The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! Silent shriek… yes. I had a huge pile of wonderful beautiful books waiting for me after the two week holiday break. I LOVE opening up book presents to see what I ordered! Thrilled with the balanced results this time. I was able to get a few books for my loom bracelet obsessed students, origami books for my folding fanatics, new novels and gorgeous picture  books including some award winners and more… I love exploring the new books as well! I’ll try to balance it out and not share them all this week though…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

First: Favorite read of the week:

The Adventures of Beekle, The Unimaginary Friend by Dan Santat – upon finishing this book, my son and I immediately reread it. We couldn’t get enough of the end papers, chatted about whether we preferred the hard cover or sleeve more for the design, talked about friendship, and chatted about imaginary friends. I loved finding a new book that once again leads me to talking about being brave and taking risks! Highly recommend hopping up, running to the store, and purchasing a copy of this treasure! Sure to become a classic! Goodreads Summary: “This magical story begins on an island far away where an imaginary friend is born. He patiently waits his turn to be chosen by a real child, but when he is overlooked time and again, he sets off on an incredible journey to the bustling city, where he finally meets his perfect match and-at long last-is given his special name: Beekle.”

Graphic Novel Fun:

Lunch Lady and the Schoolwide Scuffle by Jarrett J. Krosoczka – Graphic Novel, 3rd grade and up – THE FINALE!! LOVED how all the books came together in this final book, quite entertaining and humorous. Just a fantastic series. Can’t wait to pass this book to my rabid fans of Lunch Lady at school! Goodreads Summary: “Lunch Lady and Betty have been unceremoniously cut from the school budget, and the timing couldn’t be worse–the villains from all nine of her previous adventures are worming their way back into Thompson Brook with a masterfully devious plan. Will the Breakfast Bunch still be able to count on Lunch Lady’s superhero gadgets and abilities to save the school, or are they on their own? Don’t miss Lunch Lady’s swashbuckling finale!”

Chi’s Sweet Home Volume 10 by Konami Kanata – Graphic Novel, all ages. I just love the vibrant personality of Chi. Such a cute little cat and what a story! This time you follow Chi as he meets some kitten friends, learns what a “mom” is, and realizes he is a different species from his human family. Thought I’d include a little video that connects to the tv show for Chi:

The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli – WAY WAY WAY too cute. Love the art, love the simple text, and thrilled to add it into the collection. Goodreads Summary: “With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love.”


I’m presently in the middle of a fantastic Wendy Mass novel – A Mango-Shaped Space, LOVING THIS ONE… a former student who knows me well emailed to tell me I just had to read it immediately… (Honestly was surprised I hadn’t read this one yet… thought I read all of Wendy’s books.)


Also, I’m listening to Attachments by Rainbow Rowell. Ok, I admit, this one is hard to “get” at first when you’re listening since there’s loads of emails back and forth but now that I’m accustomed to the characters and style, I’m enjoying it… not as much as Eleanor and Park or Fangirl, but I’m enjoying it…

I’m in the midst of reading a few other books, one of those weeks where I’m picking up many but not quite finishing as much as I usually do… plus not sharing about all the absolutely fantastic newly arrived books yet… but soon!

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

24 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. Beekle is great. I just love how many great pictures books have been released so far this year. This and Sparky may be this year’s The Day the Crayons Quit- as in, the latter was our bestselling title in the store.

  2. David E.
    May 5, 2014

    I need BEEKLE.

  3. Tara Smith
    May 5, 2014

    A Mango Shaped Space is such a wonderful book – most of my students go on to do all kids of research about synesthesia after reading this, it’s a book that raises awareness so beautifully!

    • The Styling Librarian
      May 5, 2014

      I absolutely loved it, finished this AM… I bet there were many students dying to know more about synesthesia after reading!!

  4. Margie Culver
    May 5, 2014

    As always you have had a wonderful reading week. Beekle is definitely one of the year’s best books.

  5. Adrienne Gear
    May 5, 2014

    Hi Debbie! These are great titles! I have heard a few reviews about Beekle and am excited to read it! Lunch Lady looks hilarious! I’ve also seen A Mango Shaped Space but haven’t read it yet – so my TBR list has just grown a little longer! Have a great week!

  6. Holly Mueller
    May 6, 2014

    Beekle keeps showing up! I, too, need to get it. 🙂 I LOVE A Mango-Shaped Space, and I’ve recommended it to lots of students who all love it, too.

  7. I read Beekle last week too and oh my goodness did I ever love it! Even made tear up a bit.

  8. Ricki Ginsberg
    May 6, 2014

    Beekle looks so darling. I am glad that you and Beth enjoyed it! I will put it on my library list. Thank you for being honest about Attachments. I loved her other two books, so I have been very curious about this one. I will probably get it in paper form, now that you described the confusion with the audio book. I appreciate your advice!

    • The Styling Librarian
      May 6, 2014

      I’m still enjoying Attachments even though I think I should relisten to the beginning… Humorous, certainly recommend getting in paper form. 🙂

  9. linda Baie (@LBaie)
    May 6, 2014

    Okay-Beekle will have to be soon, Debbie! As for A Mango-Shaped Space: I had a student who cried when he read it, said he had not known that others saw colors when they read. And now there’s a new book called The Noisy Paint Box, where Kandinsky sees colors with music. Really interesting. Glad you are reading the Mass book. Thanks for the other titles too. I get caught with many titles in process too-this week I finished some! Thanks Debbie!

    • The Styling Librarian
      May 6, 2014

      🙂 Oh how touching Linda! I have The Noisy Paint Box- just read it the other day THEN read A Mango-Shaped Space, felt like they brilliantly fit together… 🙂

  10. Michele Knott
    May 6, 2014

    Beekle is definitely one of my favorites for the year! The artwork is amazing and the story touched my heart! I have not read A Mango-Shaped Space. Hmmm, maybe some summer reading?? And newly arrived books???? Oh the tease! Can’t wait to read about them!

    • The Styling Librarian
      May 6, 2014

      So much summer reading, right? 🙂 I love a little tease… but also just balancing how many books I celebrate a week…

  11. Myra GB
    May 6, 2014

    I wouldn’t have given a silent but a definitely-over-the-top-loud kind of shriek if I were in your place. So many amazing titles indeed! How lovely to be a librarian! I really hope Beekle finds me soon. My 12 year old girl loves Lunch Lady so I shall be on the lookout for this new one. Mango Shaped Space looks like a real-sensitive novel. I haven’t read any of Rainbow Rowell’s novels yet, hopefully this year. 🙂

  12. carriegelson
    May 7, 2014

    I love your photos of your books waiting for you! Such great titles. The Watermelon Seed really is adorable. I smiled the whole way through. I’m also a fan of Beekle. Great post!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,877 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

Top Posts & Pages

Bloglovin – Follow me here!

Follow on Bloglovin

Goodreads

