The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! I’m still reading loads of books lately, trying to conserve energy and relax, usually that translates to reading, lucky me! So, I’m not including everything I’ve read this week here… shall be portioned out a little… going to share a few special books on Saturdays!

The Julian Chapter

The Julian Chapter by R.J. Palacio – Realistic Fiction, 4th grade and up – short- Ok, this honestly was my #1 read of the week and I’ve enjoyed a load of books… It was such a special experience to return to the world of Wonder and experience the story through Julian’s eyes… Such a powerful turn, especially good for sharing with children who need to work on empathy, understanding different perspectives, and communication… Highly recommended. Oh, and if you haven’t read Wonder yet, please do. Seriously. Goodreads Summary: “Over 1 million people have read Wonder and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face. Now readers will have a chance to hear from the book’s most controversial character—Julian. 
From the very first day Auggie and Julian met in the pages of the #1 New York Times bestseller Wonder, it was clear they were never going to be friends, with Julian treating Auggie like he had the plague. And while Wonder told Auggie’s story through six different viewpoints, Julian’s perspective was never shared. Readers could only guess what he was thinking. 
Until now. The Julian Chapter will finally reveal the bully’s side of the story. Why is Julian so unkind to Auggie? And does he have a chance for redemption?”
“BE KIND, FOR EVERYONE YOU MEET IS FIGHTING A HARD BATTLE.” – isn’t that the truth… R.J. Palacio explains why she wrote the chapter here:

The Listening Walk by Paul Showers, illustrated by Aliki – Talk about the perfect reflective book combined with onomatopoeia sounds… Goodreads Summary: “Put on your socks and shoes — and don’t forget your ears!We’re going on a listening walk. Shhhhh. Do not talk. Do not hurry. Get ready to fill your ears with a world of wonderful and surprising sounds.”

Ball – words and pictures by Mary Sullivan – ball ball ball ball ball. Fabulous illustrations, great animal personality, lovely book. Goodreads Summary: “A dog with a ball is one of the most relentlessly hopeful creatures on Earth. After his best little-girl pal leaves for school, this dog hits up yoga mom, baby, and even the angry cat for a quick throw. No luck. Forced to go solo, the dog begins a hilarious one-sided game of fetch until naptime’s wild, ball-centric dream sequence. The pictures speak a thousand words in this comic book-style ode to canine monomania. Ball? Ball.”

The Voyage by Veronica Salinas, illustrated by Camilla Engman – Wow. What a different book. I loved the approach to change. The learning of a new language. Trying something new. Accepting that change will occur elsewhere once you’ve changed yourself. My one thing? Silly I know but I loved the hedgehog at the beginning of the story and wished to see it later in the book… but when you have a voyage, you leave some creatures behind… Goodreads Summary: “In this delightful picture book, a small duck finds himself in a place full of unusual creatures who speak an unfamiliar language. Eventually, he meets an animal whose big feet are just like his own. And with a friend by his side, he soon can feel at home. First published in Norway in 2012, this deceptively simple book about adapting to new situations will appeal to children who are just starting school or daycare, children who are about to move to a new home, or children who are learning a new language. The illustrations are gently humorous, while the simple text affirms the importance of knowing who you are and being open to change. Without making unrealistic promises, this story reassures children that, with time, they can adapt to any new environment and make new friends to explore it with. And if, as happens to the little duck in this story, those new friends have to leave, the child, like the little duck, will be able to greet the next wave of newcomers with compassion and generosity.”

Ophelia and the Marvellous Boy by Karen Foxlee – Fantasy, 4th grade and up – This is an Australian author! Just loved this fantasy, one of those books where I shushed my guys for a few minutes so I could completely concentrate and complete reading the book… I loved the idea of a little girl who didn’t believe in magic but was challenged. Touching book, the pacing was a little predictable and the conclusion was well done but expected. I don’t mind not being surprised by some books, when I love the language. This book was lovely. Highly recommended. Goodreads Summary: “Eleven-year-old Ophelia might not be brave, but she certainly is curious. Her family are still reeling from her mother’s death, and in a bid to cheer everyone up, her father has taken a job at a fantastically enormous and gothic museum in a city where it never stops snowing. Ophelia can’t wait to explore – and she quickly discovers an impossibility. In a forgotten room, down a very dark corridor, she finds a boy, who says he’s been imprisoned for three-hundred-and-three-years by an evil Snow Queen who has a clock that is ticking down towards the end of the world. 
A sensible girl like Ophelia doesn’t quite believe him, of course, but there’s no denying he needs her help. There are many other, darker, impossibilities in this museum too. Ghosts, wolves, Misery Birds, magical swords – and even fabled Snow Queens – will all do their very best to stop Ophelia and hurt her family. She will have to garner all her courage, strength and cleverness if she is to rescue this most Marvellous Boy – and maybe even save the world in the process.”

The Animal Book by Steve Jenkins – I never tire of Steve Jenkins brilliance. As I read this incredible collection, I realized that I would need to actually shift this book into the reference collection. I don’t really have too much of a reference collection anymore but this book is just so packed with fantastic information and it is just that weight that is a little too much for my students to carry… so I’m looking forward to celebrating the book by having it daily available in the library instead.
Steve packed this book with facts on anything he found fascinating, from life spans to existence to eggs to record breaking creatures, the information never stops! I can’t wait to have my students pouring over this book! Goodreads Summary: “Animals smooth and spiky, fast and slow, hop and waddle through the two hundred plus pages of the Caldecott Honor artist Steve Jenkins’s most impressive nonfiction offering yet. Sections such as “Animal Senses,” “Animal Extremes,” and “The Story of Life” burst with fascinating facts and infographics that will have trivia buffs breathlessly asking, “Do you know a termite queen can produce up to 30,000 eggs a day?” Jenkins’s color-rich cut- and torn-paper artwork is as strikingly vivid as ever. Rounding out this bountiful browsers’ almanac of more than three hundred animals is a discussion of the artist’s bookmaking process, an animal index, a glossary, and a bibliography. A bookshelf essential.”

Audiobook treasure:

Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok – High School and Up- Realistic Fiction – What an insteresting and touching story. So glad I had time for this book… So many unexpected twists and turns for a mother and daughter moving from Hong Kong to America, stuck under the thumb of an overbearing, jealous aunt running a clothing sweatshop… Such hardship hidden in plain sight. Really showed, once again, how true it is that you should treat all with kindness as you don’t know what they’re dealing with. Highly recommended, loved… I CANNOT WAIT to read Jean Kwok’s new book Mambo in Chinatown! Goodreads Summary: “When Kimberly Chang and her mother emigrate from Hong Kong to Brooklyn squalor, she quickly begins a secret double life: exceptional schoolgirl during the day, Chinatown sweatshop worker in the evenings. Disguising the more difficult truths of her life like the staggering degree of her poverty, the weight of her family’s future resting on her shoulders, or her secret love for a factory boy who shares none of her talent or ambition. Kimberly learns to constantly translate not just her language but herself back and forth between the worlds she straddles.
Through Kimberly’s story, author Jean Kwok, who also emigrated from Hong Kong as a young girl, brings to the page the lives of countless immigrants who are caught between the pressure to succeed in America, their duty to their family, and their own personal desires, exposing a world that we rarely hear about. 
Written in an indelible voice that dramatizes the tensions of an immigrant girl growing up between two cultures, surrounded by a language and world only half understood, Girl in Translation is an unforgettable and classic novel of an American immigrant-a moving tale of hardship and triumph, heartbreak and love, and all that gets lost in translation.”

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

23 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. I can’t wait to read that short story. And I just sold Ophelia today. Easy book to recommend!

  2. Holly Mueller
    May 19, 2014

    What a great batch of books! I, too, read and reviewed The Julian Chapter today. I was glad to read what you had to say about it.

  3. Tara Smith
    May 20, 2014

    I haven’t gotten to the Julain chapter – but now I simply have to. Glad that it was all you hoped it would be. I loved Ophelia, too – lovely story, and my students feel the same way.

  4. Adrienne Gear
    May 20, 2014

    This is the second post this week highlighting the Julian Chapter – so it’s going to the top of my pile! I have not read Ophelia yet but that’s also on my list! The Listening Walk is one of my favorites. I use it for practicing visualizing and also to teach the writing technique of using the senses. Steve Jenkins is my favorite nonfiction writer – this book is amazing! Thanks for all your recommendations this week!

    • The Styling Librarian
      May 21, 2014

      Wonderful- visualizing for The Listening Walk… Steve Jenkins and Nic Bishop- oh and Seymour Simon… challenging to choose between for favorite nonfiction writer. 🙂 Happy reading week to you!

  5. I absolutely adore Ball. I especially love that the cover says “WORD and pictures by Mary Sullivan.” That just makes me chuckle.

    Thanks for sharing the video on The Julian Chapter. I just added that to my book trailer board on Pinterest.

    • The Styling Librarian
      May 21, 2014

      Thank you. Thank you. Thank you Beth. I was so grateful for your point WORD. I’ve been pointing that out to students and teachers… 🙂 Makes me chuckle as well, grateful. Happy reading week to you. 🙂

  6. linda Baie (@LBaie)
    May 20, 2014

    I bought the Julian chapter, but still haven’t read it-will soon. Isn’t it great that Palacio is following her own advice, find the “other” story, or POV from everyone before judging? So happy, too, to see the Lost In Translation and then the new title-both sound good! I also love the idea of The Voyage, Debbie-will find that one, too! I loved Ophelia, very well done! Thank you!

    • The Styling Librarian
      May 21, 2014

      I agree, follow your own advice, love it… 🙂 Thanks so much for visiting, hope you have a wonderful reading week!

  7. Crystal
    May 20, 2014

    I’ve had Girl in Translation on my TBR list for ages. I need to make sure to read it for #bookaday this summer. Thanks for the reminder. I’m glad you mentioned The Listening Walk. I know one of our teams was looking for onomatopoeia and it’s nice to have another title to suggest.

    • The Styling Librarian
      May 21, 2014

      #bookaday doesn’t start for me until June 29th… but not a bad thing… Get enough holidays during the year to enjoy work timing. Glad an oldie but goodie works for you. Happy reading to you!

  8. carriegelson
    May 20, 2014

    I shared Ophelia today too. What a lovely book! The Animal Book by Steve Jenkins is one I am slowly reading it aloud to my children. So much to talk about. Adding Girl in Translation to the TBR list!

    • The Styling Librarian
      May 21, 2014

      I saw you enjoyed Ophelia too! 🙂 Love our timing… as usual… The Animal Book would be an absolutely fabulous read aloud to take your time with, love it! Happy reading to you.

  9. Myra GB
    May 20, 2014

    I am very excited to read Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy – for some reason my book cover shows two Ls, I wondered if that was a typo or really built into the story. 🙂 My 12 year old girl loved Wonder, so she was very excited to discover that there’s a sequel, will definitely try to find this one. Girl in Translation also sounds beautiful, you’ve read so many amazing books over the past week, how awesome!

    • The Styling Librarian
      May 21, 2014

      Yes, two ls in Ophelia and the Marvellous Boy, that’s how it is on my book as well, Australian spelling, right? It isn’t quite a sequel to Wonder, like an extra section that fits with the book…

  10. Ricki Ginsberg
    May 20, 2014

    WONDER is one of my favorite books. I was planning to skip THE JULIAN CHAPTER because I wanted to preserve my love for the first book. I was hesitant to ruin something so wonderful. After reading your review, I have changed my mind! Thank you, thank you. I will reserve this one at the library. 🙂

  11. Michele Knott
    May 24, 2014

    I loved loved loved Girl in Translation when I read it years ago. I’ve since purchased it for friends. I did not know there was a new book coming out!!! Thank you thank you! It’s on hold for me now 🙂 I was so busy this week I was not able to look at the IMWAYR posts. So glad I went back, you made my night!!

  12. Pingback: Styling Librarian #NFPB2014 The Beetle Book | The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

