The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! Had a wonderful reading week, plugging my way through some fascinating and beautiful books… no picture books this week which felt odd but that’s ok, I shared plenty other weeks past! Still on “bedrest” recovering but busy with projects as well…

Everybody Sees the Ants by A.S. King – High School, very mature – wow. A lovely friend strongly recommended this book for the Golden Dragon Book Awards program for our upper division readers, so glad she did. This book packed quite the punch. Loved every minute of it… another bullying situation gone to an extreme with parents who allow for being passive and ignoring the problems until they escalate to a level that cannot be ignored. In addition, there is a mystical, time travel element to this book that kept me puzzling throughout. Fascinating read. Recommended, for the strong of heart. Goodreads Summary: “Lucky Linderman didn’t ask for his life. He didn’t ask his grandfather not to come home from the Vietnam War. He didn’t ask for a father who never got over it. He didn’t ask for a mother who keeps pretending their dysfunctional family is fine. And he didn’t ask to be the target of Nader McMillan’s relentless bullying, which has finally gone too far.
But Lucky has a secret–one that helps him wade through the daily mundane torture of his life. In his dreams, Lucky escapes to the war-ridden jungles of Laos–the prison his grandfather couldn’t escape–where Lucky can be a real man, an adventurer, and a hero. It’s dangerous and wild, and it’s a place where his life just might be worth living. But how long can Lucky keep hiding in his dreams before reality forces its way inside?”
Quotes from Everybody Sees the Ants:
“I didn’t say you had to forget it. Never forget it. But stop living there. Live here in the present. Think forward to your future.”
“They don’t know what love is. Here they learn what hate is, and I am so sad that they might never know love because hate came first.”
“Why are the adults in my life so determined to bring me down when I’m feeling good?”

Fish in a Tree by Lynda Mullaly Hunt – 4th grade and up – perfect read aloud – Realistic Fiction – release date: February 5th 2015 by Nancy Paulsen Books – will promote and share my thoughts later but for now I’ll just say, I LOVED THIS BOOK. LOVED. LOVED. LOVED. Goodreads Summary: ““Everybody is smart in different ways. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its life believing it is stupid.”
Ally has been smart enough to fool a lot of smart people. Every time she lands in a new school, she is able to hide her inability to read by creating clever yet disruptive distractions.  She is afraid to ask for help; after all, how can you cure dumb? However, her newest teacher Mr. Daniels sees the bright, creative kid underneath the trouble maker. With his help, Ally learns not to be so hard on herself and that dyslexia is nothing to be ashamed of. As her confidence grows, Ally feels free to be herself and the world starts opening up with possibilities. She discovers that there’s a lot more to her—and to everyone—than a label, and that great minds don’t always think alike.”

The Time of the Fireflies by Kimberley Griffiths Little – Fantasy/Horror (only a little) – 4th grade and up –  released recently on July 29th 2014 by Scholastic – I was lost in this book. Took a few days to read because I didn’t want to finish it too quick. I would partner this book with Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz and also Doll Bones by Holly Black. This book is haunting, touching, thoughtful. Love how the fantasy mixes into the story with time travel and family connections. I was curious how smooth everything would go but it was wonderful. There was one character that I wished I could have had a bigger role, more dialogue, more storyline. Have a feeling others will feel the same when they read the book but I don’t want to give anything away. She only comes in towards the end of the book. I also really loved how this book’s conclusion went. Sometimes you finish a book with a few questions but with this book you’re reading and you say, yes, the book could end here but what about… and you turn the page and voila, there’s the answers in the next chapter! Beautiful book, highly recommended.
Goodreads Summary: “When Larissa Renaud starts receiving eerie phone calls on a disconnected old phone in her family’s antique shop, she knows she’s in for a strange summer. A series of clues leads her to the muddy river banks, where clouds of fireflies dance among the cypress knees and cattails each evening at twilight. The fireflies are beautiful and mysterious, and they take her on a magical journey through time, where Larissa learns secrets about her family’s tragic past–deadly, curse-ridden secrets that could harm the future of her family as she knows it. It soon becomes clear that it is up to Larissa to prevent history from repeating itself and a fatal tragedy from striking the people she loves.”
Favorite quotes: “I’d never figured out why my parents uprooted us over and over again. Who knew what grown-ups were thinking? Didn’t seem sane half the time.”
“I took a deep breath and let it out, tears stinging the back of my throat. Instead of all the hate and anger I had inside of me, I tried to think about everything Grandma Kat had told me about letting go. About not letting the scar determine who I was for the rest of my life. To not become a scared, ugly girl hiding from the world.”

Forever Young: Unleashing the Magic of Ayurveda by Reenita Malhotra Hora, Non-fiction, Adult – Fascinating to read this book. Enlighening ideas, explanations I could understand, and inspiring food and yoga inspiration as well. I appreciate learning about this cultural practice for having a balanced health approach. I’m lucky enough to know this brilliant author and actually have the chance to talk about health and life approaches with her. Special to learn about Ayurveda through the book and then chat about this practice in person as well. Thank you Reenita! 🙂 Goodreads Summary: “Drawing on the 5000-year-old Indian household tradition of natural health – Ayurveda – ‘Forever Young’ helps you create a lifestyle focused on looking and feeling radiant throughout your life, and on revealing the health and beauty within you. A comprehensive quiz starts you on the way to personalizing your skincare, yoga practice and diet to match your unique body and personality type, all through simple steps that are easy to include in your busy life. Whether your custom health and beauty plans include the cooling ritual of a milk and rice water bath, meditative breathing techniques to complement your workout or the cleansing effects of a detox weekend, this book blends inviting text with informative how-tos so you can attain balance and a healthy glow.”

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

16 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. I’ve been meaning to read A.S. King. Everybody Sees the Ants sounds intriguing. All I finished this week were picture books!

  2. msyingling
    October 6, 2014

    I’m looking forward to reading Fish in a Tree and can’t wait until my order with Time of the Fireflies comes in. Everybody Sees Ants was too YA for my students.

    • The Styling Librarian
      October 9, 2014

      Yes, Everybody Sees Ants is way too YA for my students as well… happy reading to you!

  3. carriegelson
    October 6, 2014

    I can’t wait to read Fish in a Tree! I loved One for the Murphys so much. Everybody Sees the Ants just blew me away. I am a total fan of A.S. King.

    • The Styling Librarian
      October 9, 2014

      You’ll just love Fish in a Tree, can’t wait to share more about it… I need to continue reading A.S. King- so brilliant…

  4. Linda Baie
    October 6, 2014

    Still need to read Everybody Sees The Ants, I’m sure it’s good. And lucky you to get an ARC of Fish In A Tree-so happy to hear you loved it. Thanks also for the other two-both intriguing in unique ways.

    • The Styling Librarian
      October 9, 2014

      I felt really lucky to get the ARC of Fish in a Tree… 🙂 Happy reading your way.

  5. Ricki Ginsberg
    October 7, 2014

    A.S. King is one of my absolute favorite authors. Her newest book is published this month, and I am excited to read it! Everybody Sees the Ants was a phenomenal read for me, so I am so glad you enjoyed it too. I hope you have a terrific week! 🙂

  6. Michele Knott
    October 7, 2014

    I’m so glad to see your review of Fireflies – I adored this book but haven’t seen too many readers try this one. Hope it will pick up some love soon!
    Fish in a Tree was great too! I think Hunt’s Ally and Carley would be friends!

  7. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)
    October 7, 2014

    I love how you share the book trailers for books if there is one–thank you!
    A.S. King is a brilliant author. Everything she writes is mind blowing. I’m glad you liked Ants.
    I look forward to reading Fireflies and Fish–they both are on my TBR.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

  8. Myra GB
    October 9, 2014

    I’m intrigued by The Time of the Fireflies – have you read The Night Gardener yet? One of the most powerful creepy books I’ve read this year. I’ve read Splendors and Glooms and Doll Bones last year – but The Night Gardener is definitely the one that wowed me. A. S. King seems to write about really heavy-going issues, thanks for sharing!

    • The Styling Librarian
      October 9, 2014

      Yes, I read The Night Gardener recently, darn powerful creepy novel… Wowed me as well…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,877 other followers

Styling Librarian

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

