The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Saturday Book Share To Hell and Back and Author Interview

”Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share”.

Here’s to celebrating books that strike my fancy every week!

To Hell and Back by Beth Ann Masarik – YA/Adult – Short stories are interesting creatures in the literature world. You often are left wanting more at the end of a story. The author has to pack in so much within a short portion in addition to drawing the reader in and developing enough rapport with the characters. I admire short story authors. So when I heard from this author with an offer to read and review her short stories, I was quite intrigued. She described her work as: “a compilation of four short stories which are titled Moon Spirit, Murderous Regrets, Hell’s Captive and Hell Bound.“ I sat and read them in order. I was quickly transported to a world of vampires and werewolves to following a young woman as she visits Hades and his companions for a special interview to a few other adventures as well. Interesting to quickly get lost in characters, fantasy, and find connections between the four short stories. I found that this book would be quite good for those mature Rick Riordan fans or Cassandra Claire fans.

Quotes:
“This is a lot to process in one day,” she admitted softly, her expression seeming distant while she tried to process everything.”
“This is a war between the Olympians and the monsters of the Underworld.”
“Now, I know what you’re thinking… isn’t it odd for a notorious murderer to be let out of jail? To answer your question, yes, yes it is.”

Goodreads Summary: “Take a journey to Hell with Elise Stevenson as she braves meeting Hades and his companions in this compilation. To Hell and Back consists of the short stories Murderous Regrets, Hell Bound and Hell’s Captive. In these three stories, Elise is sent to Hell to uncover the secrets of the villains in The World Among Us. She dodges the worst of demons, and goes to the very depths of Hell just to interview Hades and the Prince of Darkness themselves among other monsters that appear in the series.
In the short story, Moon Spirit, however, we are brought back to earth, where we meet Raul Blackoak and his family. While Raul is out on patrol, he hears the cries of a damsel in distress. A battle begins between the werewolf and two demons, but before long, the night is saved by a surprise visitor. Raul and his new partner save the day, only for things to become more serious when they bring her back to Raul’s home. Will Raul be able to come to terms with the strange twist of events?”

I was thrilled to connect with Beth Ann Masarik and interview her! I was quite curious about her experiences and choices writing short stories.

Here’s the interview:

Do you enjoy writing short stories? What do you find challenging about them?
I love writing short stories! They allow me to add a little more detail to some of my characters which had to be cut from my full length novels.  The challenging part I would have to say is knowing when to end the story and getting my characters to shut up.

What was your favorite childhood book memory? I used to hate reading believe it or not. I always read slower than the rest of my class, and so that was why I hated it. My mom bought me the Harry Potter books one year for Christmas, and literally forced me to sit down for 45 minutes at a time.  Needless to say, it was the best thing that ever happened to me.  Why? Because by the time I was on the fourth book (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire), I realized that I wanted to create an epic story like JK Rowling, and so, I embarked on my journey of becoming an author.

What was a favorite genre you read as a child?  How have your tastes changed as an adult? As stated above, I used to hate reading. But Harry Potter & JK Rowling sparked my love for paranormal and fantasy.  As an adult, while I still love that genre and prefer it above all others, I’ve also taken a liking to various romance genres from historical romance to erotica, to happily ever after.

Do you have a key writing tips for kids? Or adults?
Write like your life depends on it even when you want to give up. Don’t ever give up your dream of being a writer. Because once you stop writing, you fall out of the habit and it becomes that much more difficult to get back into it. If you hit writer’s block, take a short break and READ. I find that reading actually helps stimulate my mind and usually gets my muse going again. I often have people tell me “I wish I could write a book.” Or “I want to write a book.” My answer to them is simple. “So sit down and write. What’s stopping you?”

Do you have a new book being released in the next year?
I hope to have at least one if not more to release next year. I just don’t have a date yet for Prince of Darkness (book one in The World Among Us.). I am still editing and doing some re-writes. Once it’s done, I’ll have a better idea on a release date, but trust me, the wait will be worth it!

Did you always plan on a writing career or if not…?
As much as I would love to call writing my “career,” unfortunately I can’t do that just yet. I’m not making enough money on my books to write full time. If and when that ever happens, will I be able to call it a career.  HOWEVER, I have ALWAYS wanted to be a published author, which, thanks to my publishing house, Nevermore Press, I am. I began writing books when I was about 16 years old.  I wrote my first book in a spiral bound notebook complete at about 160 pages (both front and back). I was so proud of myself for finishing it, that I just kept writing more and more books. Of course my earlier pieces were a piece of poop, but eventually I’d like to go back and expand upon those worlds.

Writing is more of a therapy for me than a career. I grew up as an only child with multiple health and learning disabilities.  I was taunted and bullied because of them, and labeled as the stereotypical “nerd” because I wear glasses.  Writing is my way of escaping reality when times are tough (even when they aren’t these days).

*Do you have any favorite topping you like on your pizza? 

I personally LOVE pepperoni pizza! I also like garlic on mine every so often J. Ooh…pepperoni and garlic pizza sounds really yummy right now.

The best advice I’ve received for my profession was…. To keep writing!

The habit I never break for my writing practice is… listening to music while writing. I find that I like to type to the beat of the song and it helps to keep me going.

If someone had told me… that publishing books was going to be challenging, I might not have embarked on this journey. However, now that I have a wonderful publisher, I’m here to stay!

Debbie, you forgot to ask me… You forgot to ask me where you can find me!

You can find me on Facebook at: facebook.com/bethannmasarikauthor or facebook.com/theworldamongus

You can find me on twitter: @theworldamongus & @literarylunes

You can find me on goodreads as Beth Ann Masarik

I’m also on Booktropolous

My websites are www.bethannmasarik.com, www.theworldamongussaga.com and www.literarylunespublications.com

More about Beth Ann Masarik from Publisher- http://www.nevermorepress.com/our-authors.html —  Beth Ann Masarik was born and raised in a small town on Long Island.  Ever since she can remember, Beth has always loved writing and completed her first book at the age of 15.  That was when she knew she wanted to be an author.  It wasn’t until her second year of college while reading Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire that Beth realized that being an author was her dream job.  She writes YA/fantasy books, and is slowly breaking out into the New Adult world.  She has several projects in the works, all in the Fantasy genre and all involving different species.  Her favorite species to write about are gods, werewolves, angels and witches.  Beth works part time at a NY law firm as an office clerk, and writes books in her spare time.  In addition to writing, she also runs Literary Lunes Magazine, which is dedicated to promoting authors and helping first time authors build their platforms.  More information about Beth can be found on her website at www.bethannmasarik.com and about her magazine can be found at www.literarylunespublications.com 

About Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share: I’ve had many books I review that I just want to feature. Simple and easy, celebrate a new book encounter. So that’s what Saturday Book Share is about for me, celebrating books! Perhaps some days I’ll share the book with a short reading of a portion. Or perhaps other days I’ll just share a glimpse of the book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

