The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian- #WhateverWednesday Top Ten YouTube Channels #QuietLibrary

Today’s focus: Top Ten YouTube Channels: Secret Sharing – It is fun to reflect on one thing each week that really catches my attention, entertains me, and is special enough I just have to share it with the world.


Here’s my Whatever Wednesday Randomness:  

I was sitting and thinking about how I share my favorite resources (mostly videos) every week… One friend asked me where I find the videos I share each week… Sometimes I’ve prewritten my #WhateverWednesday posts, sometimes my mom or sister have sent me something fascinating, most of the time I find them on Facebook through brilliant friends, like this fantastic video that my friend Erin @aweekoraweekend shared recently: (I couldn’t stop laughing through this episode!)

So, I thought I’d share my favorite YouTube channels that I subscribe to and a favorite video from each: 

1. Discovery Channel – I enjoy these animal videos and find them fascinating:

2. The Brain Scoop – Fascinating, love the role models on this channel, talking about learning opportunities!

3. Vlog Brothers – seriously, I do not miss watching any of these videos. I adore watching John Green and Hank Green share about their lives. Sure, John Green is brilliant and I adore his books, read them all, and Hank Green has some other brilliant YouTube channels and pretty wonderful music creations… but I love these videos!

4. Soul Pancake – When I want to feel good about life and smile, I turn on this channel. It never fails to make me smile and provide me with insight into something special:

5. EdGeek Cast – here’s hoping this team doesn’t stop… I really loved watching this inspiring technology conversation that some favorite educators had:

6. ViHart – Want a moment of brilliance? Spend time with ViHart! I’m always amazed how her mind explores life whether through math, art, or other creative purposes…

7. Scholastic Channel – love keeping up with those book trailers and getting the scoop on new releases!

8. Candlewick Press – Did I mention that I appreciate book trailers lately?

9. TED Talks – Yes, I have a lot of videos coming at me every week, I pick and choose what I’m watching, but often, there’s someone fascinating on this channel!

10. The Lizzie Bennet Diaries – Just loved this video series, it is a complete story, I obsessively watched it a summer ago…

Other channels I think are special?

11. Amy Poehler’s Smart Girls – how cool is it that there’s a Q/A moment where you get feedback about life, like what to do if you are considering being a volunteer!

12. Amy Krouse Rosenthal’s Channel – I’ve mentioned a few times before, I adore her creations:

13. Simon’s Cat – Love cats or hate cats, I think these videos are fantastic for all:

14. Penguin Young Readers – Did I mention that I love book trailers?

15. Science Show – fantastic learning opportunities abound:
Embedding disabled, here’s the link I like:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dD-yN2G5BY0&feature=share

16. Harper Collins Channel – special book trailers again…

17. Convos with my 2-Year Old: I heartily laugh through all these videos… and have had to watch a few more than once… I like how quick and witty these are…

18. StoryCorps – LOVED these before simply listening, now animated, beautiful:
Listening is an act of LOVE:

Ok, ok, I’ll stop there… what are YOUR favorite YouTube channels?
Hope everyone has a wonderful day!

Thank you again to “Eat the Book” for the Whatever Wednesday meme: http://mretome.wordpress.com David Etkin’s words: “Whatever Wednesday — a chance to post something I’ve seen that I’m diggin’. A cool quote or poster, a picture, student work, a video—you know, WhateverEnjoy!… and consider posting your own Whatever.”

If you enjoyed this post, please consider following my blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

3 comments on “Styling Librarian- #WhateverWednesday Top Ten YouTube Channels #QuietLibrary

  1. Mrs. Kristen Mattson
    January 22, 2014

    OMG! that silent library video is my favorite. It cracks me up EVERY SINGLE TIME. I keep trying to convince the librarian at the high school across town that we need to have a Silent Library Off – my kids vs. his.

  2. Pingback: Styling Librarian #WhateverWednesday YouTube and the Mind | The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

