The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: Saturday Book Share- Thinking Outside the Square

”Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share”.

Saturday Book Share

IMG_1107

IMG_1105Here’s to celebrating books that strike my fancy every week! Last week I shared about a book recommendation that generated a list of wonderful books… every week has warmed my heart. This week is no exception. I am beginning a focus on some new picture books I’m thrilled to celebrate!

So, let’s celebrate a combined non-fiction and early chapter book series today, shall we? I’ve recently become a huge fan of Anna Branford. I read Violet Mackerel’s Brilliant Plot; Violet Mackerel’s Remarkable Recovery; How to Make Small Things with Violet Mackerel – by Anna Branford – Early Chapter Books – after I read another book from the Violet Mackerel series and I was simply enchanted with the beautiful philosophy and life experiences that Violet’s character has from needing to get her tonsils removed and making a special friend in the waiting room to how when Violet thinks she has a perfect plot on how to get an object it goes a little haywire. Violet is a character that reminded me that little things can be very special, you can slow down and make friends with certain people, and a single parent home should be naturally introduced in more novels. I highly recommend this series for students who love ClementineAmber Brown, and Harriet Bean. I’ve shared favorite early chapter books in the past here:

http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/05/26/styling-librarian-top-15-recommendations-for-early-chapter-books-and-audiobooks/

and I find that I’m drawn to the quieter, thoughtful, sensitive characters quite often. Perhaps it is because I know some of my students need to slow down and appreciate the world around them and experience an innocent, thoughtful character who isn’t causing mayhem or being rude. I enjoy the mayhem/rude books here and there but it is all about having a good balance. Violet Mackerel is a beautiful series that I know many students will enjoy.

I additionally purchased the craft book How to Make Small Things with Violet Mackerel and it is one of those books where it suggests practical, fun projects and then suggests you ‘think outside the square’ and lists other subsidiary projects you could do if you don’t have some of the materials listed. Can’t wait for my students to borrow the series and this craft book as well!

Goodreads Summaries:

For Violet Mackerel’s Brilliant Plot: “Violet Mackerel thinks she would QUITE LIKE to own the blue china bird at the Saturday markets. This is not just a SILLY WISH. It is instead the start of a VERY IMPORTANT idea. But what she needs is a PLOT. A BRILLIANT plot. Introducing readers to a new warm and loveable character, Violet Mackerel’s Brilliant Plot is a story not to be missed.”

For Violet Mackerel’s Remarkable Recovery: “Join Violet Mackerel for another warm story as she discovers The Theory of Giving Small Things. VIOLET MACKEREL has to have her tonsils out. Violet does NOT think this is a good idea. She prefers NOT to have things taken out. But the tonsils have to go. And that’s okay, because maybe Violet will make the most REMARKABLE RECOVERY ever.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The next book I’m ordering: Violet Mackerel’s Personal Space:

About Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share: I’ve had many books I review that I just want to feature. Simple and easy, celebrate a new book encounter. So that’s what Saturday Book Share is about for me, celebrating books! Perhaps some days I’ll share the book with a short reading of a portion. Or perhaps other days I’ll just share a glimpse of the book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post). I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.
FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

Bloglovin – Follow me here!

Follow on Bloglovin

Goodreads

