addy sets out on an impulsive cross-country trip to rescue her best friend, she doesn’t anticipate getting stranded in rural Tennessee without a dime. Nor does she guess that rescuing a dog will land her a job in the local veterinarian’s office. But there, under the wary eye of ornery Dr. Poteet, Tallulah works harder than ever before, tending to animals of all shapes and sizes–and unexpectedly, to wounds long-buried in herself. Tallulah swears she’ll leave the first chance she gets, yet when given the choice, it may prove harder to keep the promise to her friend than to say good-bye to the strangers who have become her new family.”

Ten Cents a Dance by Christine Fletcher– Young Adult, Historical Fiction – Christine has a way of transporting her reader back in time with sensory images, dialogue, and so many more elements. She’s an incredible writer. I knew nothing about people dancing for money as a job like this back then but then when my husband saw the title of the book, he immediately said that there was a song by Tina Turner with a similar name… then I did a little research and wow, there are many movies and other bits of info on that history! So, fascinating. Love the flawed characters that Christine creates, I quickly was concerned and wrapped up in Ruby’s life as soon as I started the book and couldn’t stop reading the book… which didn’t help me much on my last day in Oregon when I wanted to spend time with family. (I stayed up late to finish it before we flew out in the AM.)

Goodreads Summary: “With her mother ill, it’s up to fifteen-year-old Ruby Jacinski to support her family. But in the 1940s, the only opportunities open to a Polish-American girl from Chicago’s poor Yards is a job in one of the meat packing plants. Through a chance meeting with a local tough, Ruby lands a job as a taxi dancer and soon becomes an expert in the art of “fishing”: working her patrons for meals, cash, clothes, even jewelry. Drawn ever deeper into the world of dance halls, jazz, and the mob, Ruby gradually realizes that the only one who can save her is herself.  A mesmerizing look into a little known world and era.”

Christine Fletcher Goodreads Image:

About Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share: I’ve had many books I review that I just want to feature. Simple and easy, celebrate a new book encounter. So that’s what Saturday Book Share is about for me, celebrating books! Perhaps some days I’ll share the book with a short reading of a portion. Or perhaps other days I’ll just share a glimpse of the book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

2 comments on “Styling Librarian Saturday Book Share Christine Fletcher Books

  1. Adrienne
    November 8, 2014

    I saw her at a conference, just as Ten Cents a Dance was Being published. She came dressed in an outfit from the 1940’s. She works as a vet in North Portland!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,876 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

