The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Tech Update: Instagram

View before hurricane hit area... was much darker, felt like nighttime at 9:30am.

View before hurricane hit area… was much darker, felt like nighttime at 9:30am.

Oh the possibilities of Instagram… I love stealing time to try out new things, especially having enough time to add a new program to my everyday life. Now sometimes other applications need to fall by the wayside and then other times the application turns out to naturally integrate into routines and lighten the load on others…

Instagram turned out to lighten my load…

I knew Instagram would probably fit my style but I was tentative about jumping into a new app, quite protective of my time online. So months ago my talented teacher librarian friend Dianne @dimac4 mentioned how much she appreciated Instagram on her blog, I took her post seriously.
http://librarygrits.blogspot.hk/2013/07/instagramming.html

I first thought, “I’m not a talented photographer and I have no time for another program.” Then three weeks ago, I thought, “WHY NOT”. So I jumped in. I was just recovering from a surgery so I was moving around slowly and able to take my time on not so crowded Hong Kong streets, this allowed me to look at new things… I clicked here and there. I set up my account: “stylinglibrarian” – http://instagram.com/stylinglibrarian

IMG_2394

Helpers Rights, articles collected, eyelashes top= negative messages, bottom = supportive/caring voice

Helpers Rights, articles collected, eyelashes top= negative messages, bottom = supportive/caring voice

Now, Dianne is talented. She is additionally quite savvy about hashtags and networking with others. Presently, I’m just beginning but appreciating another outlet. What I appreciate most is being able to post images simultaneously to Twitter and Facebook when I’m posting on Instagram. This application is almost as useful for sharing pictures as it is to use Hootsuite to schedule posts on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, etc. Additionally, I appreciate being able to tweak and edit my images in other apps like Pic Stitch before I share on Instagram. Lovely option.

Cool, right?

Now, when I joined Instagram, I decided to follow all my talented friends on Facebook automatically. This was useful but I wanted to follow others like authors, publishers, etc. I went on a search for lists of Instagram quality posters and came across two that were useful:

http://www.epicreads.com/blog/19-young-adult-authors-to-follow-on-instagram/

http://bookriot.com/2013/12/12/ten-authors-publishers-follow-instagram-2/

While I was noodling around online I came across an interesting idea-

Pacman in old neighborhood.

Pacman in old neighborhood.

Visual Storytelling Instagram article:

http://randomnotes.randomhouse.com/visual-storytelling-instagram/

Another stage to using Instagram.

Inspired.

So, thrilled to add another bit of technology to my repetoire, especially since it helps rather than hinders. Going on a huge Asia adventure in a week will lead to many pictures shared, hope my followers/friends don’t mind! Again, my account info: “stylinglibrarian” – http://instagram.com/stylinglibrarian

If you enjoyed this post, please consider following my blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

2 comments on “Styling Librarian Tech Update: Instagram

  1. Pingback: Styling Librarian #technology My Blogging Secrets | The Styling Librarian

  2. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Technology Share Brain Breaks | The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 11, 2014 by in Online Resources, School Librarian Resources, Web Resources and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

