The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #TreatTuesday Nicholas

TreatTuesday

Thanks to Twitter Friends for creating a delicious meme- Treat Tuesday. 

Special thanks to Niki Barnes at Daydream Reader 

and  Shannon Houghton at Ms. Houghton’s Class.

I’ll go with a book and a treat.

nicholas

Nicholas by Rene Goscinny & Jean-Jacques Sempe – Humorous Fiction – 5th grade – Chuckled my way through this book. Reminded me of Henry Huggins books with innocent, short chapters that feel like short stories but connect throughout… Nicholas comes across as a sweet little boy who seems to accidentally pour ink on the living room carpet, bring random dogs into his home, and create chaos in the classroom. Sometimes I was shocked at the random punches and kicks that the group of boys give to one another in the classroom, playground, and at their homes. But overall, this was one amusing book. When I need a distraction or a quick short story chapter, I’ll be picking up the sequel which is also in my school library. Originally written in French, translated by Anthea Bell. Also, Rene Goscinny is famous for being the creator of the Asterix comic books.

Goodreads Summary: “A classic humor. For years the Petit Nicolas and his mischievous and boisterous group of friends are the puppets to amuse the gallery. In these early nineteen adventures, good heart to laugh accounts tasty and full of freshness Nicolas on his daily life as a child.” –  translated from this review: “Un grand classique de l’humour. Cela fait des années que le Petit Nicolas et sa facétieuse et turbulente bande de copains font les guignols pour amuser la galerie. Dans ces dix-neuf premières aventures, on rit de bon cœur aux comptes-rendus savoureux et pleins de fraîcheur de Nicolas sur sa vie quotidienne d’enfant.”

Why did I pick this 1960 book? Because last year when Lenore Look and I were visiting a local bookstore, she pointed out the Nicholas series and said she loved to read them and remembered some of the hilarious antics that Nicholas and his friends got into… happy I finally picked it up, thanks Lenore for the recommendation! 🙂

nll

(Picture I took at the bookstore to remind myself to read this…)

*Notice the treat? From afar, I thought this was a cookie, instead it is a keychain… with little sprinkles that fall off.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post). I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

 

5 comments on “Styling Librarian #TreatTuesday Nicholas

  1. lenorelook
    November 26, 2013

    So happy you like Nicholas! Aren’t they fun?!! I’m now looking for a book you’ve been recommending, it has “boy” in the title . . . the fill-in-the-blank boy . . . won some award . . .

    • The Styling Librarian
      November 27, 2013

      They’re quite fun all right, looking forward to sharing them with the kiddo sometime soon!

  2. lenorelook
    November 26, 2013

    Got it! THE REAL BOY by Anne Ursu. Thanks!!!

  3. Pingback: Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading? | The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,877 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

