The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: Saturday Book Share – Take a Journey with Me

”Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share”.

Saturday Book Share

Here’s to celebrating books that strike my fancy every week! Last week I shared about a book recommendation that generated a list of wonderful books… every week has warmed my heart. This week is no exception. I am beginning a focus on some new picture books I’m thrilled to celebrate!

I decided to focus on:

Journey by Aaron Becker

What, what’s that you say? I’ve mentioned this book before? Well, it deserves every mention I provide for it!

IMG_0690

I’m a little obsessed by wordless picture books. I mentioned how many were FANTASTIC this past year, what an amazing array of beautiful books… but, honestly, this book… I’d love to buy three personal copies. I’d like to (gasp) carefully take apart this book and frame each page and place them up around my library so my readers could take a journey through the pictures as they walk through the room. Of course, I’d have at least one copy of my own in addition to the library copy. I’ve shared this book with numerous classes and every class has been awestruck by the beauty, delicate illustrations, connections in the book, creativity and on and on… I just love this book and additionally love how my students react to this gorgeous treasure. If someone were to force my hand to identify THE book that I’d love to see WIN the Caldecott, it would be this one!

IMG_0689

What I mentioned before about Journey:

Book I LOVED reading over and over throughout the book with many classes?
Journey by Aaron Becker, just adore this wordless picture book, fit perfectly into my Y1 classes, they’re focusing presently on journeys, what an amazing journey this little girl goes on. I’ve challenged students to think about the journey they’d like to go on… can’t wait to hear their ideas next week! Goodreads Summary: “Follow a girl on an elaborate flight of fancy in a wondrously illustrated, wordless picture book about self-determination — and unexpected friendship. A lonely girl draws a magic door on her bedroom wall and through it escapes into a world where wonder, adventure, and danger abound. Red marker in hand, she creates a boat, a balloon, and a flying carpet that carry her on a spectacular journey toward an uncertain destiny. When she is captured by a sinister emperor, only an act of tremendous courage and kindness can set her free. Can it also lead her home and to her heart’s desire? With supple line, luminous color, and nimble flights of fancy, author-illustrator Aaron Becker launches an ordinary child on an extraordinary journey toward her greatest and most exciting adventure of all.”

Oh, and it has one of my favorite book trailers too:

About Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share: I’ve had many books I review that I just want to feature. Simple and easy, celebrate a new book encounter. So that’s what Saturday Book Share is about for me, celebrating books! Perhaps some days I’ll share the book with a short reading of a portion. Or perhaps other days I’ll just share a glimpse of the book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post). I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.
FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

3 comments on “Styling Librarian: Saturday Book Share – Take a Journey with Me

  1. aweekoraweekend
    January 18, 2014

    It is a beauty. Sure to win something!

  2. Pingback: Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading? | The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

