The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Hong Kong Update Y3Wk4 US Edition 4 Beverly Cleary and More

Family time plus more!

Official planning, got to catch up with so many wonderful people!

Official planning, got to catch up with so many wonderful people!

One bit of advice that a wonderful colleague gave me two years ago was to prearrange “meet-ups” when I go on holiday. I took this seriously. I posted on Facebook last Spring the specific days we were going to a local pub to meet up with friends and when I’d visit local bookstores, mostly Powell’s Books. This summer I did post events again but cut back on the amount of them. (Quality, not quantity!)  Friends, family, former students and parents from my old school randomly visited Powells books and McMenamins for the two events this week. Loved catching up with all who visited. Quite special.

Visiting Powells Books, I was so happy to find Found by Salina Yoon!

Visiting Powells Books, I was so happy to find Found by Salina Yoon!

Plus I added more to my book purchase pile, how I will bring these all back to Hong Kong, I’m not certain, yikes! Spending time with family this week was also a priority and I enjoyed every minute of it.
We had a week of wonderful time staying at my parents home. This was lovely for reading catch up time, teaching my mom technology time, my husband fixing random technology needs, and quality time for my whole family. It is so hard to be apart for 15 months and then cram in time together… sometimes I had to remind myself to just enjoy activities instead of worrying about whether we had enough time together.

IIntroduced my dad to Salt by Helen Frost, brilliant book. He'd seen her book Diamond Willow years before... Since he is a poet and loves reading history, I knew he would appreciate this book!

Introduced my dad to Salt by Helen Frost, brilliant book. He’d seen her book Diamond Willow years before… Since he is a poet and loves reading history, I knew he would appreciate this book!

Some of the adventures:

Catching up with librarian friends.

Catching up with librarian friends.

Thank you Jen!!!!

Thank you Jen!!!!

Loved the opportunity to chat with these special ladies!

Loved the opportunity to chat with these special ladies!

I headed over to see some of my favorite library friends for a lunch hosted by two close friends, Jen and Andrea. Just loved catching up with everyone, special time to hear about life in their world… It is always nice to sit back and listen to other’s perspectives.
I took special walks around my parent’s neighborhood, lovely area.
First time I walked around with my husband and son and we explored many areas and even found a secret hidden playground.


Then I took a long walk around the neighborhood with my sister. I love quality time with her. We saw some beautiful areas, enjoyed wandering around paths.

Visiting my parent's neighborhood with my sister this time...

Visiting my parent’s neighborhood with my sister this time…

We can take long walks...

We can take long walks…

That have beautiful viewing areas...

That have beautiful viewing areas…

Love those flowers...

Love those flowers…

 

Visiting Beverly Cleary's Neighborhood with Eric Kimmel.

Visiting Beverly Cleary’s Neighborhood with Eric Kimmel.

My mom, sister and I headed over to see Eric Kimmel talk about Beverly Cleary at The Mission Theater and Pub. Loved hearing his perspective on life in Portland, inspiration that Beverly Cleary had, and a few personal stories that he had the chance to hear when interviewing/walking around Portland with Beverly Cleary a few years before. I personally had reread (with my ears) most of her books recently since my son has been listening to audiobooks, so I was so thrilled to be popped back into Beverly Cleary’s overlapping fictional/realistic world. (Plus any time I can hear Eric Kimmel spin a tale, I’m thrilled. Has been too long since that is the case!)


Plus, of course, we ate… a lot. Wonderful food cooked by my talented mom, supported by my dad… and food out as well. Here’s a glimpse at the food:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And that’s it for the week!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider following my blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Styling Librarian

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

