The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! I had one of those odd weeks where there were a few days off so a little reading time and then three days of work that were hopping from 6am-11pm… so my reading fluxuated. I did enjoy numerous books, especially a few novels and brilliant picture books!

Picture Book Celebrations:

Locomotive by Brian Floca – my son found this book fascinating and immediately connected it to a project he was thinking about in Minecraft, you never know where a book will lead you! I loved the text, illustrations, everything… think I won’t read it aloud to classes but instead to select groups… Goodreads Summary: “The Caldecott Medal Winner, Sibert Honor Book, and New York Timesbestseller Locomotive is a rich and detailed sensory exploration of America’s early railroads, from the creator of the “stunning” (BooklistMoonshot.
It is the summer of 1869, and trains, crews, and family are traveling together, riding America’s brand-new transcontinental railroad. These pages come alive with the details of the trip and the sounds, speed, and strength of the mighty locomotives; the work that keeps them moving; and the thrill of travel from plains to mountain to ocean.
Come hear the hiss of the steam, feel the heat of the engine, watch the landscape race by. Come ride the rails, come cross the young country!”

The Noisy Paint Box by Barb Rosenstock, illustrated by Mary Grandpre – absolutely beautiful reflection on the colors and sounds that Kandinsky created. I loved the message about how some should prevent themselves from falling into patterns of life and jobs that they’re expected to do vs. following their dream and passion! Goodreads Summary: “In this exuberant celebration of creativity, Barb Rosenstock and Mary Grandpre tell the fascinating story of Vasily Kandinsky, one of the very first painters of abstract art. Throughout his life, Kandinsky experienced colors as sounds, and sounds and colors–and bold, groundbreaking works burst forth from his noisy paint box.”

Nino Wrestles the World by Yuyi Morales – I’ve been so curious about this book… loved it. Reminded me of Dinosaur versus the… books but loved the culture, illustrations, and humor thoughout. Well done book. NOW IF YOU REALLY WANT TO APPRECIATE THIS BOOK, WATCH THIS VIDEO!! Wow… so good to hear Yuyi Morales read her book, brings it to life! Goodreads Summary: “Señoras y Señores, put your hands together for the fantastic, spectacular, one of a kind . . . Niño!
Fwap! Slish! Bloop! Krunch! He takes down his competition in a single move!
No opponent is too big a challenge for the cunning skills of Niño—popsicle eater, toy lover, somersault expert, and world champion lucha libre competitor!”

A Mango-Shaped Space by Wendy Mass – Realistic Fiction, 4th grade and up –  LOVED THIS BOOK… a former student who knows me well emailed to tell me I just had to read it immediately… (Honestly was surprised I hadn’t read this one yet… thought I read all of Wendy’s books.)
So I couldn’t stop reading this fantastic treasure. So fascinating and loved the connections I was able to make to a picture book I mentioned above: Noisy Paint Box– amazing how the two connect with one another. I wish more students would read this book to appreciate life and differences we have to one another… This book fits well with my favorite realistic fiction characters with flaws book list… Goodreads Summary: “Mia Winchell appears to be a typical kid, but she’s keeping a big secret—sounds, numbers, and words have color for her. No one knows, and Mia wants to keep it that way. But when trouble at school finally forces Mia to reveal her secret, she must learn to accept herself and embrace her ability, called synesthesia, a mingling of the senses.”

Audiobook:

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell – Adult/High School – Realistic Fiction – I enjoyed finishing listening to Attachments but honestly feel like I would have enjoyed it more, especially the dialogue and golden hilarious lines, if I had read the book vs. listened to it. Special romantic story with an expected but wonderful ending. Made me want to watch Meg Ryan in You’ve Got Mail. (it is one of my favorite feel-good movies). Goodreads Summary: ““Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . ”  Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.
Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.
When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.
By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.
What would he say . . . ?”

Celebrating other posts connected to wonderful books this past week:

maggiemalone

Reviewed Maggie Malone and the Mostly Magical Boots.

Never Say a Mean Word Again

Celebrated the book release of Never Say A Mean Word Again by Jacqueline Jules in connection with an author interview with Jacqueline.

Unicorn Thief

Celebrated the book release of The Unicorn Thief by R.R. Russell with an accompanying author interview.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

15 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. A Mango-Shaped Space is the one Wendy Mass book I’ll probably read first. She’s highly recommended by customers and this one is lots of theirs favorites! (It’s getting late here and that last sentence was so clunky! Ha!)

  2. I loved The Noisy Paint Box. One of my favorite picture books this year so far.

  3. Anne
    May 12, 2014

    I want to read Attachments since I liked Rowells other books so much. Sounds like I’d better read A Mongo Shaped Space, too. I’ve had it in my library for years….

  4. linda Baie (@LBaie)
    May 13, 2014

    Definitely A Mango-Shaped Space & The Noisy Paint Box are a pair, Debbie. I had a student a few years ago who cried when he read A Mango-Shaped Space. Said that’s what he saw! I imagine some students will continue to love it. Thanks also for the Rowell review, I do love her books, & the Yuyi Morales video-very fun!

    • The Styling Librarian
      May 13, 2014

      🙂 How beautiful that a student can connect to a book like that, reminds me of stories that Cynthia Lord shares from readers in connection to Rules… Thanks for visiting… 🙂

  5. Michele Knott
    May 13, 2014

    Great books this week! I loved Locomotive! I really wanted to use it with our 4th graders this year – thought it would fit perfectly as they “travel” from coast to coast in their SS unit – but my grant did not get picked up 😦 I will have to put Mango on my summer reading list. I’m intrigued now! Have a great reading week!

  6. Myra GB
    May 13, 2014

    Rainbow Rowell is so wonderfully prolific, seems like I won’t be able to catch up to her writing. I’ve heard about this one though, thank you for sharing. A Mango Shaped Space sounds really interesting – and delectable too. That video by Yuyi Morales is so precious, thank you for sharing that one. I read Locomotive several weeks back and enjoyed it thoroughly. 🙂

    • The Styling Librarian
      May 13, 2014

      Thanks for visiting… 🙂 Loved how Yuyi presented her book… probably will use when I share with students…

  7. carriegelson
    May 13, 2014

    I shared Locomotive with my son as well and he found it so interesting. My daughter loved Mango Shaped Space – it is one I hope to get to this summer. LOVE Nino Wrestles the World. Thinking I need it for my classroom!

    • The Styling Librarian
      May 13, 2014

      🙂 Thanks for visiting… Think you’ll like Mango Shaped Space, bet your summer list is enormous! 🙂

  8. I adore Mango! I hadn’t read it before this year, but it’s definitely a new favorite.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,877 other followers

Styling Librarian

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

