The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! New books are trickling into the library and I’m missing most of them as I’m at home on sick leave. Luckily, my wonderful assistant sent a few home… here are a few I’d love to celebrate…

First I celebrated Absolutely Truly this past Saturday, don’t miss this new wonderful book by Heather Vogel Frederick!

A Funny Little Bird by Jennifer Yerkes –  Loved this beautiful picture book, so glad it is now part of the library. Beautiful story about originality, independent survival, appreciation for what you’re handed… just beautiful. So creative. Goodreads Summary: “A lonely, invisible bird mistakenly believes that adorning himself with flashy feathers and flowers will make him beautiful and win him new friends. Except his plan quickly backfires when his magnificent plumage attracts the attention of everyone, even the fox! In his rush to safety the little bird loses every last bit of his new decorations, making him invisible once again. Except now in place of his loneliness is the knowledge that putting others first is the key to friendship and high self-esteem.”

Come On, Rain! by Karen Hesse, pictures by Jon J. Muth – 1999 published- love the word choice in this gorgeous book, illustrated by one of my book heroes as well… This book was requested by one of my teachers for the language connection and seasonal connection. Beautiful beautiful beautiful addition for the library… Goodreads Summary: “Newbery Medalist Karen Hesse recreates the body and soul-renewing experience of a summer downpour after a sweltering city heat wave.”

In the Tree House by Andrew Larsen, illustrated by Dusan Petricic – This reminded me of a few other beautiful books connected to electrical blackouts. Touching peaceful read aloud about a young boy who moves to a new home and begins designing his own treehouse which led to inspiring his older brother to create one as well, then inspiring his father as well. Beautiful transition to how the older brother grew up and didn’t have time for his little brother anymore… until a blackout. Beautiful story, loved the illustrations, especially the blackout. So glad this one came up in my radar… Goodreads Summary: “An evocative story about two brothers who are growing up (one faster than the other), an unusual summer night and a special tree house that proves childhood is not just a time but also a place.”

The Storybook of Legends – Ever After High – Shannon Hale – Fantasy – 3/4th grade and up – I had to read this because my niece was reading it over the summer and I wanted to see what the appeal was… Well. I adore Shannon Hale. This book is quite different than any other book I’ve read by her. I’m not so fond of the connection to tv shows or material toys. So, I was a little hesitant to read it. I sat down and was amused by the tongue in cheek jokes, twisted fairy tale adaptation, dialogue between a character and narrator, and more. I mostly enjoyed reading these books but wasn’t drawn in to care about any character overall and simply enjoyed the story’s development. I can see how many of my students would enjoy these books and I know the presentation of the books with illustrations and special borders around the pages will also appeal to many readers. Goodreads Summary: “At Ever After High, an enchanting boarding school, the children of fairytale legends prepare themselves to fulfill their destinies as the next generation of Snow Whites, Prince Charmings and Evil Queens…whether they want to or not. Each year on Legacy Day, students sign the Storybook of Legends to seal their scripted fates. For generations, the Village of Book End has whispered that refusing to sign means The End-both for a story and for a life. As the daughter of the Evil Queen, Raven Queen’s destiny is to follow in her mother’s wicked footsteps, but evil is so not Raven’s style. She’s starting to wonder, what if she rewrote her own story? The royal Apple White, daughter of the Fairest of Them All, has a happy ever after planned for herself, but it depends upon Raven feeding her a poison apple in their future. What if Raven doesn’t sign the Storybook of Legends? It could mean a happily never after for them both.”
*Here’s an example of the tv show this series is based on:

Laughed and listened to:

Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple – what a brilliant audiobook! I had to relisten to the end because I was so disappointed it ended… So glad that a friend recently recommended this and then my hold on the audiobook came up! It was the best best best distraction during a few hard hours recently! Must read more by Maria Semple. Loved the main character, the format (even though I listened to it, made sense) with the collected emails, letters, conversations and more… what an interesting mix of information that formed the most fascinating story that kept me chuckling throughout the whole listen. Highly recommended. Goodreads Summary: “Bernadette Fox is notorious. To her Microsoft-guru husband, she’s a fearlessly opinionated partner; to fellow private-school mothers in Seattle, she’s a disgrace; to design mavens, she’s a revolutionary architect, and to 15-year-old Bee, she is a best friend and, simply, Mom.
Then Bernadette disappears. It began when Bee aced her report card and claimed her promised reward: a family trip to Antarctica. But Bernadette’s intensifying allergy to Seattle—and people in general—has made her so agoraphobic that a virtual assistant in India now runs her most basic errands. A trip to the end of the earth is problematic.
To find her mother, Bee compiles email messages, official documents, secret correspondence—creating a compulsively readable and touching novel about misplaced genius and a mother and daughter’s role in an absurd world.”

Snuck in an adult non-fiction book:

Crazy Sexy Cancer Tips by Kris Carr – This is quite an inspirational book packed with good tips and information. I personally appreciated slowing down and thinking about all the different contributor’s ideas and thinking about real life implementation of tips. I love the chapter on becoming a survivor and how to help yourself refocusing on thriving. I personally am journaling my experience on my other blog – http://lifesjourneyinterrupted.blogspot.hk/ – but I am trying many ideas beyond from embracing art, to writing a gratitude journal and more. I have a feeling I’ll be opening and reading tips from this book in many months to come since it is just packed with so many positive ideas. Goodreads Summary: “Actress and photographer Kris Carr thought she had a hangover, but a Jivamukti yoga class didn’t provide its usual kick-ass cure. A visit to her doctor confirmed her “liver looked like Swiss cheese,” covered with cancerous tumors. She entered trench warfare (wearing cowboy boots into the MRI machine, no less), vowing, “Cancer needed a makeover and I was just the gal to do it!” She began writing and filming her journey, documenting her interactions with friends, doctors, alternative “quacks,” blind dates, and other women with cancer—sadly a growing group. These include hip, young women such as illustrator-author Marisa Acocella Marchetto (Cancer Vixen), Glamour writer-editor Erin Zammett (My So-Called Normal Life), MTV personality Diem Brown (Real World/Road Rules Challenge), model Sharon Blynn (founder, Bald Is Beautiful), and music manager Jackie Farry, among others. CRAZY SEXY CANCER TIPS gathers the lessons learned and advice offered from Carr’s own journey, as well as the experiences of her cancer posse. Full-color photos accompany personal stories and candid revelations in this scrapbook of advice, warnings, and resources for the cancer patient. Chapters cover your changing social life, dating, sex, and appearance; essential health tips on how to boost your immune system; recipes; medical and holistic resources; and information on young survivor support groups. The resulting book is a warm, yet informative tool for any woman newly diagnosed with the disease and for those who love them.”

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

21 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading

  1. Meg Miranda
    November 3, 2014

    I can’t wait to see what you are recommending for OBOB! Your suggestions are of the highest value! Hugs,Meg m

  2. Linda Baie
    November 3, 2014

    You are lucky to have your assistant bring new books to you, & they all look wonderful, Debbie. My list today has really grown! I love the idea of Absolutely Truly and A Funny Little Bird. And In The Tree House looks like a good one for older students to discuss. There’s always older sibling stuff, whether one is the older or the younger. And the Crazy Sexy Cancer Tips looks good, like some advice must apply to many kinds of challenges, whether illness or grief or ? Glad you shared that here. Thanks much for all, happy to hear about all these books!

    • The Styling Librarian
      November 4, 2014

      Thanks so much Linda… There’s so many great books… overwhelming at times but wonderful overall. Happy reading week to you!

  3. When I saw the new book by Heather Vogel Frederick, I immediately thought of a customer who attends all our Family Book Club meetings. She’ll love this book!

  4. Tara Smith
    November 4, 2014

    That Hesse book looks wonderful, Great that your assistant can get books to you – especially ones like these!

  5. thelogonauts
    November 4, 2014

    Glad to hear your thoughts on Ever After High. A few of my students have gotten into it, and I wasn’t sure how ‘old’ the content was.

    • The Styling Librarian
      November 4, 2014

      It felt a little older at times but didn’t go across the line for younger readers overall…

  6. Ricki Ginsberg
    November 4, 2014

    I have had Bernadette on my TBR list for TOO LONG! I really need to read it, and after reading your review, I want the audiobook! Thank you for sharing about it and inspiring me to get moving!

  7. Kellee
    November 4, 2014

    Just requested Come On Rain from my library. I am a huge fan of Karen Hesse’s Out of the Dust, but didn’t know about this title. Thank you for sharing it with me!! I also requested Absolutely Truly based off of your thoughts. Thank you!!

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

  8. carriegelson
    November 4, 2014

    In the Tree House is a favourite of mine. Love the illustrations and the family connection.

  9. Jennifer
    November 5, 2014

    Wow! So… I was looking up Maria Semple, because I loved the book Where’d You Go, Bernadette? and wanted more (like you, I was only annoyed that it ended), and there it was—on the same page as my funny little bird! Thanks so much for your lovely review. I’ll be back soon for more of your thoughts on other books!

    • The Styling Librarian
      November 5, 2014

      Wow, talk about kismet. Thanks for following and commenting… love your little bird! 🙂

  10. Jennifer
    November 5, 2014

    p.s. Get well soon!

  11. Myra GB
    November 8, 2014

    Loved your description of Where’d you go Bernadette. I often find that books provide some measure of familiar comfort during really difficult times – I hope they prove to be ‘healing’ for you as well – in whatever form it takes. Thinking of you and sending you light and love. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

