The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #NFPB2014 The Beetle Book

Thanks to KidLitFrenzy for this meme! It has been a LONG LONG while since I decided to participate, I’ve shared some special non-fiction picture books on other days but haven’t felt like featuring anything in a long while…

So, I am part of a new committee and one of the books we agreed to have as part of a book selection list was The Beetle Book by Steve Jenkins.

 

I was shocked that we didn’t already have this book in the library collection, so I immediately ordered it and I’m so glad it is part of the list!
The Beetle Book by Steve Jenkins-  Brilliant book, front to back, even from a very anti-bug person. I found this book quite readable, just like all of Steve Jenkins’ books. My son thought the book was absolutely fantastic. Really fascinating facts about poisons, body parts, and so much more… I recently read and reviewed Steve Jenkins other newer book – The Animal Book by Steve Jenkins which mentioned The Beetle Book and teased with a few illustrations… Hope other school libraries have this in their insect collection! I’m happy that our missing link was included.

Goodreads Summary: “Beetles squeak and beetles glow.
Beetles stink, beetles sprint, beetles walk on water.
With legs, antennae, horns, beautiful shells, knobs, and other oddities—what’s not
to like about beetles?
The beetle world is vast: one out of every four living things on earth is a beetle.
There are over 350,000 different species named so far and scientists suspect there may
be as many as a million.
From the goliath beetle that weighs one fourth of a pound to the nine inch long
titan beetle, award-winning author-illustrator Steve Jenkins presents a fascinating array
of these intriguing insects and the many amazing adaptations they have made to
survive.”

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

3 comments on “Styling Librarian #NFPB2014 The Beetle Book

  1. Pingback: Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading? | The Styling Librarian

  2. Myra GB
    June 16, 2014

    Looks like Steve Jenkins is the go-to person for nonfiction titles. I really should get to know more of his works. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

