The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme!  It was a pretty peaceful reading week, not going to acknowledge everything I’ve read for now. Enjoyed reading that I’ll share more when I’ve returned from a vacation!

Books Read:

IMG_0120

I’m a Frog! by Mo Willems – I just loved this new Elephant and Piggie book. I never tire of overreaction, humor, and friendship that do feel original each time I read a new one of these books. Goodreads Summary: “Gerald is careful. Piggie is not. Piggie cannot help smiling. Gerald can. Gerald worries so that Piggie does not have to. Gerald and Piggie are best friends.”

Cool! by Michael Morpurgo, illustrated by Michael Foreman – 3rd grade and up – Realistic Fiction – Heartbreaking powerful book with a terribly realistic story about a boy running out into the street after his loose dog, getting hit by a car, and going into a coma. Connections to football/soccer, acting, family issues, and love of pets. Terribly sad, yet uplifting story that I’d recommend for a read aloud. Goodreads Summary: “One day Robbie is hit by a car while running after his dog, Lucky. Unconscious, Robbie lies in hospital, unable to speak, move or eat. But he can hear; he is aware. His friends and family try desperately to reach him – even Zola, his favourite Chelsea footballer, comes to see him. And still Robbie can’t ‘wake up’. Until one day, against hospital rules, Dad brings Lucky into the hospital. Can Lucky bring Robbie back to life?”


Ninja- First Mission by Chris Bradford, illustrated by Sonia Leong – 2nd grade and up – Adventure – Interesting beginning to a series, written in text easy for children with dyslexia but honestly for any child who wants to read an adventure with a boy who is the underdog and must learn to believe in himself. Goodreads Summary: “Taka must prove himself in a dangerous mission to become a ninja. Thrilling adventure from the author of the Young Samurai books.”

The Problem with Being Slightly Heroic by Uma Krishnaswami, illustrated by Abigail Halpin – Third Grade and up – Realistic Fiction/Multicultural – It was fantastic to return to the world of two friends, Dini and Maddie, who are reunited after the first book, The Grand Plan to Fix Everything, with this new adventure that involves elephants, rose petals, and important missing objects. I loved reading this story! Beautiful all the way through with music, Bollywood, and some dancing as well. I loved how the chapters almost felt like you were being led through a dramatic movie and had wonderful chapter titles kept you reading in addition to it wonderful beginning sentences. And the illustrations! The illustrations! I just loved the pictures by Abigail Halpin, had to look her up and find out all the other places she’s illustrated in beautiful books, knew she was familiar but WOW just love so many of the books she’s illustrated, from Laurel Snyder’s Penny Dreadful to Lauren Tarshis’s Emma Jean Lazarus series to Andrea Cheng’s The Year of the Book, just love her work… pretty dynamic illustrator that I look forward to following through other books. Goodreads Summary: “Dini and Maddie, very best friends, are back in the same country at the same time! Better still, Dolly Singh, the starriest star in all of Bollywood, is in America too. Dini’s only just returned from India, and already life is shaping up to be as delicious as a rose petal milk shake. Perfect. Then why can’t she untie the knot in her stomach? Because so much can go wrong when a big star like Dolly is in town. All Dini has to do is make sure Dolly has everything she needs, from a rose petal milk shake to her lost passport to a parade? And an elephant? Uh-oh! It’s time to think. What Would Dolly Do? If Dini can’t figure it out, Dolly might take matters into her own hands and that will surely lead to the biggest mess of all!”

Lost in Babylon by Peter Lerangis – Seven Wonders Series – 4th grade and up – Fantasy – Good sequel. Pretty fantastic story, actually enjoyed it more than the first book. Maybe I’m burned out on fantasy series books… or perhaps frustrated at where the book concluded… Goodreads Summary: “With Marco gone and the first Loculus lost, Jack, Cass, and Ally are no closer to saving themselves (or the world) than when they first arrived at the Karai Institute. But when Bhegad tracks down Marco deep in the desert, the kids are off on the next leg of their quest-to the ancient city of Babylon. There the kids find themselves faced with a daunting choice that makes them question everything they’ve learned so far. It’s a gut wrenching decision, but what the kids don’t realize is that it’s also a trap. Surprises pile on surprises until a long-lost figure from Jack’s past returns, and the kids find themselves forced to engineer an escape that might just turn out to be a different kind of trap altogether….”

summerlettinggo

backsummerlettinggo

Really enjoyed reading the novel, The Summer of Letting Go by Gae Polisner – Young Adult – Realistic Fiction, shall share my thoughts on it soon, not to be missed! Goodreads Summary: “Still reeling from her little brother’s drowning death, a girl finds her herself holding back – from summer trips to the ocean, friendship, budding romance – till she meets another young boy who may be her brother’s reincarnation, which awakens her to new possibilities.”

Also read and blogged this past week about:

goodpeopleTues

Good People Everywhere by Lynea Gillen

thursboomers

Six White Boomers by Rolf Harris and Bruce Whatley

IMG_9759

Nog and the Land of Noses by Bruce Whatley – Two Bruce Whatley books shared in one week!

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

16 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading

  1. I enjoyed I’m A Frog! as well. Glad you blogged about Good People Everywhere. I love recommending that book to people. She did a reading at our store.

  2. Adrienne Gear
    December 30, 2013

    Thanks for the great list this week, Debbie! I am intrigued by Cool – looks like a great choice for Lit. Circles and/or new year’s read aloud for my grade 5’s! I love Mo Willams too! Also on my “must reads” is Good People Everywhere. Looks like one I must have! Happy 2014!

    • The Styling Librarian
      December 30, 2013

      I agree, would be an interesting read aloud… might have to explain a few things that are UK based but overall students will connect with this title!

  3. Gigi McAllister
    December 30, 2013

    Hi Deb, Mo Willems can do no wrong, I just love him! The Problem of Being Slightly Heroic looks really good to me. Happy New Year!

    • The Styling Librarian
      December 30, 2013

      It is a really special book, can be a stand-alone, not necessarily has to be read with the first book. 🙂

  4. linda Baie (@LBaie)
    December 30, 2013

    I could repeat Gigi’s comment-always love the Elephant and Piggie books & this one, about pretending, is one I’d love to use with younger students. Thanks too for The Problem of Being Slightly Heroic-will look for it! Happy New Year!

  5. Kristin Becker (@littlemamab)
    December 31, 2013

    I LOVE your post – LOTS that I haven’t read and must. Mo Willems is a household fav so I look forward to getting my hands on that book. I’ll be looking for Good People Everywhere, too. Well, I added several titles from your post to my TBR. Happy New Year!!!!

  6. Megan
    December 31, 2013

    The Summer of Letting Go is on my TBR list, for sure! Glad to hear it lives up to the hype. Happy New Year! ~Megan

  7. Myra GB
    December 31, 2013

    Hi there Debbie, I have a collection of Michael Morpurgo books that I have yet to read. Your review of this novel makes me want to begin reading his books finally this 2014. I’ve always wanted to read more of Uma’s YA/MG novels, hopefully this year I get to do that as well. Lots of bookish resolutions! 🙂 Have a happy new year!

    • The Styling Librarian
      December 31, 2013

      I think I could have a year of reading Michael Morpurgo books and not complete… 🙂 Enjoying a biography about him now that mingles in stories too, War Child to War Horse.

  8. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)
    December 31, 2013

    Yay Gae Polisner! I love her and cannot wait to read her newest.
    I just love Elephant and Piggie. Just you mentioning them put a smile on my face 🙂

    Happy new year and happy reading!

    • The Styling Librarian
      December 31, 2013

      Same here, even seeing people dressed up in Elephant and Piggie costumes makes me smile… Happy new year to you…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

