The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and http://www.unleashingreaders.com for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme!  Happy Picture Book Month! I had a difficult time pushing myself through a book and dangling other books as the treat at the end of the read… Happy to enjoy the book by the end but that’s how it is sometimes for me, not quite a reading slump but perhaps reading frustration.

Fiction Books:

3 Below – A Floors Novel by Patrick Carman – Fantasy/Mystery – 4th grade and up – It is so fun to return to the Whippet Hotel with a whole new adventure! I just love Patrick Carman’s books and love how natural it feels to read about an eccentric hotel with puzzle rooms, pinball rooms, and many more interesting creations… Pretty fantastic story with a mix of fun, fantasy, and mystery. Highly recommended. Goodreads Summary: “Charlie had his chocolate factory. Stanley Yelnats had his holes. Leo has the wacky, amazing Whippet Hotel. Now that Leo has uncovered a few secrets behind the wacky Whippet Hotel, he’ll have to save it! Leo has explored the zany, wonderful Whippet Hotel from basement to top floor, with trains, flying goats, and mazes (among other things) in between. But even Leo doesn’t know every secret of the Whippet – and when he discovers that there’s more beneath the hotel than he’d thought, it doesn’t take long for more adventures to unfold!”

A Princess of Landover by Terry Brooks – High School/Adult – Fantasy- Fourteen years after writing the last book of the Landover series, this book was released. (Published in 2009.)  Interesting to jump back into this fantasy series after many, many years away. It felt like I only stepped away for a moment. I was amused to read about Landover from the perspective of a somewhat self-centered, spoiled princess who goes from one problem to the next. Great adventure. Fun story. Goodreads Summary: “Ben Holiday, Chicago lawyer and mere mortal turned monarch of enchanted Landover, has grappled with scheming barons, fire-breathing beasts, diabolical conjurers, and extremely wicked witches. None of whom have prepared him for the most daunting of challengers–a teenage daughter. Sent by Ben and his beloved sylph bride, Willow, to an exclusive girls’ prep school, headstrong (and half-magical) Mistaya Holiday has found life in the natural world a less than perfect fit. And when her latest rebellious antics get her indefinitely suspended, she’s determined to resume her real education–learning sorcery from court wizard Questor Thews–whether her parents like it or not.
But back home in Landover, Mistaya’s frustrated father is just as determined that the precocious princess learn some responsibility, and he declares her grounded until she successfully refurbishes the long-forsaken royal library. Mortified by the prospect of salvaging a king’s ransom in moldy books–and horrified by word that repulsive local nobleman Lord Laphroig seeks to marry her–Mistaya decides that the only way to run her own life is to run away from home. So begins an eventful odyssey peppered with a formidable dragon, recalcitrant gnomes, an inscrutable magic cat, a handsome librarian, a sinister sorcerer, and more than a few narrow escapes as fate draws Landover’s intrepid princess to the last place she expected to go, and into the thick of a mystery that will put her mettle to the test–and might bring the kingdom to its knees.”

Champion by Marie Lu – A Legend Novel – High School – Science Fiction – I just loved reading this book, brilliant conclusion to the series. I liked reading this book much more than the last book I read as a conclusion to a series… It was so easy to pick up and enjoy reading from June and Day’s perspectives. While I was reading the book, I saw opportunities for Marie Lu to create spin off novels, I just didn’t want this book/series to end. When I finished the book, I had to take a break… reflect on what I’d read for a day without reading anything but a quick early chapter book. I found the future world that Marie Lu wrote about fascinating, one highlight:
“By early 2058, the United States government ceased to exist altogether in the east and was replaced with the Colonies of America, formed by a coalition of the country’s top thirteen corporations and bolstered by their join profits.”
Goodreads Summary: “He is a Legend. She is a Prodigy. Who will be Champion? June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.”

Audiobook enjoyed:

A Boy and His Bot by Daniel H. Wilson – 4/5th grade and up – Science Fiction – I listened to this book because it recently popped up on a review list. I enjoyed actually listening to a solid science fiction book that had a fascinating robot/technology world and an interesting adventure. I loved the angst and decisions that Code has to grapple with throughout the adventure. I was curious how this book would conclude because the author kept you listening/reading until the last moment and then finished off the story with a good ending… Perfect for students who are desperate to read robot books. It is now on my order list. I wish I had this book for the past 10 years whenever I had boys who tell me, all I want is a good robot book and they’ve moved beyond My Robot Buddy by Alfred Slote.

Still Enjoying:

Listening to:

Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor – High School, Fantasy – So I’m finally reading the second book by the brilliant Laini Taylor, thrilled to enjoy. This is quite the incredible world/story. Goodreads Summary: “Once upon a time, an angel and a devil held a wishbone between them. And its snap split the world in two.
Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love and dared to imagine a new way of living – one without massacres and torn throats and bonfires of the fallen, without revenants or bastard armies or children ripped from their mothers’ arms to take their turn in the killing and dying.
Once, the lovers lay entwined in the moon’s secret temple and dreamed of a world that was a like a jewel-box without a jewel – a paradise waiting for them to find it and fill it with their happiness.
This was not that world.”

Reading:

The Summer of Letting Go by Gae Polisner – Realistic Fiction, High School –  I have this advanced readers copy but unfortunately it is only accessible on my laptop. The laptop is heavy and not easy to read presently… so as much as I’m enjoying Gae Polisner’s brilliance with this book, I’m slowly working my way through this book.
Goodreads Summary: “Still reeling from her little brother’s drowning death, a girl finds her herself holding back – from summer trips to the ocean, friendship, budding romance – till she meets another young boy who may be her brother’s reincarnation, which awakens her to new possibilities.”

Also reading:

May This Be The Best Year of Your Life: A Memoir by Sandra Bornstein – Adult – Really enjoying this story, ideas about living as an expat in India and finding your own way… Terribly honest at times…
Goodreads Summary: “After stepping out of her comfort zone of American suburbia, Sandra Bornstein found herself in a life altering experience that made her question the meaning of marital bliss. Living alone in a three-hundred-square-foot dorm room, she taught fifth grade at a renowned international boarding school in Bangalore. This compelling, honest, and edifying memoir shares everything she learned about perseverance, travel, education, faith, and family. Had Sandra never resided in India, she would have missed out on an experience that ultimately enhanced her resiliency, confidence, and passion for life.”

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.

10 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. I remember attending a Patrick Carman reading when he was promoting the first book in that series. I should check out his books. Sometimes when a writer has so many books out already, I never know where to start!

    • The Styling Librarian
      November 18, 2013

      I’m fond of all of Patrick Carman’s books, think I’ve read all except for one YA series. I like Atherton above all others but this Floors series is a close second. 🙂

  2. msyinglingMs. Yingling
    November 18, 2013

    Liked A Boy and His Bot, but the Patrick Carman seemed slightly young for my students. I’m half tempted to read Princess of Landover, but I haven’t been able to get students to read that series for a few years now. Still, it was one I liked.

    • The Styling Librarian
      November 18, 2013

      Patrick Carman’s Atherton Series and many other YA books are a little more fitting for your students. 😉 Happy reading week to you.

  3. Myra GB
    November 19, 2013

    A Boy and his bot reminded me of the picture book Boy + Bot – have you read that one yet? They are perfect companion books. I’m intrigued by Patrick Carman – I should read his novels soon. 🙂

  4. Andrea Payan (@payanar)
    November 19, 2013

    I loved the audio of Days of Blood and Starlight. Such a beautiful and heartbreaking story. I agree with you about Champion. I enjoyed it much more than the other conclusion to a trilogy I read the week before this one came out. I also have that problem with the netgalley version of The Summer of Letting Go. I will get to it in increments because it is harder to read on my laptop. Have a great reading week!

    • The Styling Librarian
      November 19, 2013

      Really enjoying Days of Blood and Starlight… Agreed, beautiful and heartbreaking. Happy reading week to you!!

  5. carriegelson
    November 19, 2013

    Most of these titles are totally new to me. Appreciated reading about authors I don’t know! I plan to read The Daughter of Smoke and Bone this December – have heard such great things. Obviously you enjoyed it if you are on to Book 2!

    • The Styling Librarian
      November 19, 2013

      🙂 Glad we can reciprocate on sharing titles/authors new to each of us. Happy reading week to you.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

