The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme!  Ech. I loved my new book deliveries. I enjoyed picture book reading and a little more re-reading. I didn’t accomplish too much in terms of other reading. Accepting and being patient with my limits. Especially with ever so many activities and commitments lately… pulled here and there and everywhere and enjoying those moments…

Novel Treasured:

Wake Up Missing by Kate Messner – Science Fiction/Realistic fiction – 4th grade and up –  I loved every minute I read this book and highly recommend it. Kate Messner is brilliant. She creates this suspenseful, goodness-help-me-I-really-hope-not situation in her books that keep me on the edge of my seat. I enjoyed the surprising twists and turns with this book and especially found the whole brain-science/concussion plot fascinating since I LOVE reading about brain science. One of my favorite adult non-fiction writers is Oliver Sacks, loved The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat, which explores brain science… This book felt a little too much like it could really happen for my liking… which was really good. I adored numerous ‘golden lines’ in this book but the one that stood out the most was on p. 12: “Doesn’t much matter what they think. You can’t let other people decide who you’re going to be.” This book had just the right mix of intriguing characters and plot lines that it will entertain so many of my readers. I will pair it in promotions with Margaret Peterson Haddix’s books and Louis Sachar’s Holes. I know students will thank Kate Messner when they complete this read. Have I mentioned lately how much I appreciate reading a book that is NOT a series? Another think I adore about Kate Messner’s novels… Sure, she has one endearing character series, but really, that is different. Goodreads Summary: “Meet Quentin, a middle school football star from Chicago…
Sarah, an Upstate New York girls’ hockey team stand-out… Ben, a horse lover from the Pacific Northwest… And Cat, an artistic bird watcher from California. The four have nothing in common except for the head injuries that land them in an elite brain-science center in the Florida Everglades. It’s known as the best in the world, but as days pass, the kids begin to suspect that they are subjects in an experiment that goes far beyond treating concussions….and threatens their very identities. They’ll have to overcome their injuries – and their differences – to escape, or risk losing themselves forever.”

Picture books celebrated:

My First Animalia by Graeme Base – I will feature this soon on a Saturday Book Share, LOVED.

Penguin in Love by Salina Yoon – Well. She did it again, Salina wrote about penguin, one of my favorite book characters. I loved seeing many of my students jumping up and down for joy when I unpacked this new book arrival and held it up to a class. What fun! Penguin in Love brings back a favorite thing, knitting, but this time how the yarn separates and then weaves together  “love birds” is gorgeous. Celebrating love and all that it is… cannot wait to share this quite SOON with classes. Know that they will adore stepping back into Penguin’s world thanks to Salina Yoon’s talent. Goodreads Summary: “Penguin unravels a mystery that leads him to discover the biggest adventure of his life!”

What the Ladybird Heard by Julia Donaldson, illustrated by Lydia Monks – Cute, onomatopoeia, suspenseful, creative, innovative, loved it. My son and I especially loved the extra stories that were simply but beautifully told through the illustrations. Discussed many quiet yet beautiful pages throughout. Such a great author/illustrator combination! This book is actually a theater production in Hong Kong soon, shall promote with children even more now that I took the time to read it! Goodreads Summary: “With all the MOOing and HISSing, QUACKing and NEIGHing, and BAAAing and CLUCKing, the farmyard is full of noise. But when Hefty Hugh and Lanky Len hatch a plot to steal the fine prize cow, it’s the quietest animal of all who saves the day.”

Tiddler – The Story-Telling Fish by Julia Donaldson, illustrated by Axel Scheffler – Beautiful little story about an exaggerating fish who, when he finally has a story to tell he’s lost… funny enough his tall tales help him head home. Very cute. I think this book was lost at my school and I grabbed another copy since students saw a play adaptation of it… Goodreads Summary: “The smallest fish can tell the tallest tales …”Sorry I’m late, Miss. I set off really early but on the way to school I was captured by a squid. I wriggled and I struggled till a turtle came and rescued me.” “Oh, no, he didn’t.” “OH, YES, HE DID.” Tiddler is a little fish with a BIG imagination! What ever will he come up with next?”

Warning: Do Not Open This Book! narrated by Adam Lehrhaupt, illustrated by Matthew Forsythe – Lovely picture book with a quirky voice that I know my students will enjoy! Loved the conclusion, the dialogue with the narrator, and the humor all the way through… quite a fun read aloud. Goodreads Summary: “CAUTION! This book contains monkeys, toucans, and a whole lot of silliness. You really shouldn’t be opening this book. I’m serious. Just put it back on the shelf. Right…now. You’re still reading this? Well, don’t say I didn’t warn you…
It looks like a book, it feels like a book, and it even smells like a book. But watch out…madness and mayhem lie within! Debut author Adam Lehrhaupt urges you NOT to take a walk on the wild side in this humorous, interactive romp with inventive and engaging illustrations from Eisner Award-winning comic artist and rising star children’s book illustrator Matthew Forsythe.
This quirky, subversive creation begs to be enjoyed again and again and again.”

The Naughtiest Reindeer by Nicki Greenberg – aawwww, poor Rudolph has a ‘sick day’ on Christmas… too bad they have to bring his sister Ruby, the naughtiest reindeer along instead! She wreaks havoc everywhere she goes and you won’t expect the conclusion which I appreciated… or maybe you will and I was clueless… but this is a cute book that I think my Y1 teachers will adore and then adapt into a holiday production in the next year, oh boy! Goodreads Summary: “Rudolf the reindeer was lying in bed; With a runny red nose and an ache in his head. “I’m sorry,” he groaned. “I just can’t pull a sled. You’ll have to ask my sister Ruby instead.” It’s the night before Christmas and Rudolf is sneezing his little red nose off. So Santa needs another reindeer to help pull the sleigh. Rudolf’s sister Ruby is a little reindeer who always finds herself in big trouble. Will she find a way to be on her best behavior, or will she bring chaos to Christmas Day?”

The Latke Who Couldn’t Stop Screaming- a Christmas Story by Lemony Snicket – Decided to get this holiday story because:
1. Lemony Snicket is brilliant.
2. The Chanukah story is actually pretty well told with this book.
3. It is hilarious.
4. I love sarcasm.
5. I have many readers who will appreciate 1 through 4.
Shall anticipate promoting next year with my Y4-6 students!
Goodreads Summary: “Latkes are potato pancakes served at Hanukkah, and Lemony Snicket is an alleged children’s author. For the first time in literary history, these two elements are combined in one book. A particularly irate latke is the star ofThe Latke Who Couldn’t Stop Screaming, but many other holiday icons appear and even speak: flashing colored lights, cane-shaped candy, a pine tree. Santa Claus is briefly discussed as well. The ending is happy, at least for some. People who are interested in any or all of these things will find this book so enjoyable it will feel as though Hanukkah were being celebrated for several years, rather than eight nights.”

Audiobooks I enjoyed:

The Real Boy by Anne Ursu – Decided to enjoy a reread of this book, beautiful treasure, glad I entered Anne Ursu’s world again, pretty incredible.  Goodreads Summary: “On an island on the edge of an immense sea there is a city, a forest, and a boy. The city is called Asteri, a perfect city that was saved by the magic woven into its walls from a devastating plague that swept through the world over a hundred years before. The forest is called the Barrow, a vast wood of ancient trees that encircles the city and feeds the earth with magic. And the boy is called Oscar, a shop boy for the most powerful magician in the Barrow. Oscar spends his days in a small room in the dark cellar of his master’s shop, grinding herbs and dreaming of the wizards who once lived on the island generations ago. Oscar’s world is small, but he likes it that way. The real world is vast, strange, and unpredictable. And Oscar does not quite fit in it. But it’s been a long time since anyone who could call himself a wizard walked the world, and now that world is changing. Children in the city are falling ill, and something sinister lurks in the forest. Oscar has long been content to stay in his small room in the cellar, comforted in the knowledge that the magic that flows from the trees will keep his island safe. Now, even magic may not be enough to save it.”

A few other posts this past week celebrated favorite books:

Warthogs by Megan Borgert 
IMG_0952

Journey by Aaron Becker
IMG_0955

Books I began and hope to complete:

Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese – adult book – powerful novel that I’m challenged to read, concentrate and enjoy. Brilliant language and experience. Goodreads Summary: “A sweeping, emotionally riveting first novel—an enthralling family saga of Africa and America, doctors and patients, exile and home. Marion and Shiva Stone are twin brothers born of a secret union between a beautiful Indian nun and a brash British surgeon at a mission hospital in Addis Ababa. Orphaned by their mother’s death in childbirth and their father’s disappearance, bound together by a preternatural connection and a shared fascination with medicine, the twins come of age as Ethiopia hovers on the brink of revolution. Yet it will be love, not politics—their passion for the same woman—that will tear them apart and force Marion, fresh out of medical school, to flee his homeland. He makes his way to America, finding refuge in his work as an intern at an underfunded, overcrowded New York City hospital. When the past catches up to him—nearly destroying him—Marion must entrust his life to the two men he thought he trusted least in the world: the surgeon father who abandoned him and the brother who betrayed him.”

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

20 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. Melanie Meehan
    January 20, 2014

    Wow-you’ve read a lot. I am favoriting this post and will pull it up when I am at the library. Thank you for all of the video clips as well. I definitely need to get Kate Messner’s new book!

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 20, 2014

      🙂 Thanks, I usually pull up Goodreads when reading friend’s IMWAYR posts, hard to keep up with all the books I want to read! 🙂

  2. Stacey H. (@libraryjo92)
    January 20, 2014

    Love all the books you have shared. I’ll be adding quite a few to my to-read list! I just loved Warning Do Not Open this book. I can’t wait to share it with my kids, they will love it! It reminded me of Count the Monkeys. Thanks for sharing.

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 20, 2014

      Yes, like Count the Monkeys- I shared it this past week and can’t wait to share Warning Do Not Open this Book. Immediately turned into a MUST SHARE this coming week to do compare/contrast discussion. 🙂

      • Georgette Nairn
        January 21, 2014

        I have enjoyed both of those books, I would also recommend Open Very Carefully: A book with Bite by Nick Bromley. My kids really enjoyed it and would be a great addition to the other two.

      • The Styling Librarian
        January 21, 2014

        Ah, good one! 🙂 Thanks.

  3. Mindi Wells Rench
    January 20, 2014

    Wake Up Missing was our most recent Lunch-n-Lit book club book. The kids (gr. 6-8) all really enjoyed it, and Kate skyped with each group. Lots to talk about in that book!

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 20, 2014

      Fantastic to connect with Kate via Skype! I’m hoping to have it in my battle of the books list in the future. Such depth to the story. Agreed- lots to talk about! 🙂

  4. Lorna
    January 20, 2014

    I too adored Wake Up Missing. Kate Messner gets it just right with the suspense and authentic characters. Having a daughter who had a concussion, it all hit a little too close to home, but it’s a great title! Snicket’s Latke book was a hoot, wasn’t it. Perfect for the kids who enjoy the snarky stuff!

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 21, 2014

      🙂 Not sure I can get away with sharing Snicket’s book aloud in classes but looking forward to putting it in many reader’s hands! Happy reading week to you…

  5. Tara Smith
    January 21, 2014

    The Real Boy was a special book, as was Cutting Fo Stone. You have such a lovely collection of picture books, too!

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 21, 2014

      Cutting for Stone, grappling with the need for time to focus on this… might turn into a summer read. 😦 Loving it too much to rush…

  6. Tammy and Clare
    January 21, 2014

    Thanks for all of the book recommendations. I am definitely going to get Penguin in Love.

  7. linda Baie (@LBaie)
    January 21, 2014

    Love Messner’s work, & students love that they’re good mysteries, involving regular kids, not just amazing ‘heroes’. Wake Up Missing certainly touches on current issues in sports for kids doesn’t it? And also loved The Real Boy-maybe a re-read is in order. Thanks for all the rest too, especially Do Not Open This Book. I’ve seen it reviewed before, but had forgotten it. Thanks Debbie!

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 21, 2014

      Oh you are so right, Wake Up Missing touches on current issues in sports… touchy topic! I had fun sharing Do Not Open This Book with students today, they didn’t stop laughing! 🙂

  8. carriegelson
    January 21, 2014

    I bought my son Wake up Missing and plan to steal it from his shelf! The Real Boy is the perfect reread – so much beautiful language.

  9. Fats Suela
    January 22, 2014

    Love, love, love the books you shared! I will definitely check out Wake Up Missing and The Real Boy. I like Oliver Sacks, too! I’ve read An Anthropologist on Mars and I’m still on the lookout for The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat. It reminds me of Pamela Nagami’s The Woman with a Worm in Her Head. Happy reading this week! =)

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 22, 2014

      An Anthropologist on Mars was pretty fascinating too… I’ll have to look into The Woman with a Worm in her Head… Shall look forward to it. 🙂 Happy reading to you as well.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

