The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and Unleashing Readers for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme!  I was unsure what I’d actually share this week since I was focused on completing one specific book, but now, looks like I enjoyed a few… I have one more book I cannot wait to complete but it is a special book that I’ll be featuring on a Saturday book share vs. on my weekly update. I have quite the TBR pile waiting for me, plus I just downloaded a new eBook and audiobook to enjoy while I’m on break.

Read:
Spy Mice by Heather Vogel Frederick – Animal Fiction/Mystery – 4th grade and up – I enjoyed rereading this and reading aloud the book to my son, took way too long to read it aloud but we enjoyed all the twists, turns, and adventures throughout! Glory Goldenleaf is a mouse who works at the spy museum going on secret, dangerous missions and helping the mouse world with various challenges including receiving a black paw, threat of death, from her family’s nemisis. It was fun to follow her skate boarding, creative solutions, and flying on pigeons adventures. I especially loved how she found her partners.
Kiddo’s Review:

The House of Hades by Rick Riordan – 5th grade and up – Loving this series! Enjoyed reading this book but honestly distraught to wait until next fall for the next book release! I’ve watched the momentum of the Rick Riordan books pick up through the years. Glad the closure of the book wasn’t as torturesome as the last book. Funny enough, my favorite part of the book was the dedication which said:
“To my wonderful readers: Sorry about that last cliff-hanger. Well, no, not really. HAHAHAHAHA. But seriously, I love you guys.”
Other things that popped out:
“”You question my talents? A half-dead mortal straggles into my swamp and questions my talents?””
“”I don’t hear words like those in Tartarus,” the giant grumbled. “Friend. Promise.””
Goodreads Summary: “At the conclusion of The Mark of Athena, Annabeth and Percy tumble into a pit leading straight to the Underworld. The other five demigods have to put aside their grief and follow Percy’s instructions to find the mortal side of the Doors of Death. If they can fight their way through the Gaea’s forces, and Percy and Annabeth can survive the House of Hades, then the Seven will be able to seal the Doors both sides and prevent the giants from raising Gaea. But, Leo wonders, if the Doors are sealed, how will Percy and Annabeth be able to escape? They have no choice. If the demigods don’t succeed, Gaea’s armies will never die. They have no time. In about a month, the Romans will march on Camp Half-Blood. The stakes are higher than ever in this adventure that dives into the depths of Tartarus.”

Enjoyed listening to: (so many blog and reader friends have recommended this!)

Reality Boy by A.S. King – YA –  What a tough life and family Gerald lives in. Reminds me of David Michael Slater’s book Fun & Games quite a bit with the dysfunctional family situation and older siblings being cruel to the younger ones… but this book, Reality Boy, is even more fierce than I expected. Enjoyed listening to this dramatic book that shows how a boy can learn to get out of his head and thinking about others. Talented author, powerful book, excellent story.  Goodreads Summary: “Gerald Faust knows exactly when he started feeling angry: the day his mother invited a reality television crew into his five-year-old life. Twelve years later, he’s still haunted by his rage-filled youth—which the entire world got to watch from every imaginable angle—and his anger issues have resulted in violent outbursts, zero friends, and clueless adults dumping him in the special education room at school. Nothing is ever going to change. No one cares that he’s tried to learn to control himself, and the girl he likes has no idea who he really is. Everyone’s just waiting for him to snap…and he’s starting to feel dangerously close to doing just that.”

The Peculiar by Stefan Bachmann – Sci. Fi/Fantasy- 5th grade and up, I really, honestly tried for months to enjoy this book. Began listening to this twice and didn’t get excited… so frustrating because I really thought the narrator was fantastic. Finally finished listening to it. Perhaps in another year I can return to this and enjoy it more! Sometimes I’m just not in the mood for the genre… Goodreads Summary: “Don’t get yourself noticed and you won’t get yourself hanged.
In the faery slums of Bath, Bartholomew Kettle and his sister Hettie live by these words. Bartholomew and Hettie are changelings–Peculiars–and neither faeries nor humans want anything to do with them.
One day a mysterious lady in a plum-colored dress comes gliding down Old Crow Alley. Bartholomew watches her through his window. Who is she? What does she want? And when Bartholomew witnesses the lady whisking away, in a whirling ring of feathers, the boy who lives across the alley–Bartholomew forgets the rules and gets himself noticed.
First he’s noticed by the lady in plum herself, then by something darkly magical and mysterious, by Jack Box and the Raggedy Man, by the powerful Mr. Lickerish . . . and by Arthur Jelliby, a young man trying to slip through the world unnoticed, too, and who, against all odds, offers Bartholomew friendship and a way to belong.
Part murder mystery, part gothic fantasy, part steampunk adventure, The Peculiar is Stefan Bachmann’s riveting, inventive, and unforgettable debut novel.”

Picture Book:
Are We There Yet? by Alison Lester – A journey around Australia – my son and I enjoyed travelling around Australia with this book… it is about a family who took off for a term of school and enjoyed exploring all over Australia. Goodreads Summary: “The year I turned eight, Mum and Dad took us on a trip around Australia. Luke, Billy and I missed school for the whole winter term. Join Grace and her family on their adventurous and sometimes funny expedition. A warm, heartfelt story based on an actual journey undertaken by the much-loved, award-winning author and illustrator, Alison Lester.”

IMG_9449

What Does It Mean to Be Present? by Rana DiOrio, illustrated by Eliza Wheeler

IMG_9446

Motherbridge of Love by The Mother’s Bridge of Love, illustrated by Josee Masse

IMG_9450

The Man with the Violin by Kathy Stinson, illustrated by Dusan Petriele

16bloggydaysofwinter1

Keeping up with the Blogging Days of Winter Challenge,
here’s the book I’m currently enjoying:

I am currently reading:

The Problem with Being Slightly Heroic by Uma Krishnaswami, illustrated by Abigail Halpin – Just loved the first book in this series, looking forward to reading, completing and promoting this books with my students! I’m a huge fan of Uma Krishnaswami’s books.
Goodreads Summary: “Dini and Maddie, very best friends, are back in the same country at the same time! Better still, Dolly Singh, the starriest star in all of Bollywood, is in America too. Dini’s only just returned from India, and already life is shaping up to be as delicious as a rose petal milk shake. Perfect. Then why can’t she untie the knot in her stomach? Because so much can go wrong when a big star like Dolly is in town. All Dini has to do is make sure Dolly has everything she needs, from a rose petal milk shake to her lost passport to;a parade? And an elephant?
Uh-oh; It’s time to think. What Would Dolly Do? If Dini can’t figure it out, Dolly might take matters into her own hands;and that will surely lead to the biggest mess of all!”

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

12 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading

  1. i always appreciate honest book reviews. it’s probably bad for business but i’ve been telling customers if i didn’t like a book. i do try to point out what they might like about it though. i take recommendations very seriously!

    • The Styling Librarian
      December 23, 2013

      Same. If I’m reading an ARC for official review and realize I can’t stand it, I’ll write to the agent/contact and tell them I won’t participate in the review series since it won’t help the book. I sometimes come across one that just is not a good fit for me, even though it has beautiful language, etc…

  2. Gigi McAllister
    December 23, 2013

    Hi Debbie, I got House of Hades for my class this week and one student in particular was so thrilled. Are We There Yet looks really interesting. Thanks so much for sharing your books.

    • The Styling Librarian
      December 23, 2013

      🙂 I had 2 copies of House of Hades but they were instantly grabbed… had to get the eBook version! 🙂 Happy reading week to you!

  3. Crystal
    December 24, 2013

    Great list of books! I haven’t gotten to read House of Hades yet as it is always checked out. I also read Reality Boy this past week. Wow. I wasn’t expecting such a messed up family though with reality t.v. maybe I should have. A.S. King is certainly creative. Have a great week!

  4. carriegelson
    December 24, 2013

    Hope you enjoyed The Man with the Violin. It was a favourite of mine this year. A.S. King is just amazing for the YA genre. Can’t wait until she published anything else! I am such a fan.

  5. Megan
    December 24, 2013

    I am going to try to read Dust of 100 Dogs soon and then I will be all out of new A.S. King material. I am hooked! Have a great week! http://wp.me/pzUn5-1MB

  6. Myra GB
    December 24, 2013

    Hi Debbie, Merry Christmas to you! Good to know your thoughts about The Peculiars. There are rally just a few books that would not resonate with us for some reason or another. I am intrigued by the AS King title. Hopefully, I get to that next year. 🙂

    • The Styling Librarian
      December 24, 2013

      Merry Christmas to you Myra! 🙂 I’m on a roll with A.S. King books, hope to keep it up, love the writing style.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

