The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: Unicorn Thief: Review, Author Interview, Book Giveaway

Unicorn Thief

Book Review First: Unicorn Thief Thoughts: I enjoyed reading The Unicorn Thief – Series: Unicorns of the Mist #2 by R.R. Russell, can’t deny it, I’m a fantasy book reader, plus I just fall for books with unicorns, has not changed since I was a little one. When I agreed to read and review this book, I knew I’d be slightly frustrated since I was jumping in with book # 2 of the series but I accepted that and plowed ahead. Then I had those thoughts: what was going on in the first book?!… I think that was what went through my head multiple times throughout the beginning of this book read because I felt like I was missing bits of the characters and understandings over why they were at the part of their lives that they were experiencing and additionally there was much angst at the beginning of the book since it started with recovery from a war. (So I can’t wait to pick up book #1 soon, it is available in paperback!)

Lovely book of recovery for those who need one! I did become lost in the idea of this fantasy world that could be accessed through a special door/tree with a special keyholder. Additionally, I was quickly drawn in by the character’s dedication to commitment and caring for the unicorns. I enjoyed the dark plots, character twists, and adventure throughout this book. I do highly recommend reading the first book in the series first but I was able to get past my need for clarity and enjoy the book immensely.

I’d partner this book for readers who enjoyed Bruce Coville’s The Unicorn Chronicles, very different feel from both books but I know fans of one will appreciate the other.

Unicorn Thief Blog Tour

The Unicorn Thief

By R.R. Russell

Sourcebooks Jabberwocky: May 2014

ISBN: 978-1-4022-7992-8 Hardcover/$15.99

Ages 9-12  Grade 4-6

About the Book:

From the Publisher: Twig and Ben are unicorn riders – guardians whose job is to keep the last free unicorn herd safe. But a new danger is threatening the beautiful, mysterious creatures of Lonehorn Island. A thief from Terracornus, land of the Unicorns has snuck onto the misty island and stolen Ben’s loyal unicorn, Indy. There’s only one path for Ben and Twig – straight into the secret, shadowy heart of the island and through the passage to Terracornus.

But their rescue mission is unexpectedly complicated by a secret Ben has been hiding: A secret about the Queen of Terracornus, who has enslaved all the unicorns of Ben’s homeland. A secret that could save them all – or start a war.

In this action-oriented sequel to Wonder Light, R.R. Russell’s lyrical storytelling draws readers deeper into a beautiful and mysterious world where unicorns roam wild. Russell’s rich and innovative use of unicorn mythology is sure to captivate fantasy lovers of all ages.

RR Russell

About the Author:

R.R. Russell lives with her family in the Pacific Northwest. She grew up traveling the world as an army brat and now travels the country as a coach with a nonprofit judo club. She loves to read and draw, and like Twig, once spent a lot of time sketching unicorns. She is also the author of Wonder Light. Visit her website:
RRRussellauthor.com

Brief author interview:

Do you have a key writing tip for kids? Or adults?

Live a full life. It will enrich your writing and get you through the tough times in your writing life.

Was it challenging to shift from one land to the other while writing these books?

I actually enjoyed exploring who each of my characters would become—or continue to be—when they found themselves in such different settings, playing different roles.

Could you complete this sentence? The best advice I’ve received for my profession was….

Never compare your real life to someone else’s public image.

Unicorn Thief Release

Praise for Wonder Light:

“R. R. Russell’s Wonder Light dares to explore a world where unicorns are creatures of wonder and power, and girls can find both strength and courage to be themselves.” —Robin Hobb, international bestselling author of the Farseer and Tawny Man trilogies

“In this atmospheric debut, the unassuming and subtle fantasy elements take a backseat to Twig’s growing faith in herself and trust in others. The combination of horses, unicorns, and an offbeat girl is a winning one.” —Booklist

“Fast paced with intriguing insights into Twig’s struggles, this is a good story for young teens. Reluctant readers will be intrigued and become involved. Recommended.” —Library Media Connection

Writing as R.R. Russell for kids and R.H. Russell for teens and adults
Unicorns of the Mist Series     The Venture Books
Website
Facebook
Twitter
rrrussellauthor@yahoo.com

If you wish to read other author interviews, please visit this page: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/authors-celebrated/

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

One comment on “Styling Librarian: Unicorn Thief: Review, Author Interview, Book Giveaway

  1. Pingback: Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading? | The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Styling Librarian

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

