The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Saturday Book Share: Running Away, does it solve anything?

”Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share”.

Saturday Book ShareYES, FINALLY, A NOVEL! And a beautiful surprising, heartwarming, frightening, touching, magical, story it is…

IMG_0668

This week I decided to share:

Noah Barleywater Runs Away by John Boyne, illustrated by Oliver Jeffers.

I’ve read this book TWICE. First time, I listened to it. Good audiobook but not quite for me. I very much preferred reading the book and digesting simultaneously the illustrations, created by Oliver Jeffers!, accompanying the text. This book has stories within stories embedded with stories all taking place on one day. Quite a magical story with a little boy who thinkings picking a few apples off a tree is not a terrible thing but learns quickly that his actions have consequences… And that’s just the beginning. But there are deep rooted, heart-wrenching emotions and situations within this book that will catch you up and upset you… I would partner this book with Oliver Jeffers’ picture book The Heart and the Bottle. Both have touching, beautiful themes.

What a powerful, unexpected book. It certainly packs a punch. I enjoyed the deeper context, the thoughtful characters, the storytelling aspect, and especially the fairy tale connections. I do recommend this book for older children who won’t be upset by a death somewhere within the book.

Quick, good booktalk:

If you make the time, you’ll probably enjoy this chat that John Boyne has about his inspiration behind the book, plus thoughts of another children’s book of his:

Goodreads Summary: “In Noah Barleywater Runs Away, bestselling author John Boyne explores the world of childhood and the adventures that we can all have there. Noah is running away from his problems, or at least that’s what he thinks, the day he takes the untrodden path through the forest. When he comes across a very unusual toyshop and meets the even more unusual toymaker he’s not sure what to expect. But the toymaker has a story to tell, a story full of adventure, and wonder and broken promises. And Noah travels with him on a journey that will change his life for ever. A thought-provoking fable for our modern world from the author of the bestselling and critically acclaimed Boy in the Striped Pyjamas.”

If you want to know about The Heart and The Bottle by Oliver Jeffers, here it is:

About Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share: I’ve had many books I review that I just want to feature. Simple and easy, celebrate a new book encounter. So that’s what Saturday Book Share is about for me, celebrating books! Perhaps some days I’ll share the book with a short reading of a portion. Or perhaps other days I’ll just share a glimpse of the book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post). I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.
FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

2 comments on “Styling Librarian Saturday Book Share: Running Away, does it solve anything?

  1. lenorelook
    February 15, 2014

    Sounds like a great book. TWICE read is a big endorsement, so I’d better get it. Love the photo of you holding the book 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

Bloglovin – Follow me here!

Follow on Bloglovin

Goodreads

