The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! Interesting to have enough time to read an advanced readers copy of a brilliant book. Finally finished an audiobook I’ve wanted to make time for quite a while. Plus went a little crazy with some Pete the Cat books…

This past week I celebrated:

The Circus Goes to Sea by Kate Klise and M. Sarah Klise

You Can’t Ride a Bicycle to the Moon! By Harriet Ziefert- pictures by Amanda Haley

A Little Book of Sloth by Lucy Cooke

The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer L. Holm – what a fascinating story this was. I didn’t expect to tackle the concept of the meaning of life. Nor think about how some choices can impact the future. Love that Jennifer brought me there. Loved sitting back, getting to know the characters, and watch the story unfold. I think I’ll be rereading this book quite soon. Just too brilliant to miss another read through. I want more as well…
My one highlight: “It should be perfectly obvious. I engineered a way to reverse senescence through cellular regeneration.” Goodreads Summary: “Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer.
Science can change the world . . . but can it go too far? Eleven-year-old Ellie has never liked change. She misses fifth grade. She misses her old best friend. She even misses her dearly departed goldfish. Then one day a strange boy shows up. He’s bossy. He’s cranky. And weirdly enough . . . he looks a lot like Ellie’s grandfather, a scientist who’s always been slightly obsessed with immortality. Could this pimply boy really be Grandpa Melvin? Has he finally found the secret to eternal youth?”

Bummer Summer by Ann M. Martin – I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. Really lovely angst from a girl dealing with her father finding a new love and her getting a stepmother and two step-siblings. Appreciate the camp interactions and activities that she dealt with as well. I had no idea that this actually was Ann’s first book written, before the Babysitters Club series. Loved the personal history that was shared at the end of the book about the author. Appreciate that it is getting republished. Goodreads Summary: “When twelve-year-old Kammy has difficulty accepting her new family after her father’s remarriage, a summer at Camp Arrowhead helps her to put her home life in perspective.”

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein – Audiobook – This is one of the toughest audiobooks I’ve listened to. Loved every minute. Appreciated the twists and turns, different perspectives, and how the story was resolved. Learned a little bit more about planes than I ever expected to. Fascinating all the way through. Goodreads Summary: “Oct. 11th, 1943-A British spy plane crashes in Nazi-occupied France. Its pilot and passenger are best friends. One of the girls has a chance at survival. The other has lost the game before it’s barely begun.
When “Verity” is arrested by the Gestapo, she’s sure she doesn’t stand a chance. As a secret agent captured in enemy territory, she’s living a spy’s worst nightmare. Her Nazi interrogators give her a simple choice: reveal her mission or face a grisly execution.
As she intricately weaves her confession, Verity uncovers her past, how she became friends with the pilot Maddie, and why she left Maddie in the wrecked fuselage of their plane. On each new scrap of paper, Verity battles for her life, confronting her views on courage, failure and her desperate hope to make it home. But will trading her secrets be enough to save her from the enemy?”

Pete the Cat Reading Bonanza – why do I feel that the charm is gone now that Eric Litwin is out of the picture? I appreciate the books still but didn’t really love reading them aloud…

Pete the Cat The Wheels on the Bus by James Dean – Yep, Pete the Cat and the Wheels on the Bus song… Goodreads Summary: “The kitties on the bus say,
“Come on, Pete!
Come on, Pete!”
The kitties on the bus say,
“Come on, Pete!
Hop on board!”
Pete the Cat can’t wait to drive the school bus all the way to school! Everyone’s favorite cat is groovier than ever in this way- cool adaptation of the classic kids’ song “The Wheels on the Bus”!”

Pete the Cat Valentine’s Day is Cool by Kimberly and James Dean – ok Valentines Day story to share. Goodreads Summary: “Pete the Cat thinks Valentine’s Day isn’t cool . . . until he realizes how many special cats there are in his life! Pete works hard to make valentines for everyone, and it turns out to be the grooviest Valentine’s Day ever. But what happens when he realizes he’s forgotten to make a card for a very important cat?”

Pete the Cat Old MacDonald Had a Farm by James Dean – Kiddo had to sing his way through this one… Goodreads Summary: “Join Pete as he visits a farm in this groovy version of the classic children’s song “Old MacDonald Had a Farm.” Children will love singing along—e-i-e-i-o!—with Pete the Cat.”

Pete the Cat and the First Thanksgiving by Kimberly and James Dean – Lift the Flap book- ok to bring children through the story of Thanksgiving. Goodreads Summary: “Join Pete in New York Times bestselling author James Dean’s Pete the Cat picture book series as Pete celebrates Thanksgiving in this groovy lift-the-flap book! Starring in the school Thanksgiving play would make even the coolest cat nervous. But when Pete the Cat gets onstage, he makes learning the story of the first Thanksgiving fun. With thirteen flaps that open to reveal hidden surprises, this book is sure to be a holiday favorite for every Pete the Cat fan.”

Pete the Cat Big Easter Adventure by Kimberly and James Dean – the Easter bunny gives Pete the Cat responsibilities… Goodreads Summary: “Join as Pete has a groovy Easter adventure. In this paper-over-board picture book, complete with poster, punch-out cards, and stickers, Pete helps out the Easter Bunny!”

Yeah. I’m not too excited. Shall see what I think of other ones… I did enjoy the early reader selections…

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

 

28 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. I definitely agree with you about the Pete the Cat books. The latest one about the New Guy seemed so lifeless to me!

  2. Pingback: Monday Reading: Hanukkah Bear, Latkes, Mooncakes, Eggs and Bee Bim Bop | Mum-Mum's the Word

  3. Alex Baugh (@RandomlyReading)
    September 8, 2014

    Not a big Pete fan, but loved The Fourteenth Goldfish and Code Name Verity (though I read the book, haven’t listened to the audiobook yet, but have it for a long trip someday). Bummer Summer looks like an interesting book from Ann Martin, I’ll have to look for it. Thanks for these and have a great week.

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 8, 2014

      Thanks… I was a HUGE fan of the first Pete the Cat book and felt quite deflated after this round of reading… Oh well. Happy reading to you.

  4. Kay McGriff (@kaymcgriff)
    September 8, 2014

    That’s a lot of Pete the Cat books! I loved both the print and audio of Code Name Verity. I am glad I read it before listening to it, though knowing what was coming made some parts even more difficult. I have got to get me hands on The Fourteenth Goldfish. I’ve been hearing such good things about it.

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 9, 2014

      It was a lot of Pete the Cat books! 🙂 I think if I’d read Code Name Verity first I might not have the guts to listen to it… Enjoy The Fourteenth Goldfish when you can get it! 🙂

  5. Linda Baie
    September 8, 2014

    I don’t care for the Pete The Cat books, but my granddaughters (5 & 3) like their silliness. I enjoyed The 14th Goldfish very much, and loved Code Name Verity, and then Rose Under Fire-special books. Thanks Debbie!

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 9, 2014

      Yes, the true test: do the kids like it? My son thought some would really like the song books, me? I’m past that stage/age with teaching, etc…
      Can’t wait to read Rose Under Fire, soon, soon. Happy reading!

  6. msyingling
    September 9, 2014

    The premise of The Fourteenth Goldfish seemed odd, but I ended up really liking it. I need to find a copy of Rose Under Fire to read.

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 9, 2014

      It took a little doing, stretching of the mind in order to really get into the book, loved how different it was. 🙂

  7. Adrienne Gear
    September 9, 2014

    I am with you on the Pete the Cat series – I adored the first book, enjoyed the second and third – then it was over-kill for me! The Fourteenth Goldfish sounds very interesting and one my son might also enjoy! Thanks, Debbie!

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 9, 2014

      Thanks… I honestly wonder if it was the partnership breaking apart that did in the series for me… Hope you find/like The Fourteenth Goldfish… happy reading to you! 🙂

  8. Myra GB
    September 9, 2014

    Oh wow, what a smorgasbord of Pete the Cat series! 🙂 Been reading so many positive reviews of The Fourteenth Goldfish – I really hope we purchase it soon and that I find it in our library this weekend (wishful thinking). 🙂

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 9, 2014

      The Fourteenth Goldfish was fascinating, hoping your library wishes come true!
      🙂

  9. Ricki Ginsberg
    September 10, 2014

    I really wanted to read The Fourteenth Goldfish, but my copy was archived the day after I was accepted on NetGalley. Based on your review, I will have to seek out a copy another way. Thank you for sharing this, and thank you for sharing those Oregan Adventure pictures on Sunday. They were beautiful!

  10. thelogonauts
    September 10, 2014

    Also really loved The Fourteenth Goldfish (reviewed it today) – you are right that it could generate some great discussions among students.

  11. Vinotea
    September 11, 2014

    My students cheer when I tell them we’re reading Pete the Cat that week!

  12. Pingback: Monday Reading: Shijimi Clams, Piece of Cake and Bucket of Blessings | Mum-Mum's the Word

  13. Tara Smith
    September 15, 2014

    Loved “Code Name Verity” and its sequel – and felt the same way as you about 14th. Goldfish. I need to find the Ann Martin book – I have a feeling that it will be a hit with my sixth graders.

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 19, 2014

      I thought it was cool to read Ann Martin’s book since it was her first… like a sneak peek at the writer she is… enjoyed it. 🙂

  14. janceewright
    September 16, 2014

    I loved The Fourteenth Goldfish. I was really pleasantly surprised, because I hadn’t read any of Holm’s other novels, but now I really want to. Code Name Verity was also great, and really emotional.

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 18, 2014

      The Fourteenth Goldfish was quite different but also the voice is beautiful as are her other novels…

  15. Megan
    September 16, 2014

    I really enjoyed Code Name Verity on audio as well. I agree it is a difficult story to hear. I found the companion book, Rose Under Fire, even more difficult. The descriptions of life in a the women’s camp….I really struggle with WWII/Holocaust books. Thanks for sharing! ~Megan
    http://wp.me/pzUn5-285

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 18, 2014

      Haven’t read Rose Under Fire yet, I also struggle with WWII / Holocaust books…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

