The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! I had the bonus of a little reading time but had a hard time managing that and shows I wanted to watch while I was recovering from two surgeries… I’m doing well and returning to work now but didn’t get through as many books as I expected. It was lovely to read some new picture advanced-readers-copy books recently plus I was able to share a few special reviews this past week as well…

LOVED this book:

Mountain Dog by Margarita Engle, illustrated by Olga & Aleksey Ivanov – Novel in verse, animal fiction – 4th grade and up – Absolutely loved reading this book. Sat on my side table TBR list because I knew I would eat this book up and then feel a loss afterwards… Love the switch of voices- first Tony with words in verse, then the next chapter is Gabe, the search-and-rescue dog who shares his thoughts… so gorgeous. The upsetting past that Tony has is quite haunting but so accepting. One of my favorite Margarita Engle books… who am I kidding, I love ALL of her books! But really enjoyed this switch from Historical Fiction to Animal Fiction, shows her versatility! Goodreads Summary: “When Tony’s mother is sent to jail, he is sent to stay with a great uncle he has never met in Sierra Nevada. It is a daunting move—Tony’s new world bears no semblance to his previous one. But slowly, against a remote and remarkable backdrop, the scars from Tony’s troubled past begin to heal.
With his Tió and a search-and-rescue dog named Gabe by his side, he learns how to track wild animals, is welcomed to the Cowboy Church, and makes new friends at the Mountain School. Most importantly though, it is through Gabe that Tony discovers unconditional love for the first time, in Mountain Dog by Margarita Engle.”

Early Chapter Book:
Mystery Mob and the Haunted Attic and Mystery Mob and the Day of the Dinosaurs by Roger Hurn –
2nd grade and up, Mystery – Interesting series. Was shared in a librarian meeting earlier this year. Happy I investigated. Great read aloud, especially for partner reading. I can see some students really enjoying a buddy reading experience with this one. Quite a humorous book!

Gorgeous new picture books:

mermaidshoeThe Mermaid and the Shoe by K.G. Campbell – April 1st release date – Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous picture book. Favorite this year. I loved reading about how a little mermaid discovering this one unknown object and goes on a fantastic adventure to discover what the object is for… There were multiple layers that worked naturally together in the story, start to finish, beautiful. Goodreads Summary: “Each of King Neptune’s 50 mermaid daughters boasts a special talent, except for little Minnow, who seems to be good only at asking questions. When she finds a strange object, Minnow follows her questions to a wondrous place and finds answers, including the answer to the most important question of all: Who am I? A gorgeously illustrated story about finding one’s purpose.”
mermaidshoe2

mostmagnifthingThe Most Magnificent Thing by Ashley Spires – April 1st release date – Touching picture book about a little girl who had an incredible invention in her mind but she had a challenging time creating that invention. A little hope, perseverance, and faith after a little meltdown provides inspiration for the most magnificent thing creation! Perfect partner book with Rosie Revere, Engineer by Andrea Beaty, illustrated by David Roberts.  Goodreads Summary: “A little girl and her canine assistant set out to make the most magnificent thing. But after much hard work, the end result is not what the girl had in mind. Frustrated, she quits. Her assistant suggests a long walk, and as they walk, it slowly becomes clear what the girl needs to do to succeed. A charming story that will give kids the most magnificent thing: perspective!”

notmygirlNot My Girl by Christy Jordan-Fenton and Margaret Pokiak-Fenton, illustrated by Gabrielle Grimard – The premise is so touching… a little girl returned from some unnamed boarding school after two year to her home in the Arctic and her mother immediately said, “Not My Girl”. What a painful way to come home. Her father helped her discover what makes her special in the community. Gorgeous illustrations accompany this touching story.  Goodreads Summary: “”Margaret can’t wait to see her family, but her homecoming is not what she expected.” Two years ago, Margaret left her Arctic home for the outsiders’ school. Now she has returned and can barely contain her excitement as she rushes towards her waiting family — but her mother stands still as a stone. This strange, skinny child, with her hair cropped short, can’t be her daughter. “Not my girl!” she says angrily.
Margaret’s years at school have changed her. Now ten years old, she has forgotten her language and the skills to hunt and fish. She can’t even stomach her mother’s food. Her only comfort is in the books she learned to read at school.
Gradually, Margaret relearns the words and ways of her people. With time, she earns her father’s trust enough to be given a dogsled of her own. As her family watches with pride, Margaret knows she has found her place once more.
Based on the true story of Margaret Pokiak-Fenton, and complemented by evocative illustrations, “Not My Girl” makes the original, award-winning memoir, “A Stranger at Home,” accessible to younger children. It is also a sequel to the picture book “When I Was Eight.” A poignant story of a determined young girl’s struggle to belong, it will both move and inspire readers everywhere.”
notmygirlpic2rdg

 

100 Hungry Monkeys

100 Hungry Monkeys! by Masayuki Sebe – Interesting little searching and counting book packed with activity following 100 monkeys who have fun playing, eating, and sleeping. Quite entertaining.  Goodreads Summary: “One hundred monkeys are hunting for food in this colorful counting book, but something else — something big and scary — is hungry, too! Young readers will find page-turning action on every page — and more than 100 reasons to take a second look.”

Excited to get back to this new Blue Peter Book Award Winner:
Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell – Goodreads Summary: “Everyone thinks that Sophie is an orphan. True, there were no other recorded female survivors from the shipwreck which left baby Sophie floating in the English Channel in a cello case, but Sophie remembers seeing her mother wave for help. Her guardian tells her it is almost impossible that her mother is still alive, but that means still possible. You should never ignore a possible. So when the Welfare Agency writes to her guardian threatening to send Sophie to an orphanage, she takes matters into her own hands and flees to Paris to look for her mother, starting with the only clue she has – the address of the cello maker. Evading the French authorities, she meets Matteo and his network of rooftoppers – urchins who live in the sky. Together they scour the city for Sophie’s mother before she is caught and sent back to London, and most importantly before she loses hope.”

Also finished reading: 

The Ninja Librarians by Jen Swann Downey – Enjoyed reading/finishing this book- special posts coming to promote this book in the next month! Goodreads Summary: “Just a little story about your average sword-swinging, karate-chopping, crime-fighting ninja librarians. Dorrie Barnes had no idea an overdue library book would change her life. When Dorrie and her brother Marcus chase her pet mongoose into the janitor’s closet of their local library, they accidentally fall through a passage into Petrarch’s Library -the headquarters of a secret society of ninja librarians who have an important mission: protect those whose words have gotten them into trouble. Anywhere in the world and at any time in history.
Dorrie would love nothing more than to join the society. But when a traitor surfaces, she and her friends are the prime suspects. Can they clear their names before the only passage back to the twenty-first century closes forever?”

Past week reviews:

Peter Panda Melts Down!

Peter Panda Melts Down!

Operation Mom

The Summer of Letting Go by Gae Polisner

Continuing to listen to: (timing isn’t working as well with audiobooks presently, can’t wait to refocus on this book) 

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt – Adult Book *think it could also fit in the HS YA collection- enjoying, it is quite LONG!… Goodreads Summary: “A young boy in New York City, Theo Decker, miraculously survives an accident that takes the life of his mother. Alone and determined to avoid being taken in by the city as an orphan, Theo scrambles between nights in friends’ apartments and on the city streets. He becomes entranced by the one thing that reminds him of his mother, a small, mysteriously captivating painting that soon draws Theo into the art underworld.”
Interesting report:

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

15 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. lenorelook
    March 24, 2014

    Thanks for all these recommendations. I’m particularly interested in the three picture books with girl protagonists — must-reads for me! It took me three months to read The Goldfinch, then as soon as I finished, I started it from the beginning again. It’s THAT good! Can’t stop talking about it!!!

  2. All the picture books you mentioned look great. I’ve been impressed by the interesting picture books that have been coming out recently.

  3. Colby Sharp
    March 24, 2014

    The mermaid book looks amazing!

  4. Michele Knott
    March 24, 2014

    I have The Mermaid and The Most Mag. Thing coming in the mail this week! I can’t wait to get my hands on them! The Ninja Librarians looks great. Can’t wait to hear more about it! Thanks for sharing these great titles!

  5. carriegelson
    March 24, 2014

    I just marked Rooftoppers to read after reading your review. Looks lovely. Thank you! I am very excited to read The Mermaid and the Shoe – I have the feeling it is one I am going to want to own. Just the cover . . .

  6. linda Baie (@LBaie)
    March 24, 2014

    I have the Mermaid book from NetGalley-need to get to it. Also, Margarita Engle’s book. Silver People is on its way! Thanks for another view of The Rooftoppers. It does sound good! Good luck with The Goldfinch. If I ever read it, it won’t be soon. My daughter has read it twice! Thanks, Debbie, for all!

  7. Julee Murphy
    March 24, 2014

    I just received The Most Magical Think in my Jr. Library Guild shipment. I forgot I read it this week. I liked it. Great book to use to explain the problem solving process. I liked how some people liked her inventions that she had rejected as not being the most magnificent thing. To them it was magnificent. This was a good teaching point. .

  8. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)
    March 25, 2014

    Want to read The Mermaid and the Shoe (I’m always trying to find good early chapter books to expand my horizons) and any book with a cello player in it goes right to my heart (so Rooftoppers is now on my TBR; I played cello).
    The other books looked very good as well 🙂

    Happy reading this week!

  9. Ricki Ginsberg
    March 25, 2014

    I love monkeys, so I was excited to see the 100 Hungry Monkeys picture book. Thank you for sharing! It seems like you had a great reading week. I hope next week proves to be just as fruitful!

  10. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)
    March 25, 2014

    I loved THE MOST MAGNIFICENT THING. One of my favorite picture books so far this year. Such a great message.

  11. Myra GB
    March 26, 2014

    I just bought The Goldfinch this weekend. I have a feeling this is one novel that would keep me turning the pages til the wee hours of the morning, and I’m very excited to get into it. Great to see new picturebooks here, particularly The Mermaid and “Not my Girl” – the last one, I think would be a powerful read. I’ve read a lot about The Summer of Letting Go, looking forward to reading your thoughts about it. Have a great reading week.

    • The Styling Librarian
      March 27, 2014

      Not My Girl was quite powerful… I posted about The Summer of Letting Go- linked to the title under the image. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

