The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: Pull Up A Chair It’s a Saturday Book Share: Eco Dogs #nfpb2014

Pull Up A Chair, It’s a Saturday Book Share:

Eco Dogs by Judith Bauer Stamper – from the Dog Heroes book series- Non-Fiction, 3rd grade and up!

My son and I really enjoyed reading this book about dogs that are trained to help people protect animals and numerous ecosystems including land and water. It was lovely to read how some dogs that usually aren’t selected for pet adoptions because of their high energy and high interest in rewards are the perfect fit with the eco-dogs programs. It was interesting to read how important the collecting of scat (animal poo/droppings) is for monitoring how animals are doing with their diet and for many more reasons. When we were reading the book, my son grew anxious on a few pages because creatures were caught to be tagged and monitored… perfect book to discuss how much humans should interact with creatures in their environments. Additionally, this book is a friendly introduction to various ecosystems and plights of creatures around the world. Many children enjoy reading books about dogs and become invested in specific dog’s stories vs. beginning a study with a specific book on ecosystems.NF

Goodreads Summary: “Describes how dogs can help recapture exotic pets that have been released into the wild, locate endangered animals for tagging, and identify smugglers at airports.”

Here’s my son’s very quick book review of Eco Dogs:

About Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share: I’ve had many books I review that I just want to feature. Simple and easy, celebrate a new book encounter. So that’s what Saturday Book Share is about for me, celebrating books! Perhaps some days I’ll share the book with a short reading of a portion. Or perhaps other days I’ll just share a glimpse of the book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post). I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.
What book treasure will you find?

4 comments on “Styling Librarian: Pull Up A Chair It’s a Saturday Book Share: Eco Dogs #nfpb2014

  1. alybee930
    January 9, 2014

    Wow! I have never heard of Eco Dogs – thanks for sharing this book. 🙂

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 9, 2014

      🙂 Thanks for visiting… Glad to stretch myself again this year with NF books, thank you!!

  2. Adrienne Gear
    January 9, 2014

    You son is adorable and love that you included him on your blog doing the book review! The Eco Dog book looks like a very interesting one. I will definitely check that out as I have a couple of dog lovers in my class this year. Glad to know about the Amazon and Powell’s links and happy to use these links when I’m next placing an order! Great idea! Happy week to you and your son!

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 9, 2014

      Aww, thanks. Apreciate you visiting… I decided two years ago that if I was going to show book covers, I must promote Powells simultaneously. Unfortunately, once in a while Powells doesn’t have the image so I go with Amazon… funny enough, the Amazon pictures aren’t embedding anymore… haven’t found a solution that that one, yet… Not too worried though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

