The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! This was a quieter reading week, I’m working on many projects presently, jumping around books and looking forward to having more time to read soon… I’m also mentally getting ready for the end of the school year, unlike many of my US friends, here in Hong Kong we work right through the end of June… then my family flies out to Oregon to visit for a month, oh boy! Looking forward to visiting some bookstores at home soon!!

Back to celebrating picture books:

Baby Brains The Smartest Baby in the Whole World and Baby Brains and Robomum by Simon JamesThe Smartest baby in the whole world –  what I love the most about these books? “I want my mummy!” Besides that, Simon James is darn brilliant. Love the illustrations and humor combination, he never fails to have that perfect balance. Goodreads Summary for Baby Brains: “Meet extraordinary Baby Brains. He reads the paper, mends the car and works as a doctor at the hospital. He’s so clever that some scientists ask him to go on their next space mission. And that’s when Baby Brains shows that in one way at least he’s like every other baby in the world – he wants his mummy!”
Goodreads Summary for Baby Brains and Robomum: “Kids will giggle and parents will smile (a bit sheepishly) as the world’s smartest tyke invents a robot that does the chores, and then some. Everyone knows that Baby Brains is the smartest baby in the universe. He’s certainly clever enough to see how tired Mom and Dad seem to get keeping house and looking after him. Then Baby Brains has a big idea. He puts his genius to work building RoboMom, who can cook, clean, and do the laundry. The new invention is a smashing success . . . until RoboMom takes on a few too many duties, and the family gets more help than they bargained for!”

The Doll People Set Sail

The Doll People, Book 4 The Doll People Set Sail by Ann M. Martin, illustrated by Brian Selznick – Release date – 10/14/2014 – Yes, I will share my thoughts on this book closer to the release date!! Goodreads Summary: “Annabelle Doll, Tiffany Funcraft, and their families are whisked out to sea when the Palmers accidentally place them in a box destined for charity donation. And it turns out they’re not alone-there are plenty of other doll people on the ship, too. After traveling thousands of miles, will they be able to find their way home? In the fourth installment in the beloved Doll People series, Brett Helquist joins Ann M. Martin and Laura Godwin on another exhilarating adventure from a doll’s-eye view.”

 

Currently reading:

The Children of the King by Sonya Hartnett– Taking my sweet time with this book, enjoying the language and character development. Can tell why it won Australia’s CBC Young Readers Book of the Year for 2013! Goodreads Summary: “Internationally acclaimed author Sonya Hartnett tells a hauntingly beautiful story set during World War II. Cecily and Jeremy have been sent to live with their uncle Peregrine in the English countryside, safe from the war, along with a young refugee named May. But when Cecily and May find two mysterious boys hiding in the ruins of a nearby castle, an extraordinary adventure begins.”

Be A Changemaker: How to start something that matters by Laurie Ann Thompson – Expected release: Sept. 9th, 2014 – enjoying this one, great non-fiction for middle school/high school. Goodreads Summary: “We’ve had the civil rights movement and the women’s movement—now it’s time for the youth movement.  When Divine Bradley was seventeen, he just wanted a safe place to hang out away from gangs and violence, and Team Revolution was born. At age eleven, Jessica Markowitz learned that girls in Rwanda are often not allowed to attend school, and Richard’s Rwanda took shape. During his sophomore year of high school, Zach Steinfeld put his love of baking to good use and started the Baking for Breast Cancer Club.
Gone are the days when kids were supposed to be “seen and not heard.” Today, youth everywhere are rising up, building new organizations, and creating the changes they want to see in their communities and around the world. Be a Changemaker gives readers the tools and confidence they need to affect real change. Readers will learn how to:
– Research ideas
– Build a strong and passionate team
– Create a business plan
– Enlist a savvy adult
– Plan events
– Work with the media
– And more!
Plus, profiles of youth-led social organizations show readers that it’s never too early to become a changemaker.”

Currently Listening to:
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – knee deep in this one, enjoying so far!! So many people recommended I decided it was a “must” for purchasing. Goodreads Summary: “A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.”

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

18 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. Definitely stop by Green Bean Books. Can’t wait to talk books in person!

  2. linda Baie (@LBaie)
    June 2, 2014

    Hope your final weeks are good & you have a great time coming to (I assume) visit family, Debbie. Thanks for the review of The Children of The King-sounds good. I’m just about to start We Were Liars!

    • The Styling Librarian
      June 2, 2014

      Thanks, 4 left! Can’t wait to visit family… miss them so much, haven’t seen them since April last year. Enjoy We Were Liars! The Chidren of the King was just fascinating.

  3. I definitely need to read We Were Liars. So many people are buzzing about that book.

  4. Leigh Anne
    June 2, 2014

    Be A Change Maker has got my attention. I am a doer and want to instill this in my own kids and my students. Will certainly look for that in Sept. I told my daughter about We Were Liars this weekend. She loves the TV series Pretty Little Liars and thought she might enjoy this book. Enjoy your trip back to the states!

    • The Styling Librarian
      June 2, 2014

      We Were Liars has been pretty fascinating to listen to… 4 weeks til we get back to Oregon, can’t wait! 🙂 Be A Change Maker is quite empowering and has some really good tips so far…

  5. Michele Knott
    June 3, 2014

    I have We Were Liars to read this summer! I’m anxious to start it after everything I’ve heard about it! Thanks for sharing the new Doll People story. I’ve been trying to get my 8 year old into that series and she hasn’t bit yet. Maybe knowing there’s a new one coming will get her started!

  6. Adding the Simon James books to my TBR–thank you for sharing!
    I was told at NCTE that We Were Liars was going to be a hit, and I guess they were telling the truth–it is everywhere!

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

  7. Ricki Ginsberg
    June 3, 2014

    BE A CHANGEMAKER sounds very, very good. I will be sure to stop by later to hear what you think about it. I am excited you are reading WE WERE LIARS! I am definitely in the crowd that loved it and agree that it is a must-purchase. I hope you have a terrific week!

  8. Myra GB
    June 3, 2014

    Oh my goodness. I own Books 1 and 2 of the doll people, I didn’t realize there’s a fourth book out soon! Oh wow. I have tos eriously catch up on my reading. Is it still Brian Selznick who is illustrating it? The book cover says otherwise (Helquist)? I’ve been reading a lot about We Were Liars – should put it in my to-read list.

  9. cheriee weichel
    June 4, 2014

    I’m looking for summer reading choices – I’ve got We Were Liars by E. Lockhart on it, but now I’ll have to see if I can get it from our library as an audiobook. I love to listen to books!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

