The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! This is a quiet week of reading… Enjoyed a few books and prewriting this as we are moving to a new apartment and a few other distractions are coming soon. Many lovely books on the horizon. What have you been enjoying lately?
.

.

YA Novel I was lost in this week:

The Black Butterfly by Shirley Reva Vernick – YA – Really enjoyed this novel, review coming soon. Goodreads Summary: “Penny is furious, and who can blame her? She has to spend Christmas break alone at the Black Butterfly, an old inn at the coldest, bleakest edge of America—the coast of Maine. This “vacation” is the brainchild of Penny’s flaky mother, who’s on the other side of the country hunting ghosts. Penny most definitely does not believe in spirits. Or love. Or family. Until, that is, she discovers two very real apparitions which only she can see… and meets George, the handsome son of the inn’s owner… and crashes into some staggering family secrets. If only Ghost Girl didn’t want Penny dead. If only George were the tiniest bit open to believing. If only she could tell her mother. Then maybe this could still be a vacation. But it’s not. It’s a race for her life, her first love, and her sanity.”

Picture Book Fun:

Hunwick’s Egg by Mem Fox – PreK and up! – such a thoughtful, beautiful book… good to partner with other “egg” stories… Goodreads Summary: “When a mysterious egg appears outside Hunwick’s burrow after a terrible storm, no one knows what to do with it. And when it doesn’t hatch right away, everyone is even more bewildered. Everyone, that is, but Hunwick. For Hunwick understands the egg. It is his friend. And he is the only one who knows its secret.”

The Wishing Tree by Roseanne Thong, illustrated by Connie McLennan – 2nd grade and up – Guess where I want to go? This is set in Hong Kong about a Wishing Tree family tradition! Going to visit soon. If you could make a wish, what would it be? This is a beautiful picture book celebrating tradition, culture, and family. I appreciate how forgiveness and appreciation pop up within the book as well. Goodreads Summary: “Every New Year, Ming and his grandmother visit the Wishing Tree, and every year his wish comes true– until he makes his most important wish of all.”

diggerDigger! written and illustrated by Liz Million – PreK and up! – Read this aloud to numerous classes since Liz just visited school, quite an exciting, entertaining, and fun… post about Liz Million is coming soon.

.

.

Presently listening to: 

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt – Adult – Still lost in this one… Goodreads Summary: “A young boy in New York City, Theo Decker, miraculously survives an accident that takes the life of his mother. Alone and determined to avoid being taken in by the city as an orphan, Theo scrambles between nights in friends’ apartments and on the city streets. He becomes entranced by the one thing that reminds him of his mother, a small, mysteriously captivating painting that soon draws Theo into the art underworld.”
Interesting report:

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

17 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. HEY!!! The Goldfinch isnt a kids book; you snuck that in there, sneaky!!

    • The Styling Librarian
      March 10, 2014

      Usually I label better… I do sneak in my mix of books each time… Picture book thru adult… 🙂

  2. lenorelook
    March 10, 2014

    Just finished The Goldfinch last week. LOOOOOVED it!!! Can’t stop thinking about it. Told from the POV of an adult looking back to the time he was 13. Heartbreaking. Suspenseful. Lots of art history. Lots of Dostoyevskian suffering/struggling with the self. Such a smart, smart novel. Completely captivated me from beginning to end. As soon as I put it down, I wanted to start it over again. It was that good!

    • The Styling Librarian
      March 10, 2014

      I think I’m 1/8 of the way in, fascinating. Upsetting/sad…

      • lenorelook
        March 10, 2014

        Keep going 🙂 I went to see Fabritius’s goldfinch when it visited the Frick last fall. It definitely lent an insider’s perspective to the book. It’s an adult book that young adults would enjoy.

  3. The Wishing Tree sounds interesting. I actually visited a wishing tree here in Portland someone set up in front of their house. I loved it! I really need to read The Goldfinch. Have a great reading week! -Earl!

  4. linda Baie (@LBaie)
    March 10, 2014

    Thanks for the picture books, especially The Wishing Tree and Hunwick’s egg-both look good! And I’ll find The Black Butterfly-really sounds intriguing! The Goldfinch will be read sometime-so many are raving about it!

    • The Styling Librarian
      March 10, 2014

      Thanks for visiting, glad I had a few interesting ones to share! 🙂 Happy reading week to you!

  5. carriegelson
    March 10, 2014

    I am so thrilled to see Hunwick’s Egg here – one of my all time favourite titles! How I adore this little book.

    • The Styling Librarian
      March 10, 2014

      It is precious. Couldn’t believe I didn’t have a copy of it in the library! Happy I added it… 🙂

  6. Angie aka Ms. O
    March 11, 2014

    Oh, that Goldfinch one looks good. And the Black Butterfly. I must use my time more wisely … there are so many great books to read!

    • The Styling Librarian
      March 11, 2014

      I agree, I’m careful most of the time with my commitments, get so overwhelmed otherwise! 🙂

  7. Myra GB
    March 11, 2014

    I’ve been reading quite a number of Mem Fox picture books lately, glad to see another one here. I’ve been meaning to borrow Goldfinch from our library but ALL of the titles are either loaned or reserved. It looks like it’s bound to win quite a number of awards next year. Have a great reading week!

  8. Adrienne Gear
    March 11, 2014

    I have GOLDFINCH sitting on my bedside table – a Christmas gift I have yet to start.Hope to get at it during spring break! I’ve heard so many great things about it! I love art so looking forward to it! The Wishing Tree looks great and I love everything Mem Fox writes! Have a great week!

    • The Styling Librarian
      March 11, 2014

      Spring Break is a key time for me too… shall see what I get to since we’re probably going to be travelling by night train on another adventure. 🙂 Hope you have a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

