The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme!  I snuck in an adult book! I snuck in an adult book! Quite exciting. I am reading other books as well… but I was happy to try out my public library’s eBook downloading vs. the audiobook downloading. Couldn’t believe I hadn’t done this already. Hope everyone has had a fantastic time reading during the holiday!

This Journal Belongs to RATCHET by Nancy J. Cavanaugh – Realistic Fiction/Verse Novel – Touching book, adored reading how Ratchet/Rachel learned about herself and how she can control her life. Really enjoyed getting to know Rachet’s dad and his quirky lifestyle, once of my favorite parental stories I’ve read in a while… Goodreads Summary: “A debut middle grade novel about a girl named Ratchet and her quest to make a friend, save a park, and find her own definition of normal. Ratchet tells her story through the assignments in her homeschool journal. If only getting a new life were as easy as getting a new notebook. But it’s not. It’s the first day of school for all the kids in the neighborhood. But not for me. I’m homeschooled. That means nothing new. No new book bag, no new clothes, and no friends – old or new. The best I’ve got is this notebook. I’m supposed to use it for my writing assignments, but my dad never checks. Here’s what I’m really going to use it for: Ratchet’s Top Secret Plan, Project Goal: turn my old, recycled, freakish, friendless, motherless life into something shiny and new. This year, I’m going make something change.”

Graceling by Kristin Cashore – High School – Fantasy – I got lost in this book, ready to read the next book! Touching character development and fascinating world of fantasy Kristin Cashore created… I was lost in the different cultures, attitudes, ruling classes, and more. What an incredible adventure Katsa  Goodreads Summary: “Katsa has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since she was eight – she’s a Graceling, one of the rare people in her land born with an extreme skill. As niece of the king, she should be able to live a life of privilege, but Graced as she is with killing, she is forced to work as the king’s thug. When she first meets Prince Po, Graced with combat skills, Katsa has no hint of how her life is about to change.
She never expects to become Po’s friend. She never expects to learn a new truth about her own Grace – or about a terrible secret that lies hidden far away…”
Quote I enjoyed reading: “And I suppose it never occurs to you to start small. If I told you my roof needed rebuilding, you’d start by knocking down the house.”

Austenland by Shannon Hale – could be high school/adult – I’ve meant to read this book for way too long. Since the movie will be available on DVD (hopefully Netflix) in early February, I wanted to enjoy the book… and I did quite a bit. Cute little romantic story with that Jane Austin feel set in present day… I was curious to see how the story concluded even though it was a little predictable, it was still quite a special novel. I just love books by Shannon Hale, it has been over a year since I read her book Forest Born and it was refreshing to hear her voice in a different format. Recommended. Goodreads Summary: “Jane Hayes is a seemingly normal young New Yorker, but she has a secret. Her obsession with Mr. Darcy, as played by Colin Firth in the BBC adaptation of Pride and Prejudice, is ruining her love life: no real man can compare. But when a wealthy relative bequeaths her a trip to an English resort catering to Austen-crazed women, Jane’s fantasies of meeting the perfect Regency-era gentleman suddenly become realer than she ever could have imagined.
Decked out in empire-waist gowns, Jane struggles to master Regency etiquette and flirts with gardeners and gentlemen;or maybe even, she suspects, with the actors who are playing them. It’s all a game, Jane knows. And yet the longer she stays, the more her insecurities seem to fall away, and the more she wonders: Is she about to kick the Austen obsession for good, or could all her dreams actually culminate in a Mr. Darcy of her own?”

Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King – audiobook – High School – happy to listen to another book by A.S. King. Powerful book, another one where you wait until the end for the big reveal. Since I’ve read numerous books like this lately, I was concerned about whether I’d enjoy another one, but this author is brilliant, simply brilliant. Really enjoyed every minute of the listen. Goodreads Summary: “Vera’s spent her whole life secretly in love with her best friend, Charlie Kahn. And over the years she’s kept a lot of his secrets. Even after he betrayed her. Even after he ruined everything. So when Charlie dies in dark circumstances, Vera knows a lot more than anyone—the kids at school, his family, even the police. But will she emerge to clear his name? Does she even want to? Edgy and gripping, Please Ignore Vera Dietz is an unforgettable novel: smart, funny, dramatic, and always surprising.”

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty by James Thurber – Adult – Audiobook – When I mentioned to my husband I was going to read this, he gave me a look… I realized it was one of “those” stories that I missed reading while in college… there are loads of those books that I played catch-up with through the years, here’s another! Enjoyed the book overall, so quick and short, listened to it twice to make sure I didn’t miss anything plus I just enjoyed the concept. Looking forward to seeing the movie sometime. Goodreads Summary: “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, a classic short story! This title features historical and illustrative photos, as well as brief author biography and insight story analysis.”

photo 2

Dougal the Garbage Bear by Matt Dray –
I enjoyed how this book spun me off into parental book restrictions and librarians censoring books… Didn’t expect it with this cute little book about a bear who finds life after being dumped in the garbage bin!

photo 1

The Egg by M.P. Robertson

Eco Dogs by Judith Bauer Stamper

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

28 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading

  1. Julee Murphy
    January 6, 2014

    I just checked out Graceling on a fellow librarian’s recommendation. Austenland is very good as are most of Shannon Hale’s books. I was so frustrated when the movie never came to town and anxiously await the DVD too.

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 6, 2014

      I’m totally caught up in Graceling but too many other books on the plate! I just finished Midnight in Austenland, enjoyed that as well. LOVE LOVE LOVE all her other books, just one adult book left and I can say I’ve read all of Shannon’s books!

  2. I didn’t realize A.S. KIng had written so many books- at least, three that I know of. I’ll have to keep an eye out on her. I just read/listened to Walter Mitty a week or so ago since it was free on Audible. Have a great reading week. If you do come back to visit Portland, definitely stop by Green Bean Books!

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 6, 2014

      I didn’t realize how many books A.S. King wrote either, really an eye opener. Thanks for mentioning Walter Mitty in your last post, when I opened my audible, there it was, didn’t hurt to listen to it… I’ll certainly visit Green Bean books in July!! 🙂

  3. Gigi McAllister
    January 6, 2014

    I really enjoyed This Journal Belongs to Ratchet. The Garbage Bear looks interesting. Enjoy your week!

  4. Stacey H. (@libraryjo92)
    January 6, 2014

    I heard a lot of people talk about This Journal Belongs to Ratchet. After I finish the chapter books in my pile I’m going to see if the library has this book. Thanks for sharing.

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 6, 2014

      Stacey, I only knew about it/ordered it because of word of mouth… so grateful that I hear about books through blogs, sometimes things slip by even when I’m keeping up on reviews! 🙂

  5. Andrea Payan (@payanar)
    January 6, 2014

    I love Graceling and the other books in that series. It is definitely one I recommend to students all the time. I also am interested in reading Austenland before the movie comes out on DVD. I think it looks like a really cute story. Thanks for the recommendation of the audiobook. I need to use up some credits on Audible and I am glad to hear that Please Ignore Vera Dietz will be worth the listen. Have a great reading week!

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 6, 2014

      There’s some really good audiobooks to enjoy- my favorites are Sarah’s Key and Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly, haven’t experienced an audiobook quite like Revolution yet… although Eleanor and Park and Fangirl were pretty fantastic. Happy reading week to you!

  6. Mindi Wells Rench
    January 6, 2014

    One of these days I’ll read the Graceling series…… You’ve got some great books on your list this week!

  7. David E.
    January 7, 2014

    Prolific as always. How do you get more hours in your life than I have in mine???

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 7, 2014

      Umm, might not be healthy… insomnia sometimes helps sadly.

      • David E.
        January 8, 2014

        Do you have can’t-fall-asleep or wake-up-in-the-middle-of-the-night insomnia?

      • The Styling Librarian
        January 8, 2014

        Can’t fall asleep. Thank goodness not the wake-up-in-the-middle-of-the-night… plus simply the can’t-close-computer-and-try-to-sleep insomnia… Shall get over it soon!

      • David E.
        January 8, 2014

        I’m a middle of the night walker. And I STILL am not as accomplished as you. You’re type-A, I’m guessing.

      • The Styling Librarian
        January 8, 2014

        ech, don’t compare… novels vs picture books, etc. 🙂 Yep, totally type-A. 🙂

  8. Myra GB
    January 7, 2014

    I just bought a copy of Please Ignore Vera Dietz. And I am excitedto get into it this year. I’ve seen Graceling and the entire series around but not sure what it was about, thanks for sharing your thoughts about it. I would be discussing teachers, books, and censorship in one of the higher degree courses I’m teaching this semester, looks like the Garbage Bear would be a good read aloud.

    PS: Is Thurber’s The Greatest Man in the World identical with The Secret Life of Walter Mitty?

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 7, 2014

      Garbage Bear would be decent but honestly, I LOVE some other books for censorship discussions: In the Night Kitchen, The Lorax, Sylvester and the Magic Pebble, Where the Wild Things Are, Ella Enchanted, The Enormous Crocodile, Flipped, Pinkerton Behave… some of these are “challenged” vs. banned but all lead to great discussions on ?WHY? were these challenged/banned?

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 7, 2014

      Thurber answer: Just combined in picture, two separate stories.

  9. Jennifer
    January 7, 2014

    Graceling is my absolute favorite book! The audio is full-cast and absolutely amazing as well.

    How was the audio/narrator of Please Ignore Vera Dietz? I know the story is amazing since it’s AS King 🙂

  10. Adrienne Gear
    January 7, 2014

    Debbie – I always enjoy reading your Monday posts as you always review books that I’m not as familiar with due to my elementary school focus. I’ve heard great things about Graceling so now am most inspired to read it – in fact it might just be added to my #Mustreadin2014 list! I was happy to see M.P Roberston’s The Egg on your list this week. There are two follow up Dragon Books he wrote with the same characters – The Dragon Snatcher and The Great Dragon Rescue. Thanks for sharing!

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 7, 2014

      Thanks Adrienne. I finally did my sunshine post! 🙂
      I heard about those follow up books to Roberston’s Egg from a book friend, she told me I must go find them! 🙂 Now you too!

  11. carriegelson
    January 7, 2014

    I am such a fan of Graceling! I went on to read others in the series. Addictive. I just bought This Journal . . . Really want to read! Happy Reading for 2014!

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 7, 2014

      I’m dying to jump into the next books after Graceling but a little overwhelmed with so many books lately! 🙂 Good overwhelmed… Happy reading to you!!

  12. Nancy J. Cavanaugh
    January 9, 2014

    Thank you for highlighting THIS JOURNAL BELONGS TO RATCHET! So happy to hear you enjoyed it!
    Nancy J. Cavanaugh

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 9, 2014

      Honored you visited, thank you! Really enjoyed your book and am excited to pass to more and more students!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

Bloglovin – Follow me here!

Follow on Bloglovin

Goodreads

