The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: Saturday Book Share Brave Heart Hope

”Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share”.
Here’s to celebrating books that strike my fancy every week! I am continuing a focus on some new picture books I’m thrilled to celebrate!

The Girl with a Brave Heart – A Tale from Tehran by Rita Jahanforuz & Vali Mintzi – I love folktales. I am especially fond of reading aloud a picture book called The Talking Eggs by Robert D. San Souci, illustrated by Jerry Pinkney. This book, The Girl with a Brave Heart, is a counterpart to that story. Where The Talking Eggs was set in Louisiana, The Girl with a Brave Heart was set in Tehran. Interesting personality change with the mom and step-sister in The Girl with a Brave Heart from living happily to the father passing and poor treatment quickly afterwards, too drastic for me in this story in comparison to The Talking Eggs but the rest of the story is quite beautiful with similar connected story elements and lessons. Listen to what a person’s heart wishes vs. what they actually request, interesting lesson with this book. Nice cultural connections and can connect with world awareness.

IMG_1898

Goodreads Summary: “After showing kindness to a strange old woman, Shiraz receives the gift of beauty but her lazy and unkind stepsister, Nargues, suffers a less pleasant fate in this adaptation of the Grimm’s fairy tale, Mother Hulda, reset in Tehran, Iran.”

IMG_1899

About Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share: I’ve had many books I review that I just want to feature. Simple and easy, celebrate a new book encounter. So that’s what Saturday Book Share is about for me, celebrating books! Perhaps some days I’ll share the book with a short reading of a portion. Or perhaps other days I’ll just share a glimpse of the book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,865 other subscribers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons